Canadian National Railway Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinator
Telecom Integration Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 September 2017
CN is overall a nice place to work, the work life and personal life balace is fine, their salaries are competitive, and it is a place where you can learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC10 September 2017
Great place to work, and great
Enjoyed my 37 years working at Canadian National very much
Met a lot of different people and made many friends
I highly recommend this company
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Being displaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC3 September 2017
If you can't bother to be called at 2 AM or hold of on drinking til your on rest/days off, don't bother applying.

Pay/benefits are fantastic, management can be rough depending on where you go, overall, recommended if you want to sign up for 30+ years of work.
Pros
Paid training, co-workers, pay, benefits, safety is prioritized
Cons
Management at times (not always)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Build a Career
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB31 August 2017
Management is terrible, co-workers/pay are great. Hours kinda suck. Lots of on-call shift work and night time calls. Excellent pension and benefits though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many intelligent opportunities
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 August 2017
When I started in the Transportation department I actually learned my job as an Operator to the level where I was accepted in my desire to be a Dispatcher (as my father had been).
Pros
Having others appreciate my work
Cons
A lot of distance travelling sometime required
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money was great. Hours were rough on personal life
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB23 August 2017
This job wasn't for everyone. Tough on family and or personal life. But if you want to make good $$$$$$$$$$. It's perfect . Make sure you have an open minded wife and she is ok with you being away from home for 24 hrs
+
Pros
Cash
Cons
No life
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railroading
Railway Conductor (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK21 August 2017
Working on call, away from home, outdoors and with some questionable people. The job itself is great, you can work with some pretty good and bad people. The hardest part is being on call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Thermite/welder (Current Employee) –  Ontario wide21 August 2017
Been at CN for almost 12 yrs. great experience. Learn lots of new things. This job brings you all over Ontario see new places meet lotsa people. Really enjoy working for CN
Cons
Working away from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok its where your working
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Lillooet, BC2 August 2017
depending on where you working and who is your supavisor or ats .some are just looking for people to fire to look good to hire ups. others are great teachers to learn from.
Pros
money stock options
Cons
people out to ding you with brownies
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 July 2017
Worked as a broker at CNTL. learned a lot from last 11 years to handle different problem with customers and solve it in time frame. Road experience with different equipment was excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occuper un poste à temps plein au CN signifie un travail jusqu'à la retraite
manager S&C (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 July 2017
-Excellentes possibilités d'avancement
-Poste stables et pour longtemps
-Pas de monotonie
-Place pour l'innovation
-Excellent salaire
-Doit gérer le quotidien en fonction des besoins operationnels
-Doit supporter la pression
-Doit livrer en temps
-Doit toujours mettre la priorité sur la sécurité des infrastrictures et des employés
-Les gestionnaires doivent être disponibles en tout temps
-Doit suivre les développements technologiques
Pros
carrière intéressante, excellents revenus, stabilité, technologie
Cons
travailler dans toutes les conditions / neige / chaleur intense / pluie
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No balance
Assistant Track Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2017
Average 14 hrs a day of work for 8 hrs pay. The work culture is very aggressive from upper management and you realize quickly that you do not matter as an individual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work
Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 July 2017
I had my first work experience here when I was 17 and stayed 24 years.

Great company that was a crown corporation then a private enterprise. I enjoyed the people and the exciting work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace safe work place.
Trainmaster (Former Employee) –  Melville, SK11 July 2017
day would would start with mornng group call going over the days plan.
learned how to manage over 300 workers.
safe work place.
hardest part long days
Pros
good benefits
Cons
Long hours with little days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC7 July 2017
great place to work, always had fun. Management is a bit difficult at times but the wage and benefits are fantastic. if you like to work in a fast paced ever learning environment CN is the place for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanic
Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 July 2017
Cn rail is an excellent job for security. it is not for family life. It is very unsafe, disorganized and full of confusion and BS. not a company i would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 June 2017
Retired from CN Rail as conductor and locomotive engineer with 36 yrs of service. Currently 58 yrs old looking to work some more years in railway industry. Worked lots of yard switching and main line work as locomotive engineer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company - Job security
IT Auditor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 June 2017
Great company - Job security - work life balance - decent benefits

It is not easy to get promotions

Base salary that you start with is the most important thing at CN. If you start with a good base , you are good for ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay & benefits, but its not all sunshine and rainbows...
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Melville, SK11 June 2017
CN has a great extensive training program for new conductors. They fly you to Winnipeg if you hire in Canada, and you're there 7 weeks. They pay for flights, hotel the whole time, and all meals, plus pay you a weekly salary for attending class 5 days a week. During those 7 weeks though, they make CN sound like the best company to work for ever.

Sure, you read online and hear about the on call 24/7/365 thing, and for the most part, with exceptions, that's true. It wouldn't be a huge issue for single guys like me, or even family men, if their train lineups were accurate ever... you'll show going out at 6am so you decide to go to bed at 10pm to be tested. Suddenly your phone rings to go work for 12 hours on a train at 11pm. If you say no, you're hauled in for an investigation and discipline.

If management would update the lineups and not hide random trains on lineups, we would have a better idea when we're going to work.

You do make good money. Will you make over $100,000 a year as a conductor? Not at the beginning, unless you go to a few select terminals like McLennan or Roma Junction where they're always short guys and pay a very good salary to entice people up there. But for other terminals, you could make 75% of that, but after a few years, you definitely could make 6 figures.

It's definitely not your average job and it is what you make of it. But I'm posting this at 4am, because I'm awake waiting for my next call to take a train. That should tell you what to expect from this career.....
Pros
Pay, benefits, coworkers, training program
Cons
Management, never know when youll work
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employee respect
Railway Car Technician Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 June 2017
I would love the job if they could accommodate to the employes more. I have been on nights with Tuesday Wednesday off for 3 years and and scheduled to be so for the next 20 plus years. Untill I am able to bid a regualr shift. With a young family at home this schedule dose not work for us. I have never spent a Christmas day with my son due to working over time pulling doubles and filling in shifts for the higher sonority employees. I am ready for a change for the better to improve my career choices and see my family .
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian National Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 260 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0

Canadian National Railway Reviews by Location