Find companies:
Canadian National Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
62 reviews

Canadian National Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Solid Career
CN Conductor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 6, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits
Cons: work/life balance
CN is a great place to work for a few reasons and a challenging one in others.
The pay and benefits are fantastic! Unfortunately the work-life balance is not and if you have a young family this probably isn't ideal for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but if you want to grow in a company that's not the place to be.
IT Analyst (Current Employee), MontrealJuly 21, 2014
Cons: no life balance. they never say thanks but they are the first to point fingers for any problem.
People are nice and friendly but I don't see any appreciation in a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
built skills and relationships
Coordinator Ground (Current Employee), BramptonJune 24, 2014
I have been working at CN for a little over a year.

There is not a lot of room to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you want to learn anything.
apprentice (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 4, 2014
CN Rail is willing to teach you as much as you want to learn no matter what. They really feel like family there and you are treated much like family, benefits were great, as was the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to work for.
FREIGHT TRAIN CONDUCTOR (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKMay 20, 2014
Pros: money if you ever get qualified.
Cons: no stability or support.
People are miserable, you never know when you'll get called. No support , basically sink or swim and its up to you to figure it out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Telecommunications Network Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Montréal, QCMarch 6, 2014
Good Work that trains staff. Leading edge technology and excellent co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable technical environment
DataStage Developer (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMarch 3, 2014
Pros: office at convenient location in downtown montreal
It was a wonderful experience working for Canadian Railway BI Practice. A great learning curve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place.
Trainmaster / Superviseur Transport (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 27, 2014
Lots of learning experience offered. Lots of advancement offered by company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful job I did for years.
Signals & Communication Foreman (Former Employee), Vaughn, OntarioFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: the pay! the people! great job.
Cons: dangerous, very dangerous, even with all the saftey regulations it is a life endangering job.
Working for Canadian National Railway was a wonderful learning experience in my life, and the pay was fantastic, beyond expressionable words. I, as a recent highschool graduate would never in my life believe I could earn $20/hr + $100/day (for expenses) straight out of a trade school. That's crazy! But there it was, and the people I worked with they – more... were awesome. Sometimes, things got tense, like in all high pace work environments. However, everyone always tried their best to keep a calm head and figure out a solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time ,very challenging
Contremaître (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: everything
I love this periode it was challenging and the most benfit for the worker get the job done and get out the way it should be done with all that comes with it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great room for advancement
Train Master (Former Employee), London, ONFebruary 20, 2014
Travel approx. 95% of the time. Hard to maintain a family but a lucrative career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poisioned Work Environment
Locomotive Engineer/Conductor (Former Employee), Multiple LocationsFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: newer equipt.
Managers have no experience, they bully newer employees. They hire you then spend their time trying to fire you. Violate collective agreement with impunity. If you work in yards with beltpacks you will be standing on the front of an engine in freezing cold ,or rain, or heat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ive worked so far
BC/Alberta Machine operator/labourer (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 3, 2014
Was a really great place to work, had its ups and downs but was overall a good enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CN Rail
Foreman/ Conductor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: work relationships
Cons: over nighters due to delays in transport
I really enjoyed my time at CN and loved working the rails. Comedy was calling, so I followed one of my dreams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever so changing work environment slow pace to rush in minutes
Rail Car Mechanic Apprentice (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 27, 2014
10hr shifts, different start times through the day, work in all extreme weather conditions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paying attention during work hours is a must. After hours: fishing fishing and more fishing, oh yeh
Canadian National Railroad track maintenanc (Current Employee), Winnipeg Manitob CanadaJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: away from the parties is not a bad idea.
Cons: occasional extreme cold weather
Canadian National Railroad is a great place to work. I enjoyed the demanding work schedule which included physical along with working as a team. Being organized is what makes the difference between having a bottom line. Working as a team saves money and time big time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good befefits but no life balance.
Signals and Communication Maintainer (Former Employee), Viking, AlbertaNovember 27, 2013
Cons: long hours, working outside in the cold winter
Testing safety equipment for the railway. Working on my own and with others depending on the tasks and schedule of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress in winter
Labourer /Conductor/Trainmaster (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 23, 2013
Pros: decent benifits
Cons: very long hours and high stress enviroment
The hardest part of the job is the 24 hour shifts. Very minimal down time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Campany Promotes failure
10 ton Boom Truck Driver/ Track Maintainer (Current Employee), Fort St John, BCOctober 9, 2013
Pros: full time employement
Cons: management
Supervisors are told to go out and look for 25 saftey failures/passes a month but must find 5 failures or are themselves failed. I have had fails on things that I dont even do for the company. Also management is supost to tell you when you fail but most times will not. This is a bad company to work for, they do not treat you well at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review for CN RAil
Accounts Receivable Representative/Rate Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 30, 2013
CN Rail was a fantastic company to work for. I started as a data entry clerk and through in house training moved into Accounts Receiveable and then a Rate clerk. Both challenging positions but rewarding as well. I like to learn and this company offered me that challenge. Co-workers and management were great and offered great opportunities for advancement – more... if you were willing to learn and step up to to the challenge. One of the most enjoyable parts was the salary without a doubt. Still to this day it was the best paying job I had in my working career! – less

1 2 3 4

About Canadian National Railway

The Canadian National Railway Company (reporting mark CN) (TSX: CNR, NYSE: CNI) is a Canadian Class I railway headquartered in – Read more

Canadian National Railway Photos