Canadian National Railway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Apprentice Railcar Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON12 October 2017
good money and benefits no weekends or holidays work and life balance is not great but you won't be out of work not a bad place to work but not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 October 2017
The only reason I resigned from CN in Fort McMurray was due to the fact my husband had to relocate back to Ontario.....otherwise I still would be there working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary and work
Railway Conductor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2017
If you like working outdoors railway conductor is a great job. Great pay and benefits. Lots of opportunities to move up in the company. Hardest part of the job was probably the on call work.
Pros
Salary, benefits, work environment
Cons
work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high risk
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK9 October 2017
high risk environment, you have to be aware of your surrounding all the time, no life balance at it because you don't have a fixed shift most of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production manager
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON9 October 2017
you must ready to put you CN ahead of your family and i wasn't ..you shouldn't force people write more then they want to when its a volunteer thats all i have to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management, Culture of Fear
Railway Car Technician (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC6 October 2017
Terrible place to work with low morale. Management does nothing to change this. All they care about is finger pointing when things go wrong. They constantly create new policies to make work a terrible place to be.
Pros
You get paid on time
Cons
Management, Hours, Working Outdoors in all weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyable and friendly
Stenographer (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB, & 3 mos in Montreal on a project.6 October 2017
A typical day at work would be generally busy to very busy. I learned many skills improving self confidence overall, in personal and profession environments. In general most of management was understanding and fair.

Over the years I made many long lasting friendships that have lasted to the present. The most difficult part of the job was probably dealing with rumors of job security or lack there of.

I truly enjoyed working at the Canadian National Railway, due to the people, salary and benefits.
Pros
People, pension, benefits and salary.
Cons
Stress by rumors of lay off, normal stressers of work place environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recession Proof
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 September 2017
CN is a great company for individuals looking to work their 8 hours and go home. Highly motivated employees looking for a performance driven organization should stay away. Nepotism is very embedded in the culture.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor succession planning and employee development
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is poor!
Train man, Yard man, Conductor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 September 2017
On call 24/7, imagine not being able to plan when to sleep, eat lr spwnd time with your family! Now imagine an employer that probably spent 90k training you and now will fire you for any stupid mistake? An employer that will invite you to break safety rules and then discipline you for doing what they told you to do.
Pros
Free paid training
Cons
Every freaking thing!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, but union is too involved.
Heavy Duty Locomotive Technician - Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB19 September 2017
It was a good company to work for, but being an ambitious employee i struggled working with LAZY union employees who didn't care. You show that you're a solid worker and management takes advantage of it. To get promoted into a non unionized supervisor position was extremely difficult and seemed very secretive/hidden. They also denied me a transfer to another province and went for hiring an outside member which is funny that the union couldn't help there...
Pros
Good wage, share package, pension, Overtime, wicked machines
Cons
Overtime, Union, lazy co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinator
Telecom Integration Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 September 2017
CN is overall a nice place to work, the work life and personal life balace is fine, their salaries are competitive, and it is a place where you can learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC10 September 2017
Great place to work, and great
Enjoyed my 37 years working at Canadian National very much
Met a lot of different people and made many friends
I highly recommend this company
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Being displaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC3 September 2017
If you can't bother to be called at 2 AM or hold of on drinking til your on rest/days off, don't bother applying.

Pay/benefits are fantastic, management can be rough depending on where you go, overall, recommended if you want to sign up for 30+ years of work.
Pros
Paid training, co-workers, pay, benefits, safety is prioritized
Cons
Management at times (not always)
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Build a Career
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB31 August 2017
Management is terrible, co-workers/pay are great. Hours kinda suck. Lots of on-call shift work and night time calls. Excellent pension and benefits though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many intelligent opportunities
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 August 2017
When I started in the Transportation department I actually learned my job as an Operator to the level where I was accepted in my desire to be a Dispatcher (as my father had been).
Pros
Having others appreciate my work
Cons
A lot of distance travelling sometime required
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money was great. Hours were rough on personal life
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB23 August 2017
This job wasn't for everyone. Tough on family and or personal life. But if you want to make good $$$$$$$$$$. It's perfect . Make sure you have an open minded wife and she is ok with you being away from home for 24 hrs
+
Pros
Cash
Cons
No life
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railroading
Railway Conductor (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK21 August 2017
Working on call, away from home, outdoors and with some questionable people. The job itself is great, you can work with some pretty good and bad people. The hardest part is being on call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Thermite/welder (Current Employee) –  Ontario wide21 August 2017
Been at CN for almost 12 yrs. great experience. Learn lots of new things. This job brings you all over Ontario see new places meet lotsa people. Really enjoy working for CN
Cons
Working away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok its where your working
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Lillooet, BC2 August 2017
depending on where you working and who is your supavisor or ats .some are just looking for people to fire to look good to hire ups. others are great teachers to learn from.
Pros
money stock options
Cons
people out to ding you with brownies
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 July 2017
Worked as a broker at CNTL. learned a lot from last 11 years to handle different problem with customers and solve it in time frame. Road experience with different equipment was excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian National Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 271 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0