Find companies:
Canadian Forces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
217 reviews

Canadian Forces Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good career opportunities,poor life balance
Senior Vehicle Technician and Shop Supervisor (Current Employee), Gagetown, NBFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: salary, benefit, avancement
good career avancement,salary,benefit.
relocation very frequent and dont try to accommodate their member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, time off and job security.
Electronic Optronic Technician (Current Employee), Edmonton ABFebruary 23, 2014
Working for the Canadian Forces has been a mostly enjoyable adventure.

Depending on the trade you go into there is a lot of opportunity to gain knowledge and skills.

You have the opportunity to work for and with vast and varied types of people

The hardest part is definitely the time away from home on either courses field exercises or deployments. – more... While the most enjoyable is all the benefits, including pay and time off – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was the Army
Regular Support Staff (Former Employee), Amherst, NSFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: security and benefits
Cons: leadership, being away from home a lot and
It was a culture that is hard to forget, when you have done it for 32 years. I learned a lot from those years. The management had it's ups and downs and could be hard to work with on some days. I miss a lot of my Army buddies and miss the way of life. The hardest part of the job was always being away from home and family. I enjoyed the comradeship with – more... the job and the Army way of life, it was hard to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, very good team work
Military Police (Current Employee), Petawawa, ONFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: salary and experience
Cons: never home
Performed patrols of CFB Petawawa, residential and business sectors and responded to dispatch calls to enforce law and ensure public safety.
Investigated criminal activity; interviewed victims, witnesses and suspects.
Preserved crime scenes, gathered evidence and arrested suspects.
Enforced Criminal Code offences, National Defense act, traffic laws – more... and investigated vehicle collisions.
Wrote accurate and complete reports.
Testified in court when require – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great career
Resource Management Support (Former Employee), Halifax, NSFebruary 6, 2014
Great choice for career, lots of fun and challenges
Hard work you have to pay attention to detail, co workers are great as everyone works in a team, hardest part is being away from home
best part is the feeling of satisfaction for a job well done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work,awsome benifits
Mobile Support Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Gagetown, NBFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: always getting paid no matter what
Cons: if it makes sense the military dosnt do it
go to work drive busses/and off road vehicles,pick up troops bring them to the feild
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting and rewarding carreer
Resource Management Services - Sr NCO (Current Employee), GuelphFebruary 1, 2014
During a 35 year career with the Canadian Forces, I have developed strong office management skills, leadership, and instructional techniques.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Rifleman (Current Employee), Chilliwack, BCJanuary 29, 2014
Very hard work, excellent environment to work in, very rewarding at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and intense work environment.
Infantryman (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: free meals, transport, physical conditioning, and pretty good pay for consecutive days/weeks of work.
Cons: slave pay for harder work then any other job, and the occasional trash meal.
Coming strait out of high school, I would recommend joining the reserves, only if you plan on furthering your education. If not then joining the Regular Force would be the most beneficial. I joined in my final year in high school as a three credit co-op course that will also help me pay for College/University.

Aside from the pay, you do learn a lot – more... about how far the human body can push itself before failing, and how 90% of the hardships are mental barriers that you can break if you have the will do do it. You learn very quickly whether or not the Canadian Forces is for you. Especially if your wanting to join the Infantry which I did, it is well known to be the most physically/mentally demanding careers in the Canadian Forces, let alone regular careers out side of the military.

This career should pay better than pro football players, but it doesn't. that's just the way it is. Hopefully that will change very soon.

Overall I give this job five stars not because of the pay and benefits, but because of the knowledge you gain about surviving, living fighting and how far your body can REALLY push itself above and beyond the limit you thought it had.

If you're serious about joining, make should to quit smoking if you do. You can start again if you really want to, only once you've realized how it really doesn't matter when you know it won't affect your ability to push yourself to the limits.

I don't smoke, only because it obviously does have long term effects.

It is a brotherhood, and you will not know how it feels until you are officially initiated into it.

For me, when I joined I didn't do it for the money, I just wanted a job like this, that most people really do know nothing about. Now that i'm older I do know that I need the money to live in comfort, but if the world's currency was in food and water and not in coins and paper with ink, I would choose this career without a second thought. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppurtunities to do anything
Heavy Duty Technician - Staff Supervisor/Team Lead (Current Employee), Edmonton A.BJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: healthcare, dental, job security
Cons: salary, no overtime
My job allowed me to travel all over canada to become a mechanic from small engines to huge Tanks. I learned to work in team, a team that sometimes you depend your life on. On day to day your a regular mechanic helping to fix all of the companys vehicles. Co-workers is the best part of the job you meet so many different people and get to learn alot – more... of different techniques and tricks of the trade. Hardest part is being away from you family sometimes for long months and not being paid overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time consuming, little work
Marine Engineer (Former Employee), halifax, nova scotiaJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
good for young people without kids, not recommended for the family man. lots of room for advancement with little benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard rewarding work
Combat Engineering Officer (Current Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: secure work
Cons: military politics
Great opportunities in life but work is very hard and military politics are the worst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives great skills that can be used in every aspect of life
Corporal (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONJanuary 15, 2014
The CF is a great place for a career path and also picking up skills that can be used anywhere in life. The Forces train you in a way so that time management responsibility and teamwork become a huge asset for your life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An unforgettable experience
Private (Basic) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: get exercise
Cons: the stress
The Canadian Forces was brutal, and so rewarding because of it, I will never forget the skills and morals I learned while in training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pride and Honor
Administrations Clerk (Former Employee), Windsor OntarioJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: life lessons
Cons: early wake up
Great experience. New faces and long lasting friendships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, family friendly environment to work.
Resource Administrator (Current Employee), Gagetown, Oromocto, NBJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great opportunity for professional advancement
Cons: they are times when one is required to be away from family for a long period of time; so, an individual must be ready for those times before joining
My day starts with Physical Fitness; the rest of the day revolves around customer service, project management, research on multiple topics, writing reports, presentations of findings.

I have learned the importance of being able to work in team and individually. Communication, planning and being organized helps me and the team to meet deadlines and – more... avoid unnecessary stress.

The management pays attention to personnel's professional needs (skills and training) and accommodates family needs as much as possible

My co-workers are very important to my everyday work life, without their trust and commitment to personal and team responsibilities nothing could be achieved. Simply put - my co-workers are very important.

The hardest part of the job is the requirement to move often anywhere in the country whenever needed. This can be hard on families.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the ability to learn multiple skills and being able to handle multiple tasks. I enjoy working in a fat paced environment and the opportunity to work both indoor and outdoor environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a young person
Infantry (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: friends, experiences
Cons: away from home a lot with no compensation
I was in the infantry. I would suggest joining right out of high school and serving a contract. Some of the best times and some of the worst times I have had will always be in the army
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT EXPERIENCE
CORPORAL - DETACHMENT COMMANDER (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 3, 2014
LEARNED A LOT
GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR A YOUNG PERSON. BETTER THAN FLIPPING BURGERS McDonald's. YOU WILL LEARN TO PUSH YOUR MIND AND BODY TO LIMITS YOU NEVER THOUGHT POSSIBLE AND THEN EXCEED THEM. YOU WILL LEARN TO ADAPT AND OVERCOME
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very diverse place to work.
Various positions & ranks/Safety Representative (Former Employee), VariousDecember 19, 2013
Member of a rifle team. Repair and maintain aircraft. Work closely with team members and as an individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but Rewarding work environment
Regional Atlantic Network Administrator (Current Employee), Halifax, NSDecember 16, 2013
Pros: excellent work environment
Cons: job security
Respectful place to work, employee recognition constantly given for efforts through management - very motivating place to work.People are amazing to support.

About Canadian Forces

The Canadian Forces, officially the Canadian Armed Forces, is the unified armed force of Canada, as constituted by the National – Read more

Canadian Forces Photos