Canadian Forces

326 reviews

Canadian Forces Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great career and gained great experience.
Avionics Technician, Flight line Supervisor. (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2015
Pros: Extreemely diverse work.
Cons: Sometimes limited promotions and postings.
They provided a wonderful world class adventure.
There are a large variety of aircraft to work on so the experience gained is by far the best opportunity to learn aircraft.
The hardest part is the sometimes difficult environmental work conditions. They can also be the most rewarding for personal pride of accomplishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training for our next mission.
Army / Prison Guard with the Military. (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2015
There is not much I can talk about what we do and how we do our training. Its a good place to work and learn from. Travel the world and meet new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, fun coworkers
Infantry (Current Employee), AlbertaAugust 24, 2015
Pros: Free food
Cons: Get yelled at
Working in the CF is a great experience for those that wish to apply.
Suggest doing alot of research before getting into it as there is plenty of trades in the CF
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Master corporal supervisor of men
armour corp (Former Employee), Calgary, Edmonton ,Ottawa, overseasAugust 20, 2015
always something new, I have learned all of what makes me today. Management never asked you to do something they were not willing to do or have done themselves. my co-workers; I would consider brothers. Hardest part of this job was leaving my family. The best part of this job was being able to help people and protect our freedom as Canadians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the military
Artillerymen (Private) (Current Employee), Woodstock, NBAugust 5, 2015
Pros: THEY FEED YOU, AND YOU CAN RETIRE EARLY!
Cons: YOU COULD DIE!
IF YOU LIKE STRUCTURE, IF YOU LIKE BE YELLED AT, THEN THIS JOB IS FOR YOU! WANNA STAY UP TILL 2AM CLEANING YOUR RIFLE AFTER A DAY OF MARCHING AROUND LIKE AN IDIOT! THEN JOIN! WANNA SEE A BUNCH OF MASOCHIST – more... PUNISH THEMSELVES WHILE THEY PUNISH YOU! THEN JOIN! THIS JOB IS GREAT, I LOVE BEING A GRUNT IN THE MILITARY! I'M GOING TO BE A PRIVATE FOREVER! I LOVE GETTING THE SAME $90 A DAY WHETHER I WORK 6 HOURS OR 24 HOURS! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be very aware of "Non Public Funds- NPF"
Deputy Regional Accounting Manager (Former Employee), CFB EdmontonJuly 26, 2015
The life of working for NPF side of the CF is full of politics and disorganization.
You get treated as if you are in the army and expected to commit your life to them, just as the soldiers do.
There – more... is no end to your work day, as you are expected to eat, breathe and sleep about your work.
Don't expect to have much of a family life, or work life balance. There are smoke and mirrors around this.
Training and support is dismal at best.
If you choose to work here, your eyes will be opened wide after you have been there at least 6 months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Military (Former Employee), Petawawa ontarioJuly 17, 2015
good place to work good benefits and good vacation. opportunities for advancement and many of the positives out weight the negatives
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright for a few years.
Artillery Soldier ( 1 RCHA) (Current Employee), Shilo, MBJuly 14, 2015
Pros: Job Security
Cons: Unpredictabilty
First few years were fun. But then you actually get to see how horrible they treat you and how it is hard to actually have a life outside of the army
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the canadian armed forces as a whole
Combat Engineer (Current Employee), Sydney, NSJuly 11, 2015
its a good career with many options of field enhancement option courses and such. always able to advance in ranks, ranks come with pay raises
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To serve and protect our Country
CAPTAIN (Former Employee), Halifax, and VictoriaJuly 3, 2015
servered in the CAF both reservist and regular forces. Promoted to the rank of Capt.. Received my university degree. Best yrs of my life and the training was par excellent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun place to work
Instructor for The Canadian Armed Forces (Current Employee), Borden, ONJune 29, 2015
Pros: 24+ paid days off per year
Cons: sometimes missions keep you away from family for long periods of time
The Candadian Forces is a demanding fast paced place to work.
This institution is not for everyone. This Job requires you to have a sence of duty and honour and love of your country. The hardest part – more... of the job is leaving kids and wife and family when required to do missions the "average" person would never get out of bed for...takes courage and conviction of duty.

seeing the world, getting 24 days off + per year to spend with friends and family – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Naval Combat Information Operator (Former Employee), Victoria BCJune 29, 2015
Pros: great salary and benefits
Cons: lots of down time
a great place to work. lots of travel and foreign ports visit when ship is at sea. Watches are extremely hard on the body, sleep is not a huge priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, learning new skills each day
Corporal (Current Employee), Aurora, OnJune 23, 2015
Exciting work and with great people. It allows you to put yourself in any role. The most enjoyable part is going out to the field and completing exercises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Armed Forces
Team Lead (Former Employee), ottawa onJune 14, 2015
Pros: job security
Cons: relocation
The CF is a very fulfilling career. If you work hard, the opportunity to advance through the ranks is there. You will gain an additional family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional organization!
Boatswain, Petty Officer Second Class (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 8, 2015
Pros: Proud to serve my country!
Cons: Long periods of time away from home
Learned a great deal about myself and the Canadian Forces during my over twenty year career.

Every day was a different challenge.

Supervised and worked with numerous people from a wide variety of trades and backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New learning experiences every day
Reserves Intelligence Operator (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 22, 2015
Being part of the Canadian Forces has been a fulfilling experience. I have learned how to work well in a team and how to communicate my ideas properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work with a lot of security and pride
Supply Technician (Former Employee), Oromocto, NBMay 21, 2015
Pros: Pride, job security, pension, very good benefits, seeing many parts of the world
Cons: extended periods away from family
As a member of the Canadian Forces my day varied all the time. Most mornings started with PT (Physical Training) but many days included other training, both domestic and also in preparation for upcoming – more... deployments. I could be working in one of many warehouses one day and be out on the ranges throwing grenades and firing weapons the next. What I learned is that every job I've ever experienced is most successful when you can 100% rely on the people around you that you work with. Management was critical. Most "managers" were very good at their jobs and learned to "lead by example". Most of my co-workers were incredible to work with and I trusted them completely with my safety in some very unsafe environments and situations. The hardest part of my job was the regular long periods away from my family and feeling like I was missing out on my kids lives. The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling of pride. Feeling like I was a part of something bigger than myself, and the ability to "do my part" on the world stage to represent my country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discipline, respect and team work
Clerk (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMay 20, 2015
Before my injury it would be an early morning run, followed by exercise either outside or at the gym. We would then learn new things daily and perfect other skills that we had already learned. All of this – more... was in a very high paced environment where you had to work well both as an individual and a team member. Once I was unable to perform the physical requirements of the career my work day consisted of filing content sensitive data, completing orders for the entire base in regards to all of the reading materials they used, banners, books, business cards, etc While I was unable to complete the physical requirements of the profession, my mind remains just as sharp as ever, if not better. This is not to say that I am handicapped in any way shape or form. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull and demanding work enviornment.
Armoured Recce Soldier (Current Employee), Toronto, ON.May 6, 2015
Pros: Many life skills and disciplins achieved.
Cons: Difficult to make time for along with civilian life.
As an Armoured Recce Soldier within the reserves for just over a year i'v gained excellent leadership, ability to work with others, organisational, communication, ability to work under stress, and technical – more... skills. The average days at work can be from a mere evening parade night of 3.5 hours spent maintaining equipment and participating in in class theory and practical skills to living out in the wilderness up to a couple of weeks training within our units in high intensity, fast paced, extremily disciplined enviornments with little to no sleep from days at a time.I work with great people all equally driven to serve ones country who offer support. The hardest part of the job for me personally is balancing it with civilian life and going through schooling. The most enjoyable part of this job for me is being abe to fulfill a chidhood dream of serving my country and obtaining life long skills in the process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Boatswain (Current Employee), Halifax, NSMay 1, 2015
There is no such thing as a typical day when employed by the Canadian Armed Forces which is one of the reasons for joining. A day could involve working on the ship alongside in Halifax or being deployed – more... to sea for any period of time. The hardest part of my employment within the Forces would have to be the long period away from loved ones when deployed, however, knowing that we are helping the world while representing Canada makes the sacrifice worthwhile. – less