Canadian Blood Services Employee Reviews

Found 64 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very welcoming atmosphere with happy workers.
Medical Laboratory Assistant- Donor testing (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 August 2013
In my current position we rotate start times. This can be very helpful if you have children or appointments you have to keep without having to use your appointment time during working hours. Everyone is held accountable for their mistakes. Supervisors and managers will talk to you if something was not done according to the Standard Operating Procedure. This is done in a very positive manor to help support your growth as an employee within the company.
Pros
6 am start shifts, and 5 pm start shifts
Cons
Have to pay for parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for employee opinon supervisor can just treat you like kid and ignore all your complain
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Toronto15 December 2014
Very negative work place dont complain if you are being treated wrongfully you will become the problem and get fired.Only favouritism is supervisor biggest strength.
Pros
very nice donors helping to save a live.
Cons
staff gossip, management need to treat every employee with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes50No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Calgary4 October 2013
This is a well paid job, but if you are looking for work/life balance, this isn't the company for you. As a part time job, you have to fit into their schedule and it's not flexible, no matter what they say.

Management is weak at best!

Donors and the people you work with are great, but they don't make up for the disrespect the management heaps on its workers
Pros
Good pay for little education required
Cons
Inflexible work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes55No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the organization as a whole
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON24 October 2014
I was a volunteer. On a typical day I would come in, set up the tables, make coffee, distribute Newspapers and sit patiently waiting to assist patients. My duty was to sign and date their donation cards, make them feel comfortable and be prepared for an emergency if they were to react negatively to giving blood. The management and co workers were all incredibly friendly and I enjoyed working along side them. I learned a lot about what their organization does, and how many people they help and it was interesting to see how dedicated people were to the cause. The job wasn`t difficult, and I never had the opportunity to face an emergency. My only complaint was the commute in the mornings to get there. I enjoyed the job thoroughly, and loved talking to patient and co workers,
.
Pros
I got to help people, talk to people, and I got free cookies
Cons
Un paid
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work that needed high accuracy and precession.
Donor Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary28 January 2015
I believe, Science is interesting subject to me. While working as laboratory technologist, I found it needs 100% attention and accurate manual dexterity. Most attractive part of work was TAT.
Pros
Wast knowedge regarding transfusione medicine
Cons
Tidious some time
Was this review helpful?Yes7No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked and learn key healthy tips and wellness from coworkers and supervisors
Donor Services Rep (Former Employee) –  Toronto4 July 2013
I was lucky to work at a different place at a different set up with coworkers from all ethnicity.

Interacted with potential donors to the point of remembering names, locations of donation, preference place and time to come back and donate.
Pros
Perks and benefits were amazing
Cons
few hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBS
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 December 2012
Fast pace environment, people are nice, managers are not the best but try, you play an active role in life saving on a day to day basis and it can be very rewarding. Hardest part of the job is the amount of hours vs your turn over and the job can be very stressful at times. Most enjoyable part of the job is when you are told you saved a life.
Pros
money
Cons
long hours, no felxability
Was this review helpful?Yes11No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming environment and very thankful for help
Refreshments Provider/Registration Consultant (Former Employee) –  Yorkton, SK19 January 2015
Volunteering at Canadian Blood Services was always a good experience. The managers were always very thankful, understanding, and kind to both new and returning volunteers.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Only accessible every few months
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my co workers
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 January 2014
A typical day at work consists of driving to my clinic setting up the clinic and working with my colleagues and donors.

The donors are the people who volunteer their time to come and donate blood in need for other people. That is the most rewarding
of my profession
Pros
Working with my colleagues
Cons
driving to clinics sometimes it is long
Was this review helpful?Yes14No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON.3 October 2013
• Conduct quality control to ensure that all information is captured correctly
• Organized, scanned and created files in electronic filing system (REFS).
• Boxed files and entered them in iRIMS system for off-site storage.
• Marking boxes systematically with pertinent information for accurate retrieval and control
• Creating and constructing physical and virtual boxes
• Opening and removing contents for inspection
• Lifting and carrying 20-30 lb. boxes daily
• Photocopied.
• Created labels for outgoing mail in word.
• Created binders.
• Created labels to put on tabs in word.
• Entered data into excel spread sheet.
• Worked with Microsoft Word, Excel, windows XP and Adobe Reader X.

Management was good.
The hardest part of this job was learning their electronic filing system.
I enjoyed all of the jobs love being busy and being organised.
Pros
Nice place to work
Cons
Not a permanent job.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to volunteer.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON8 April 2014
I did not get paid as I was a volunteer. Besides that, I love being able to help people. A typical day involves making a pot of coffee and offering them to donors who have just donated some blood. It is not as gory as it sounds.
Pros
Free snacks and coffee/tea/pop
Cons
Standing for long periods, no phones allowed.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pension Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 March 2014
Great office staff. Learned many things regarding the obtaining and processing of blood to help individuals who require it. Management guides rather than tells. Many get togethers to celebrate achievements of those who work there.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Out of the way for a quick shopping trip at lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes14No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm Environment
Clerk/Group Booker (Former Employee) –  Brampton21 May 2015
Everyday you have to send a reminders email to the donors and group donors also the Territory Managers reminding them about there appointment.
learned about there software they use.
great team
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are great
Driver (Current Employee) –  St. John's NL7 March 2014
Management needs to get their stuff together so everyone is on the same page. as for hours you are told up front hours are this, but you start out getting a lot, get use to it, then they decide to hire more drivers to cut everyone's hours. Not good for morale.
Pros
Mobile field staff & Lab Staff great
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes31No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor moral .... Pushed hard ... Employees not valued .. Just a business
Medical Lab Tech (Current Employee) –  Vancouver BC28 February 2013
Job security is really iffy right now. Do not feel valued. Some supervisors and management not effective.
Pros
help to save lives
Cons
not being valued. many jobs in 1. work hard, told to work harder. very low moral, management all about cutting hrs and saving money.
Was this review helpful?Yes51No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2012
My office timing is really good. It is 7.30 am till 4pm Monday-Friday. The office is located close to Subway. The people are really good. Very comfortable office atmosphere. The coworkers are very friendly and approachable, and also very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate and empathetic Management who accomadate where possible
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Southern Ontario9 October 2013
Great place to work. A lot of flexibility given to those who work hard and are accountable.
Pros
day time hours, possibility of working from home when needed
Cons
office politics....don't get involved
Was this review helpful?Yes11No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 June 2014
Productive and fun place to work; great people around. Team work mentality and inspiring information exchange and collaboration with other research areas directly connect to the University of Alberta.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Placement
CSR (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON11 April 2015
I found it hard to get through late hours and such short shifts, I prefer now to not be considered for this type of work.

There was a great atmosphere and all the employees were very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work with never ending changes
Scheduler/Time Keeper (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 December 2013
There was never a day that started or ended the same.I learned that it is not the job that makes the day its the people and the accomplishments.
Pros
The Staff and the people I meet
Cons
Long travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes8No12Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

Canadian Blood Services Reviews by Location