Canadian Blood Services Employee Reviews

Found 74 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace with some travelling around the province.
Staff Nurse / Nurse Consultant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL14 February 2017
A typical day at work would be to screen potential blood donors, initiate blood donation for whole blood, platelets or plasma. Working as a nurse consultant to Donor Care Associates as well as performing cursory physical examinations to potential donors was also included, as required. Traveling around the province with the blood care team was a very enjoyable part of my job.

I learned quite a lot at CBS, beginning with phlebotomy, and providing IV access for the purpose of blood/blood product collection and up to data processing.

Working with so many potential donors, learning new skills, as well as traveling were the best parts of my job.
Pros
Travel, meeting new people
Cons
people waiting long periods of time to donate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very social and fun working environment
Clinic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC3 January 2017
typical day was busy, but very fun to interact with Donors and coworkers. I really enjoyed working here and had to leave due to the 2 days a week work schedule. It was really hard to work this around another job, to receive full time work.
Cons
only 2 days per week/closed prince george location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Becoming too Corporate
Medical Screener (Current Employee) –  ontario7 February 2017
Donors - Wonderful -
Coworkers - Wonderful -
Management - Does not understand the working parts of the organization, including scope of the employees they oversee
Hourly wage is wonderful but job security/hours/ work life balance are all identified problems in the work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a wonderful rewarding company to work for.
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 September 2016
I started working for this company when it was Canadian Red Cross.
It evolved into Canadian Blood Services. It was a rewarding place to work. You always felt like you were helping and making a difference in peoples lives. It was a company of constant change..always keeping on top of the most recent technology. The atmosphere aided in making you very adaptable to change. I feel I was very lucky to have made my career with this establishment.
Pros
Company offered many learning experiences...online courses, conferences, in house training, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing Sudbury and beyond the community with much needed blood products
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON6 September 2016
CBS is a call-centered approach to scheduling and review of donors and potential donors. Keeping in contact and encouraging repeat donations is an important part of a healthy community that supports its' vital services including medical.
Pros
Predicatable work enviromment and hours
Cons
part-time employment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative atmospere
Medical Lab Technologist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2016
The co-workers were fun to work with but the place was not
well managed. The staffing situation left much to be desired.
Learning new material was not encouraged.
Pros
The job itself was okay and salary was good.
Cons
Staffing situation left workers very tired.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Volunteer work & Interest (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 January 2017
Able to help in my own little way by donating blood. I know that by donating i get to help patients needing it and I've been doing it too even when i'm still in the Philippines. Also it has also benefit for your body everytime you donate blood.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving lives is the best
Donor Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB27 December 2016
I really enjoyed working for them. I just couldn't live on 12 hours a week. I really blossomed there and was told many times how great I was at customer service and with the donors.
Pros
helping people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer to Give Blood to Help up to 4 People!
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON19 January 2017
Every time I donate blood the facility is big, the process is organized, and I get snacks after I give blood before I leave.
Pros
Free snacks!
Cons
You may feel light headed after giving blood
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't for me
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON22 December 2016
Very monotonous. I couldn't sit there for 10 hours answering calls, no change of pace. Some people are excellent at this. For myself, it wasn't for me.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Monotonous
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. well organized
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON21 December 2016
helped set up a blood drive
very organized and helpful
kind staff
promoted the blood drive
hardest part was getting people to show upb the day of blood drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful environment
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON9 February 2017
Looking for new employment. Have been working as a Registered Nurse for over 14 years in several different settings. Would like to stay in the health area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not perfect for family people
Driver/ Logistics (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2017
lots of hours but it's different every day .you can't plan ahead.
they got the latest models of trucks and vans and all other equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervisor is a witch
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK18 July 2016
Most of the staff are nice but the supervisor is a bully. You can do nothing right here and the clinic manager lets her get away with it.
It is not right the way people get treated.
Cons
work every day for 4 or 5 hours ?
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment for all
Laboratory Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2016
The West labs Bodycote testing group, however, runs a business although it provides the information regarding the environment by testing the water sample, soil samples, bitumen's etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC17 June 2016
Donors are very friendly and remind me how important it is to always give back to my community. The most enjoyable part of my day is listening to donors day plans or stories.
Pros
free snacks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good job security
Laboratory Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 February 2016
Co-worker's were easy to get along with. Receive blood orders from hospitals, pack and send blood orders to hospitals. Receive fractionation blood products and store accordingly.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Heavy shipments of blood component products.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity For First Job
Blood Services Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Tottenham, ON1 March 2016
An easy way to break into the work market. Enjoyed helping people while they donated blood. Makes you feel good to be providing a service like this...
Pros
Good deeds
Cons
Not a fan of needles
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Medial Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 October 2015
Good place to work. I met a lot of people, developed new skills, increased myself worth to the company, be motivated and always willing to help and be a part of the team is the most enjoyable part of the job. Everyday has a new ways to learn and productivities increases endlessly.
Pros
free parking
Cons
very physical
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management unwilling to consider employee
Donor services (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 July 2015
I requested a Leave of Absence from my part-time position OR to go on the casual roster. The department was frequently working short or paying over-time so I thought my request was a win-win. My manager claimed that they received direction from their supervisor to refuse my request. I was forced to quit due to their lack of give-and-take and lack of consideration for employee life situations.
Pros
friendly donors
Cons
no respect or consideration from management
Was this review helpful?Yes26No1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 75 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

Canadian Blood Services Reviews by Location