Find companies:
Canada Revenue Agency
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

Canada Revenue Agency Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work but management and team work almost inexistant.
Relief Request Screener (Former Employee), Surrey Tax Centre, Surrey BCJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good salary.
Cons: team leader has her favorite team member. information not available most of the time.
Extremely difficult to get information necessary to do my work.
Information asked to different co-workers was different, or incomplete.
When asked the same question twice to the same person, got two different answers.
Most of the information is not written anywhere, and yet whan I asked for it I was tols: "You're supposed to know it"... or "You will – more... have to learn it the same way I did, bit by bit". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive atmosphere in a workplace
IT Analyst/ Developer (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 6, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: need to be bilingual in order to grow in the future
Canada Revenue Ageny is a great place to work.
In this job I can find a good work/life balance.
This job requires consistent back and forth communication among team members and clients.
The hardest part of the job was to transition into work culture and understanding certain policies and procedures because the organization is very large.
Working for – more... CRA, I had met many interesting people and have gained alot of knowledge and experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet but constant.
Assessment & Benefits Processing Clerk (Former Employee), 2215 Gladwin Crescent, Ottawa ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: friendly, helpful environment with good support (and benefits!)
Cons: the days could sometimes feel long, and cold-calling people is never pleasant.
The work was fairly steady, we rarely had days where we weren't busy. On the off day that we weren't our supervisors would often have us helping the other divisions. A usual day entailed going down the list of cases, calling people up and making sure our information was correct.

It was a nice, quiet work environment and I genuinely liked everyone on – more... my team. The hardest part was adjusting to the frequent changes in policy or procedure. They didn't change day to day, but often enough that we'd have to re-evaluate how we approached things and adjust accordingly.

I'd say the best part of the job was definitely the flexible hours - you could elect to put in extra time each day to get more time off later, which worked great for my schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work life balance.
Excise Tax Auditor, Term Contract (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 24, 2014
CRA is great organization to work with as you become part of providing quality service to the Canadian citizens and CRA provides work-life balance for it's employees via various flexible work options.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the tax department
Taxpayer Services Agent (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 24, 2014
Pros: confidence and experience in asking questions to be able to give the customer what they need.
Cons: was on a contractual basis and not alot of opportunity for permanency
Learning how to navigate the website to find information and which departments to transfer the customer to in order to get them up to date and accurate information. Tracking all calls for call drivers information. I found this job both challenging and informative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
TPR Clerk (Current Employee), St. John's, NLJune 8, 2014
learning everyday
co-operation among co-workers
good hours
good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Data Capture Operator (Current Employee), Sudbury ONMay 28, 2014
Great job
Data entry for T1 income taxes
great management
amazing co-workers
positive environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the hours I worked like 7am to 3pm
General Office Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: liked kidding around with some of my co workers at break time.
Cons: didn't like the production part of the job.
Learned a different way of filing, labelled folders, etc, Liked my team leader and got along with my co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse work environment where every day was different.
IT Infrastructure Support Analyst (Former Employee), St. John's, NLMay 20, 2014
Pros: great team of individuals where knowledge is shared on a daily basis.
Cons: work ethics of a permanent employee vs a term employee is very difinitive.
As stated above, every day was different. Supporting 1000's of end users across Canada proved to be very challenging. QA and Data Security was a very important factor when dealing with Canadian Taxpayer information. From 2008-2014 change was daily as the IT world evolved. I had the privilege of working with a great Team that helped me advance in my – more... career. The hardest part of the job was dealing with inter-office politics. Permanent jobs are not offered often. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, but no security
Clerical Assistant & Taxpayer Services Agent (Former Employee), London, ONMay 8, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: poorly managed, extreme favouritism, difficult to advance, no job security
Felt as though I was able to help the public and make a difference as a taxpayer services agent. Learned a lot about income tax and the processing of tax returns.

VERY poorly managed, lack of leadership, favouritism, and harassment from management.

Continually worked contracts for nearly 5 years as it was extremely difficult to get a permanent job.

Most – more... coworkers were wonderful to work with, but a select few were very underhanded, rude, unprofessional, and disrespectful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prestigious work
Taxpayer Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 4, 2014
Great people to work with. Learned a lot from different people. Fast paced environment. High degree of accuracy and attention to detail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, flexible office environment
Bilingual Specialty Services Clerk (Former Employee), Mount Pearl, NLApril 27, 2014
Pros: excellent salary, professional development opportunities, regular hours, sick and personal time
Cons: term position -- not secure.
Most of my day would consist of responding to written forms and requests from Francophone taxpayers to add, modify, or delete personal information contained within the CRA taxpayer database. Once a week I attended an Oral Interaction retention course in order to maintain and polish my oral competency in French. Because taxpayers did not visit our particular – more... office, the dress code was very relaxed. The office culture was also quite relaxed and the employees a very close-knit group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow
Assessment clerk (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 23, 2014
the clients are the best, always happy to see you
the team is great

the work ho
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada Revenue Agency Review
Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee), Barrie, ONApril 23, 2014
Pros: own cubical, reasonable hours, good pay, freedom
Excellent place to work and gain experience. I got in through the Aboriginal Internship and it was a great learning experience that I will only benefit from. The managers and coworkers are all very friendly and career driven. The hardest part of the job is getting your contract renewed. The most enjoyable part of the job is the awesome work atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Collections Officer (Call Center Agent) (Former Employee), Ottawa OntarioApril 22, 2014
Pros: nature of the job, people i work with
Cons: nature of the job, short breaks
Working at the CRA was a short term contract but I had learned a substantial amount of experience and working knowledge of the Call Centre environment and atmosphere. Working as a collection agent calling individual Canadians who have outstanding accounts.

The hardest part of this job is knowing you are sometime powerless to help the people who you – more... are talking to over the phone in certain issues when your bound by rules and obligations to uphold. When your talking to someone whom can not afford to pay off their debts and have no money to support their kids and put food on the table;
Morality sets in cause its your job to collect as much as possible and to clear as many accounts as you can.

The most enjoyable part of this job for me is knowing that the many people I have contacted and help resolved their debt issue and able to help them fine a resolutions makes it every bit rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring place. great job security and great pay
customer service rep (Former Employee), north yorkApril 20, 2014
great pay. great benefits. very relaxed environment. boring place. great job security and great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Example of Work Life Balance in a Stressful Environment
Taxpayer Services Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 23, 2014
Pros: on the job activities during work hours are excellent; 24-hour access to professional services.
Cons: no job security: employment contract-based.
Excellent example of an employer dealing with work life balance. A call centre is a very stressful environment and the CRA provides all kinds of activities to break up the monotony and stresses of the job: some are off-the-wall but fun. There is also 24-hour access to all kinds of professional advice.The diversity in the workplace makes for an interesting – more... and enjoyable work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Income Tax Represenataive (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 25, 2014
The work day starts form 9:00 am to 5pm. I love the environment. People are very friendly and always willing to help on matters that you are not aware of ,for example, new implement tax policies. Moreover, i got the opportunity to learn and use new tax soft-wares, how to deal with more technical tax issues such as, RRSP, and Business Income.The hardest – more... part of the job is how attention to detail you have to be over long periods of time ,but meeting new people was very rewarding which made my stay there very enjoyable! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work.
Acting Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 15, 2014
Nice place to work with advancement including training needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 10, 2014
Clearly defined duties.
Help available if needed.
Positive work environment

1 2 3 4 5