Find companies:
Canada Post
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Canada Post Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
RSMC Employee (Rural and Suburban mail carrier) (Current Employee), Woodlawn/DunrobinAugust 1, 2013
My job is actually quite enjoyable. I work in the office sorting mail and getting my parcels ready for delivery and also work with a great bunch of people. There are 10 of us in total. The hardest part of my job used to be the extreme weather conditions but after 11 years I am quite used to it. I also get to go out in the afternoons to deliver in my – more... right hand drive vehicle and that breaks up your day quite nicely. Overall I enjoy my job and to be honest I good at it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exercise!
Letter Carrier (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 29, 2013
Pros: exercise
Cons: no hours
Delivery of daily mail and parcels to homes and business'. The management is good. As long as you give them respect they give it back. Co-worker are good some of them are not happy but not everyone is always happy. The hardest part is I am a casual and haven't worked at all this year. I am looking to get a job where I can work and advance. Don't feel – more... very good about my future right now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits package and culturally aware.
Mail Clerk (Full-Time) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 17, 2013
Pros: corporate events and highlight on family matters
Cons: monotonous work
Learned about Union-related isuses, working as a team and also dependently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada Post should recognize its employees
Letter Carrier Casual (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONJuly 11, 2013
Pros: co-workers, customers
Cons: little to no appreciation
Canada Post is an iconic corporation. however I feel that the corporation forgets about the workers that make Canada Post what it is today. The retail staff bring the revenue in, the clerks distribute the mail and parcels, the carriers deliver the mail and the parcels...I believe the people at the top forget who really does the work to maintain their – more... job security while the people at the bottom have little to no job security.
I love my job at Canada Post I enjoy working with my co-workers, and serving the public. I work hard at my job its just a shame that Canada Post fails to acknowledge the hard work and dedication we have towards our job...The thanks we get is the corporation minimizing the corporate offices, which equals more loss of jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Letter Carrier (Current Employee), toronto, ontarioJuly 10, 2013
Pros: wages
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work you show up on time sort your mail and parcels. Once final draw is called out you may load your vehicles and start delivering until you finish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and People
Postal Clerk (Former Employee), St.Laurent, QuebecJune 29, 2013
Pros: great pay with great benefits
Cons: too much taxes
After working at Nortel # 1 , Canada Post is my second best place to work, close to home, easy to get home.Place mail in cages for destnations of mail, Canada, US and International. The Managers I had were great people. Heavey work but fun, people are great, too far to get to work place from parking lot, but good wam - up before work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Job -
Officer Delivery Planning (Current Employee), Moncton, New BrunswickJune 28, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: extensive overnight travel from monday to friday
During the past 5 years, got to see so many back roads of New Brunswick that I would never have had the chance to drive on without this job.
The hardest part of the job was finding potential areas for new community mailboxes. The standards to which we need to adhere are very tight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting mix of people and jobs giving one a curious work day.
Retired Canada Post clerk (Former Employee), London, ONJune 24, 2013
Pros: good health benifits.good holiday and vacation time off.
Cons: lack of consideration and of appreciation for a job well done.
Arrange and sort incoming mail for businesses.Sell postoffice related products to the public,handout and receive mail.Because of the working environment(bureaucracy) Ihave a good insight into how government and its workforce function.The hardest part of the job was having to work with people that would have never kept their jobs if this wasn,t a government – more... job.The most enjoyable part of the job was working with all sorts of people and situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good company to work for. New to learn everyday at work.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), London, ONJune 20, 2013
Its good company to work. Great work enviroment. Very Friendly and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Term forever
Delivery Agent (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 5, 2013
Pros: okay pay and clothing provided after 480 hours
Cons: too many to list, run away from this company
Overworked, no breaks, extremely negative environment. You will work as a term forever, their never going to hire Part time or Full time ever again which means 1 day you'll work next you might not, I personally have been a term for 2 years working a 3 hour commute from home. Oh ya no benefits or vacation and you have to pay into the union that does – more... everything to screw the terms and kiss the full timers butts. – less

– July 14, 2013

Um, actually the union has done much for terms. It used to be that terms were hired for a specific term no longer than 6 months and had to sign a new agreement upon expiry at the employer's discretion. They had no benefits, vacation pay, severance or seniority rights. Over the years CUPW fought, despite the fact that they disagree with terms on principle, to get terms uniforms, 4% of pay in lieu of benefits, 6% vacation pay, permanent employee status (no more term contracts) and seniority bidding rights on assignments. You are right it is a tough place to work right now, but if you invest a little time, not just your money, in the union perhaps it will get better. Though you are talking about an employer who doesn't even see the need for fire pull stations in their new buildings.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced friendly work environment
Post Office Clerk (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 3, 2013
Customer service oriented, Extensive parcel and letter handling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CPC review
Collection & Delivery (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 29, 2013
Pros: benefits pension
Cons: advancement opportunities
Great hours, good wage, great benefits & pension.
Few opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Security
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Mississuaga ONMay 24, 2013
Pros: paid for lunch time.
Cons: short hours
Canada post is a good place to work if there would be stability in the job. CPC hires individuals as an on-call at the beginning. This means after one gets hired, should sit on the bench for an unknown amount of time until he/she receives a call to go for a piece of work and sit back on the bench and waits for another call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional company
Assistant (Former Employee), BramptonMay 23, 2013
Everyday had new challenges, prepare the office for our clients and their requirements, learned that every client will presents us with a new situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, but very unorganzied, and stressful
Mail Carrier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 23, 2013
Typical day at work would be sorting mail, then delivering mail to appropriate addresses. Best co-workers I have ever had the pleasure of working with.
Most enjoyable part of the job were the hours, being done work at noon each day allowed me to focus on other professional endeavors. However, the lack of professionalism with management, and extremely – more... unorganized way the company was run made it very stressful to deal with. Having constant issues with pay, either not getting paid for work performed, or just having it be incorrect was not acceptable to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with great people, enjoy it a lot
RSMC contractor (Current Employee), amherstburg, ontarioMay 13, 2013
Pros: independence, weekends off, good amount of physical labor
Cons: heavy rain days require multiple changes of clothes
i rather enjoy my job at Canada Post as an RSMC. I get to interact with friendly people both in the office and out on route. I have learned a great deal about organization as well as improved my driving skills. though i also work well in a team environment, i enjoy the more or less independence i have as an RSMC knowing the support is there if i need – more... it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with great people, enjoy it a lot
RSMC contractor (Current Employee), amherstburg, ontarioMay 13, 2013
Pros: independence, weekends off, good amount of physical labor
Cons: heavy rain days require multiple changes of clothes
i rather enjoy my job at Canada Post as an RSMC. I get to interact with friendly people both in the office and out on route. I have learned a great deal about organization as well as improved my driving skills. though i also work well in a team environment, i enjoy the more or less independence i have as an RSMC knowing the support is there if i need – more... it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people.
RSMC (Former Employee), BramptonMay 3, 2013
RSMC position is not like most at CP. Pay is low and essentially a contract. Great people, but hard to make a living at it. Using your own car adds to the expenses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
mobile letter carrier (Current Employee), Markham, ONApril 28, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: annoyed at complain from fellow workers
Find a job that you like and you never have to work a day in your life.This is my motto. Working makes me useful to society.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and productive, atmosphere.
Mail service courier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 23, 2013
Delivered between 80-100 parcels daily, 80% singular deliveries. Responsible for a range of 15-30 parcel pickups daily. All done independently.

About Canada Post

Canada Post Corporation, known more simply as Canada Post, is the Canadian crown corporation which functions as the country's – Read more