Canada Post Employee Reviews

Found 770 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail
Agent à la clientèle commerciale (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 March 2017
Il s’agit d’une expérience enrichissante dans le domaine du service a la clientèle. Cela dit, vu ma formation et mon degrés d’implication je ne pourrais pas évoluer d’avantage au sein de cette compagnie. Je suis apprécié par la qualité de travail que je fourni. Mais l’opportunité d’évoluer est restreinte pour ce poste.
Pros
Bonne entente avec mes collègues
Cons
pas d'evolution
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked christmas help
Organic Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC16 March 2017
great place to work I worked here for Christmas help during the holiday season was very busy . I would recommend for anyone to go work for Canada post great staff .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment
Mail Delivery Agent (Casual Employee) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON15 March 2017
Physically demanding work environment. Most of the time you will be working outdoors interacting with customers while delivering their mail or parcels. If you enjoy walking and being outdoors in any weather condition then this is really an excellent place to work.
Pros
Fast Paced, Time management
Cons
Long Hours, outdoors in any type of weather condition
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
postal worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 March 2017
Very little supervision. Extremely hard place to advance in the field. No benefits or set work schedule for part time employees. Very political place to work, making it somewhat unejoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bien mais pourrait etre beaucoup mieux
Montréal, QC (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 March 2017
Poste canada est une très grosse entreprise, trop grosse je dirai. Nous somme traité comme des numéros peux importe ton ancienneté.
Pros
Consolide bien travail/famille
Cons
Management laisse a désiré
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Service
Electronics Specialist - Systems Technician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC10 March 2017
Work load or work order could be light or could be heavy depending what broke down or if parts are available.
Preventive and corrective maintenance task are scheduled sometimes with more than enough personnel or not enough work order.

Management is well rather slow to change or hampered by communication from head office to individual processing plant. Local technical service manager seems to luck people oriented rapport or team building enthusiasm and appears not to have a feel for the job.
Workplace could be fun but lack a driven attitude. The manager projects a non-driven attitude. It is possible the manager is rather slow to adapt to the new environment or overwhelmed with the work.
Advancement of technician is based on seniority, passing a written exam and passing an interview on most cases. The odd time an oral exam could be done by the manager.

CEO and Union not on the same page.
To add a revenue stream by offering a banking service, CEO does not approve of it despite the examples of other countries making it a successful form of customer service and a new source of revenue.
CEO too adversarial and would rather reduced employees benefits and needs and advancement to collect his ample bonuses.
The current government of Canada would be glad to terminate this CEO once his contract expired or bought out. CEO more inclined to privatized CPC and sold it for example to Pit Bows, Fedex or UPS or DHL etc.

CPC is a public service and should remain under Canadian government. Future privatisation schemes are in the works behind the scene to reduce employees and break
  more... the union.  less
Pros
New plant, good vacation
Cons
Poor management enthusiasm of technician
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2017
Very face paced work environtment. everyone works in their own corner. Early mornings from 3 am to later. Finish work depending on how fast you work. Great place if you want you still salary.
Pros
working on your own
Cons
Fast paced, noisy
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crown Corp survives to fight another day
Manager, International Business Development (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2017
During my time there, CPC was going through a period of transition while the mail business was in decline.

They attempted some innovative programs (my involvement while there) however couldn't fully commit and allow the innovators to thrive in bureaucratically laden environment.

Things are better there now, parcel volume is up, leaner management and some progressive programs look to be working.
Pros
Good Sales people
Cons
Sales Managers, not sales leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Town Post Office
Post Master (Former Employee) –  Delia, AB1 March 2017
I really enjoyed the work I did and the people I worked with at Canada Post. The equipment is nor very current however and I do find some of the policies strange.
I found the training course very extensive and worthwhile however the way it is presented and the time you have to complete the training was abit difficult to retain and reproduce on short notice.( Maybe allowing some roll playing with the environment and computer system would be help full.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Old Equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving around the countryside
Rural Service Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Kingman, AB28 February 2017
A typical day at work began with: help unload the mail, sort and box for delivery. Deliver to school, town, and rural farms. Pick up mail at designated stops, return to base and unload mail.
Took required courses for driver safety and irate customer handling, dog awareness, and general safety.
Great coworker, and management not on site. Safety is stressed.
The hardest part was finding people to deliver to for signed parcels on farms in the spring.
The best part was driving around the countryside, seeing the wildlife and the seasons change, with great photo opportunities.
Pros
no weekends, great hours.
Cons
Hours can get long at christmas rush. Routes can be cut.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Postal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB23 February 2017
The pay is good but there is no job security since they dont do permanent anymore only casuals. The hours could be so early during christmas time
Pros
no job security
Cons
good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job, only wish it had of lasted longer
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2017
I really enjoyed my work with Canada post, The staff was excellent to work with and really enjoyed the atmosphere. I only wish it hadn't been a short term contract.
Pros
fair wage
Cons
walking distance to job station
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with table tennis table
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  wonderland23 February 2017
I wish I could be accepted to work there and be able to lift my career could have been better for my future and more salery.
hope for the better
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Gym Required
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON18 February 2017
Fun place to work at the different Depots you can be assigned to but being a Temp-Part time letter carrier hours of work vary significantly from week to week.
Pros
You can maintain a good level of fitness
Cons
Inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy enviroment with chances to advance. Not to mention great money to provide for yourself and your family.
Mail Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 February 2017
I loved my job so much, I stayed 15 years. I made lots of lasting friendships with co-workers and supervisors.

My jobs over the years went from dealing with mail on it's way out of the building, to receiving them as soon as they arrive.
Pros
Long breaks and or lunches during special times during the years.
Cons
Can be stressful as a delay of the mail in any way, can result in an immediate suspension. Which I understand. Going on strike, which is something so employee wants to do for financial reasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Coordinator, PDT Deployment (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
Great workplace. Had the opportunity to meet some amazing people. The tasks were challenging but I loved it because it kept me on my toes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the early AM start time
Letter carrier/courier (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC14 February 2017
Had a good career working for Canada Post. Started as a letter carrier for about 8 yrs.,then a courier, and finished as a letter carrier. A typical day was to sort,organize, and deliver all mail and parcels.
Pros
If you finished early you could go home, incentive to work efficently
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate environment with a good future
MCSC 5-ton Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
I liked working here because of the security and the work environment. Management was good. my typical day consisted of driving from point A to B usually more then one stop
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unpleasant place to work
letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  BC9 February 2017
No regard for work/life balance. poorly managed. very little respect for personal safety, supervisors generally have little or no understanding of the jobs they supervise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 February 2017
they have a respectful staff, everyone is respectful and helpful. The staff are always smiling and happy and also seem to be in a good mood. Overall satisfied with my experience
Pros
respectful
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Post. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 783 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5