Find companies:
Canada Post
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
142 reviews

Canada Post Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Job -
Officer Delivery Planning (Current Employee), Moncton, New BrunswickJune 28, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: extensive overnight travel from monday to friday
During the past 5 years, got to see so many back roads of New Brunswick that I would never have had the chance to drive on without this job.
The hardest part of the job was finding potential areas for new community mailboxes. The standards to which we need to adhere are very tight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting mix of people and jobs giving one a curious work day.
Retired Canada Post clerk (Former Employee), London, ONJune 24, 2013
Pros: good health benifits.good holiday and vacation time off.
Cons: lack of consideration and of appreciation for a job well done.
Arrange and sort incoming mail for businesses.Sell postoffice related products to the public,handout and receive mail.Because of the working environment(bureaucracy) Ihave a good insight into how government and its workforce function.The hardest part of the job was having to work with people that would have never kept their jobs if this wasn,t a government – more... job.The most enjoyable part of the job was working with all sorts of people and situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good company to work for. New to learn everyday at work.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), London, ONJune 20, 2013
Its good company to work. Great work enviroment. Very Friendly and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Term forever
Delivery Agent (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 5, 2013
Pros: okay pay and clothing provided after 480 hours
Cons: too many to list, run away from this company
Overworked, no breaks, extremely negative environment. You will work as a term forever, their never going to hire Part time or Full time ever again which means 1 day you'll work next you might not, I personally have been a term for 2 years working a 3 hour commute from home. Oh ya no benefits or vacation and you have to pay into the union that does – more... everything to screw the terms and kiss the full timers butts. – less

– July 14, 2013

Um, actually the union has done much for terms. It used to be that terms were hired for a specific term no longer than 6 months and had to sign a new agreement upon expiry at the employer's discretion. They had no benefits, vacation pay, severance or seniority rights. Over the years CUPW fought, despite the fact that they disagree with terms on principle, to get terms uniforms, 4% of pay in lieu of benefits, 6% vacation pay, permanent employee status (no more term contracts) and seniority bidding rights on assignments. You are right it is a tough place to work right now, but if you invest a little time, not just your money, in the union perhaps it will get better. Though you are talking about an employer who doesn't even see the need for fire pull stations in their new buildings.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced friendly work environment
Post Office Clerk (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 3, 2013
Customer service oriented, Extensive parcel and letter handling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CPC review
Collection & Delivery (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 29, 2013
Pros: benefits pension
Cons: advancement opportunities
Great hours, good wage, great benefits & pension.
Few opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Security
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Mississuaga ONMay 24, 2013
Pros: paid for lunch time.
Cons: short hours
Canada post is a good place to work if there would be stability in the job. CPC hires individuals as an on-call at the beginning. This means after one gets hired, should sit on the bench for an unknown amount of time until he/she receives a call to go for a piece of work and sit back on the bench and waits for another call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional company
Assistant (Former Employee), BramptonMay 23, 2013
Everyday had new challenges, prepare the office for our clients and their requirements, learned that every client will presents us with a new situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, but very unorganzied, and stressful
Mail Carrier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 23, 2013
Typical day at work would be sorting mail, then delivering mail to appropriate addresses. Best co-workers I have ever had the pleasure of working with.
Most enjoyable part of the job were the hours, being done work at noon each day allowed me to focus on other professional endeavors. However, the lack of professionalism with management, and extremely – more... unorganized way the company was run made it very stressful to deal with. Having constant issues with pay, either not getting paid for work performed, or just having it be incorrect was not acceptable to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with great people, enjoy it a lot
RSMC contractor (Current Employee), amherstburg, ontarioMay 13, 2013
Pros: independence, weekends off, good amount of physical labor
Cons: heavy rain days require multiple changes of clothes
i rather enjoy my job at Canada Post as an RSMC. I get to interact with friendly people both in the office and out on route. I have learned a great deal about organization as well as improved my driving skills. though i also work well in a team environment, i enjoy the more or less independence i have as an RSMC knowing the support is there if i need – more... it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with great people, enjoy it a lot
RSMC contractor (Current Employee), amherstburg, ontarioMay 13, 2013
Pros: independence, weekends off, good amount of physical labor
Cons: heavy rain days require multiple changes of clothes
i rather enjoy my job at Canada Post as an RSMC. I get to interact with friendly people both in the office and out on route. I have learned a great deal about organization as well as improved my driving skills. though i also work well in a team environment, i enjoy the more or less independence i have as an RSMC knowing the support is there if i need – more... it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people.
RSMC (Former Employee), BramptonMay 3, 2013
RSMC position is not like most at CP. Pay is low and essentially a contract. Great people, but hard to make a living at it. Using your own car adds to the expenses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
mobile letter carrier (Current Employee), Markham, ONApril 28, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: annoyed at complain from fellow workers
Find a job that you like and you never have to work a day in your life.This is my motto. Working makes me useful to society.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and productive, atmosphere.
Mail service courier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 23, 2013
Delivered between 80-100 parcels daily, 80% singular deliveries. Responsible for a range of 15-30 parcel pickups daily. All done independently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Letter Carrier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 22, 2013
Excellent place to work.
Great workout.rewarding.
Sort and Deliver mail and parcels.
Deal with customers in a professional manner.
Work without supervision and with others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to work for this company.
Postal Worker (Current Employee), Richmond, BCApril 9, 2013
I have been working for this company for over 14 years now. Its wonderful place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This work is laid back and relaxing. Have to be able to read addresses for proper delivery
Casual Part-time (Current Employee), Leamington, ONApril 8, 2013
Pros: being a canada post employee is knowing you are trusted and honest person.
Cons: just on call and they hardly need me. maybe for a few hours every other mouth
This work is just a on call basics, I assist mail delivery to put mail in rural mailboxes in the county. I learned the driving routes. The management is very well run. The co-workers are very friendly. The hardest part of this job is reaching for some mailboxes which are to high. The most enjoyable part is being out and driving around the county and – more... my work partner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work atmosphere,
Postmaster (Current Employee), Maidstone OntarioApril 4, 2013
Pros: great hours in retail outlets
Cons: different unions depending on what type of outlet you work in
I am a postmaster in a rural office in Ontario. This has been by far the most rewarding job I have ever had. I enjoy working with the public every day, and helping them find the right solutions for their mailing needs. I have been with Canada Post for 16 years performing different jobs from retail clerk to supervising. I am thankful for the rate of – more... pay I receive and the excellent benefits. I have a wonderful staff that I work with daily, and my immediate management team always have been fair, helpful and very supportive.

I am thankful for my job and enjoy going into work every day!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviroment includes a gym, basketball court, squash court, table tennis and billard tables
Postal Mail Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 1, 2013
Pros: casual work enviroment
Cons: over night shift
Handling daily letter mail sorted via multi-line machine or manual sorting
Operating manual forklift when required
Ability to lift up to 50 lbs when required
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small team and I love working with my team mates!
Put mail in mail boxes, delivered mail on my own. (Former Employee), Tehkummah, ONMarch 30, 2013
Pros: having a job
Cons: bad weather
I enjoyed the work, the people and my team mates. A typical day working with my partner delivering the mail was usually filled with laughter. I learned there is alot more to doing the mail than just sticking it in mail boxes, there is a lot of responsibilities that go hand in hand with the job.
You deal with cross dogs, cross people sometimes, all kinds – more... of weather including blizzards. – less

About Canada Post

Canada Post Corporation, known more simply as Canada Post, is the Canadian crown corporation which functions as the country's – Read more

Canada Post Photos