Canada Post Employee Reviews

Found 758 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time TEMP
Letter Carrier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2017
Nice job but have to be well fit to do letter carrier position. Be prepared for strains and injury. Nice working outdoors. You have to work in all weather conditions.
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There to long
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON30 March 2017
I dislike every thing about Canada Post from hours of work no pay from being just a number
never appreciated ever for good work done
no bonus ever
treated like a slave
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too hard to get full time work.
Factrice (Current Employee) –  Chelsea, QC30 March 2017
Pay is great IF you can get a fulltime job. Been trying for 5 years now. I have been working on call for 5 years, and haven't been able to secure a fulltime job because my car is "technically" not big enough, but "literally" I can do the job with the smaller car. frustrating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, positive work environment
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2017
Canada Post provided me job security, benefits and a good salary to support my growing family. It made me a driven and hard working team player, with extensive experience in public relations and customer service. Created opportunities for me to interact with the public, meet new people and new friends.
Pros
Build long-lasting friendships, job security, benefits and good salary.
Cons
At times could be a lot of heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and often not enough hours to accomplish all duties that are required.
Depot Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 March 2017
Canada Post offers a great benefits and pension package. Salaries at Canada Post are also very competitive. The job as a depot Supervisor is one of the busiest and most stressful jobs within the corporation as they are sandwiched between a unionized force and upper management--each seemingly with their own agenda at times.

However, in saying all of that, if you are able to find that happy medium, this job can actually be very fulfilling and obviously provides very comfortably financially.
Pros
Pay, benefits, pension
Cons
stressful, over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with amazing coworkers.
Postal Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 March 2017
Great people and atmosphere. Everyone there was helpful and willing to help you grow and learn as fast as possible. The management team demonstrates what teamwork means.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
Facteur (Former Employee) –  Dorion, QC20 March 2017
C'est un travail que j'ai vraiment apprécier,marcher dans les cartier, profiter du bonne air et voir le sourire dans le visage des gens, me fais très plaisir.
Pros
Faire de l'exercice à tout les jours. (Grande marche)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acidic work environment
postal clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC17 March 2017
I worked for Canada Post for over 28 years. The whole time I was employed there, there a very divisive work environment. Most managers hired had no management experience no postal experience. I left Canada Post before the age of retirement because my wife and I had finished paying for our house, so I am now living on a penalized reduced pension. Its not a work environment that even a casual employee enjoys.
Pros
Medical, Dental, Pension
Cons
Poor working relationship
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail
Agent à la clientèle commerciale (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 March 2017
Il s’agit d’une expérience enrichissante dans le domaine du service a la clientèle. Cela dit, vu ma formation et mon degrés d’implication je ne pourrais pas évoluer d’avantage au sein de cette compagnie. Je suis apprécié par la qualité de travail que je fourni. Mais l’opportunité d’évoluer est restreinte pour ce poste.
Pros
Bonne entente avec mes collègues
Cons
pas d'evolution
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked christmas help
Organic Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC16 March 2017
great place to work I worked here for Christmas help during the holiday season was very busy . I would recommend for anyone to go work for Canada post great staff .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment
Mail Delivery Agent (Casual Employee) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON15 March 2017
Physically demanding work environment. Most of the time you will be working outdoors interacting with customers while delivering their mail or parcels. If you enjoy walking and being outdoors in any weather condition then this is really an excellent place to work.
Pros
Fast Paced, Time management
Cons
Long Hours, outdoors in any type of weather condition
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
postal worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 March 2017
Very little supervision. Extremely hard place to advance in the field. No benefits or set work schedule for part time employees. Very political place to work, making it somewhat unejoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bien mais pourrait etre beaucoup mieux
Montréal, QC (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 March 2017
Poste canada est une très grosse entreprise, trop grosse je dirai. Nous somme traité comme des numéros peux importe ton ancienneté.
Pros
Consolide bien travail/famille
Cons
Management laisse a désiré
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Service
Electronics Specialist - Systems Technician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC10 March 2017
Work load or work order could be light or could be heavy depending what broke down or if parts are available.
Preventive and corrective maintenance task are scheduled sometimes with more than enough personnel or not enough work order.

Management is well rather slow to change or hampered by communication from head office to individual processing plant. Local technical service manager seems to luck people oriented rapport or team building enthusiasm and appears not to have a feel for the job.
Workplace could be fun but lack a driven attitude. The manager projects a non-driven attitude. It is possible the manager is rather slow to adapt to the new environment or overwhelmed with the work.
Advancement of technician is based on seniority, passing a written exam and passing an interview on most cases. The odd time an oral exam could be done by the manager.

CEO and Union not on the same page.
To add a revenue stream by offering a banking service, CEO does not approve of it despite the examples of other countries making it a successful form of customer service and a new source of revenue.
CEO too adversarial and would rather reduced employees benefits and needs and advancement to collect his ample bonuses.
The current government of Canada would be glad to terminate this CEO once his contract expired or bought out. CEO more inclined to privatized CPC and sold it for example to Pit Bows, Fedex or UPS or DHL etc.

CPC is a public service and should remain under Canadian government. Future privatisation schemes are in the works behind the scene to reduce employees and break
  more... the union.  less
Pros
New plant, good vacation
Cons
Poor management enthusiasm of technician
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2017
Very face paced work environtment. everyone works in their own corner. Early mornings from 3 am to later. Finish work depending on how fast you work. Great place if you want you still salary.
Pros
working on your own
Cons
Fast paced, noisy
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crown Corp survives to fight another day
Manager, International Business Development (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2017
During my time there, CPC was going through a period of transition while the mail business was in decline.

They attempted some innovative programs (my involvement while there) however couldn't fully commit and allow the innovators to thrive in bureaucratically laden environment.

Things are better there now, parcel volume is up, leaner management and some progressive programs look to be working.
Pros
Good Sales people
Cons
Sales Managers, not sales leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Town Post Office
Post Master (Former Employee) –  Delia, AB1 March 2017
I really enjoyed the work I did and the people I worked with at Canada Post. The equipment is nor very current however and I do find some of the policies strange.
I found the training course very extensive and worthwhile however the way it is presented and the time you have to complete the training was abit difficult to retain and reproduce on short notice.( Maybe allowing some roll playing with the environment and computer system would be help full.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Old Equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving around the countryside
Rural Service Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Kingman, AB28 February 2017
A typical day at work began with: help unload the mail, sort and box for delivery. Deliver to school, town, and rural farms. Pick up mail at designated stops, return to base and unload mail.
Took required courses for driver safety and irate customer handling, dog awareness, and general safety.
Great coworker, and management not on site. Safety is stressed.
The hardest part was finding people to deliver to for signed parcels on farms in the spring.
The best part was driving around the countryside, seeing the wildlife and the seasons change, with great photo opportunities.
Pros
no weekends, great hours.
Cons
Hours can get long at christmas rush. Routes can be cut.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Postal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB23 February 2017
The pay is good but there is no job security since they dont do permanent anymore only casuals. The hours could be so early during christmas time
Pros
no job security
Cons
good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job, only wish it had of lasted longer
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2017
I really enjoyed my work with Canada post, The staff was excellent to work with and really enjoyed the atmosphere. I only wish it hadn't been a short term contract.
Pros
fair wage
Cons
walking distance to job station
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Post. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 770 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5