Canada Post Employee Reviews

Found 786 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay.
Pensions Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 May 2017
I had various roles here. Mostly involving the phone or computer. Hardest part is the boredom as everything is repetitive. Really did enjoy when I worked at the plant sorting and counting mail, much better than the office!
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
LETTER CARRIER (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2017
it is a good place to work, fun environment. Friendly people. It's nice to work outdoors and enjoy the weather while I work. Over all a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead-end casual employment
Post Office Retail Clerk (Current Employee) –  Emeryville, ON1 May 2017
Worked in retail offices for the past five years. Started off with fairly regular hours, now I have not worked in months. Whenever the opportunity to secure a part time job comes up, the position is downsized or the hours are greatly reduced (15 hours per week to 4 hours per week). The pay is reasonable, but what good is a wage when you don't get any hours?
Pros
Good pay and benefits (if part time or full time with more than 15 hours per week, Many employees are very nice to work with
Cons
Very few hours, next to no chance of a permanent position/advancement; often very stressful, difficult to work alone during busy periods, difficult to work in so many different offices, asked to work one hour shifts, management is often clueless about the various offices and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Janitor/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador1 May 2017
Very good people to work for. Safety was everyone's responsibility.
WHIMS was a must . Doing a good quality job was always recognized. There was never any rush . Positive Attitude portrayed always . A no. 1 atmosphere .
Pros
n/a
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembly
General labourer (Former Employee) –  credit view26 April 2017
mt job was to put the decals on the boxes and to but keys,locks and to scan and to make you box is set for right destination. i worked for 330 to 1130
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Letter Carrier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 April 2017
Other than being on call casual its ok. i believe they would have a better employee if they hired permanent. The work is very physical and draining. i strongly suggest you be in shape or you will suffer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to start at entry position and continue further as per ones goals
Deliver Driver (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON25 April 2017
A great place to experience the real time challenges and at the same time to gain the experience and set ones goals . It all depends on the person to person.
Pros
Average Pay
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON24 April 2017
It was a very nice place to work and I loved the people and experiences I had there. I have moved on to other things but I will always remember my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
À cette époque on effectuait des changements à Poste canada
Postière (Former Employee) –  Saint-Ambroise-de-Kildare, QC23 April 2017
À l'époque Poste Canada donnait à contrat les secteurs ruraux , d'une place à l'autre le travail bien que semblable pouvais laisser à désirer dans certains bureaux gérer par un paroissien moins discipliner....Mais généralement les maitres postes faisait bien leur travail.
Pros
Travail sur la route
Cons
Tension entre les facteurs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance poorly run
Mam10 Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 April 2017
From a skilled trades/maintenance perspective Canada Post is one of the most poorly run organizations I have worked for. The skills of coworkers are all over the map from excellent to pathetic. This I believe is due to the fact that many who work in maintenance have no formalized or accredited training ( licenses ) with most being former letter carriers. Production skilled trades are constantly being given work that is more related to house keeping than it is trades work such as vacuuming, dusting and changing forklift batteries.
The wages for trades are below industry standards and the benefits aren't a whole lot better. New employees have to contribute to the pension plan which runs about $380.00 /month.
Training on equipment unique to the mail sorting business is very sporadic and seems to be handed out in a preferential way.
The people in trades who are competent in their work are helpful and informative.
Maintenance management are constantly changing and have variable ability to manage skilled trades. Maintenance management gets little or no support from upper management.
The best thing that can be said is that the employment is stable.
Pros
Stable employment
Cons
maintenance poorly run.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with advancement opportunity
supintendent (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NB21 April 2017
Looking for part time work in the Bathurst area, reliable ,trust worthy
I was allowed to advance with Canada Post, it was a great place to work to raise a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work ethic
Letter carrier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON20 April 2017
I found my 5 years at Canada Post was very stressful when one week you work 60 hours and then you could be off for 2 to 3 weeks with no work. Always waiting for a call, and no benefits at all.
Pros
money and able to be outside working on your own.
Cons
work availabe, very limited hours and no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Postal Clerk (Current Employee) –  Post, CA19 April 2017
Productive working environment. Learned about mails and parcels processing.Management is good. Its a very cultural work place. Heavy parcels. Meeting people of several types of nationality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to b
Post master assistant level 2 (Former Employee) –  Gillam, MB17 April 2017
Was an excellent place to work answered learning was an everyday thing and it was exciting to be apart of Canada Post. I found the union was very helpful at the end of my term.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
My post master, at that time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 April 2017
Nice atmosphere, lots of diverse people, be your own boss by working independently, most people enjoy helping each other to get out on the street as quickly as possible
Pros
working independently
Cons
sorting mail can drag at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative work environmetn
Area Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 April 2017
Negative work environment. Letter Carriers against supervisor.

High paying.

You are just a number. There is no room for advancement unless you are a pet.
Pros
salary, free lunch ect
Cons
environment, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
a junior management position (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2017
Started working at Canada Post on a contract basis and then hired full-time. I was able to gain a lot of experience while there. Co-workers and most management were a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work; colleagues were great/team!
DELIVERY AGENT (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON10 April 2017
The environment used to be stress free but now it has become more demanding and stressful in expectations. Someone in a higher seniority that has grown with the company it'll be a great place to work; new employees will be a lot more stress and pressure to do their job with little security.
Pros
Great work environment!
Cons
Management!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada Post
Superintendent Collection and Delivery (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON10 April 2017
Canada Post is moving ahead. The company is putting the correct measures in place to ensure competitiveness in the future. The introduction of new technology has galvanized a promising future for the Crown Corporation.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peut être un point d'entrée à postes Canda
Aide gérants, élevage de poulets ''broiler (Former Employee) –  St.-Hyacinthe, QC7 April 2017
Bonne esprit d'équipe, attitude professionnelle et compétitive.
Pros
Encadrement adéquat
Cons
frais d'engagement ne justifie le retour sur investissement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canada Post. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 799 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5