Canada Post Employee Reviews

Found 668 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Gym Required
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON18 February 2017
Fun place to work at the different Depots you can be assigned to but being a Temp-Part time letter carrier hours of work vary significantly from week to week.
Pros
You can maintain a good level of fitness
Cons
Inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy enviroment with chances to advance. Not to mention great money to provide for yourself and your family.
Mail Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 February 2017
I loved my job so much, I stayed 15 years. I made lots of lasting friendships with co-workers and supervisors.

My jobs over the years went from dealing with mail on it's way out of the building, to receiving them as soon as they arrive.
Pros
Long breaks and or lunches during special times during the years.
Cons
Can be stressful as a delay of the mail in any way, can result in an immediate suspension. Which I understand. Going on strike, which is something so employee wants to do for financial reasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Coordinator, PDT Deployment (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
Great workplace. Had the opportunity to meet some amazing people. The tasks were challenging but I loved it because it kept me on my toes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the early AM start time
Letter carrier/courier (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC14 February 2017
Had a good career working for Canada Post. Started as a letter carrier for about 8 yrs.,then a courier, and finished as a letter carrier. A typical day was to sort,organize, and deliver all mail and parcels.
Pros
If you finished early you could go home, incentive to work efficently
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate environment with a good future
MCSC 5-ton Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
I liked working here because of the security and the work environment. Management was good. my typical day consisted of driving from point A to B usually more then one stop
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 February 2017
they have a respectful staff, everyone is respectful and helpful. The staff are always smiling and happy and also seem to be in a good mood. Overall satisfied with my experience
Pros
respectful
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hard working people that care about their customers
35 years Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 February 2017
The problem with Canada Post is this
Management are people from outside the Post Office
They only care about profits not service not employees
The union only cares about the unions power and union dues
Pros
Perfect for people that enjoy working outside independently
Cons
You must enjoy early hours and some long days
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting time to be involved, as postal codes were being introducted
media and public relations (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 February 2017
This job offered the opportunity to show people how postal codes could provide a more efficient and effective means of communication. And it offered the opportunity to help people learn ways to remember their postal codes. This was one of the major sticking points when codes were first introduced.
Pros
interesting people, interesting projects
Cons
none, really
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace NOT enough hours
Delivery Person (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 February 2017
It was hard laborious work, with little help in terms of guidance from management. Pay was decent but the hours were very tempermental.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Work
Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 February 2017
I learned a lot about how the post office

Workplace was made up of older people

Environment was stressful

The physical aspect of the job was the most difficult, the weather also effected your work because it involved being outside

The best part of the job is the salary and the benefits

Seniority matters more then quality of work
Pros
Salary
Cons
Hours vary, weather conditions, lots of risks and dangers come with the job, physically exhausting
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
forklift technician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 February 2017
this work place is totally damaging to your mental health and well being similar to being in the military service,the people that work there are basically slaves to the state with a limited view of how a proper social system works
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large
RSMC mail courier (Former Employee) –  Russell, ON6 February 2017
hard outside work
little job satisfaction except for the few customers that apreciated my work
difficult office environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible to my Schedule, independent and attention to detail work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Mount Forest, ON3 February 2017
This is a job that needs to have attention to detail, and make sure you are comfortable driving in all weather conditions. The management and fellow employees are easy to work with and are very helpful when things are confusing or not easily understandable.

The hardest part of this job is learning how each office works and what their little quirks are. Saying that, each office has their own individual persons working there that make it their own work space and it's about accommodating yourself to their surroundings, with everyone having the same outcome of delivering the mail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Volume Counter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2017
I was only a temporary worker there (Volume Count) but the staff and management were all very accomodating and easy to get along with. Everything was organized and follwed a set plan. Very much enjoyed it there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, very busy
rsmc suburban and rural mail carrier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB30 January 2017
organizing mail, preparing packages
learned how to prioritize and work fast
management was good, went through a few managers while I was there.
people I worked with were great
standing on the concrete floor for hours
the people I worked with
Pros
was left alone to work by myself
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Replacement route driver (Current Employee) –  Onoway, AB, Wabamun, AB27 January 2017
Good place to work for
Never had a problem with them paying me
Nice employees, liked the people I worked with
Easy to find a job online
Liked the places I worked at
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Couldn't get a full time route
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a short term job
Volume Counter (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 January 2017
I was supposed to count mail in a mail mans mail frame, most of the days he took so long that I never got to count the mail. I sat there and waited. I basically got paid to do nothing.
Pros
Paid to do nothing
Cons
Sat and waited
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fast Paced Work Place
Depot Support Sortation Clerk (Current Employee) –  Acton, ON26 January 2017
As a sortation clerk my day begins very early in the morning. It is my job to sort all the incoming mail to the appropriate routes at my particular station. I enjoy the fast paced work environment. My current schedule is perfect to allow me to still be available for my children. Great pay and benefits!
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not For Everyone
Rural and Suburban Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 January 2017
Don't always get paid, Lazy Supervisors, lack of communication. Poor training. Lots of complainers, if applying for RSMC keep in mind you get paid 40% less then a letter carrier to do the same job but with your own vehicle. Coworkers are enjoyable for the most part. Union is supportive when it's convenient for them. Benefits are decent.
Pros
Working on own for most of the day
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its hard to get in
5 Ton Driver (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
Good company, good benefits, great pension plan, but the hiring process is weird. Takes a long time to get full time status. High turn over rate.
Pros
great pension
Cons
hard to get in
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 680 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5