Find companies:
Canada Post
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Canada Post Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, but can be difficult.Have tobe on your toes.
contractor (Current Employee), Abbotsford, BCJuly 16, 2014
Pros: its great being outside for most of the day, making your own decisions
Cons: its not so great when it snows or pours rain.
A typical day at work starts around 6:30 with the sortation and organization of the mail and parcels. we get the keys for the community mail recepticals at 8:30. we load our vehicles and head out and deliver to c.m.b.s as well as road side mail boxes. when completed we return the sorting station to return keys and upload any scanned information.The – more... work has slowed down for the contractors {such as myself} to the point of looking for differant employment Its been a fun and interesting job and I hate to see it go,but thats the way corperations are going these days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but the company is to political and the supervisors aren't professional
mail carrier (Current Employee), everywhere on the west side of montrealJuly 16, 2014
Pros: circulars are paid
Cons: forced overtime
- i learned that it pays well but really disorganized company.
-your just a number at post canada.. nobody cares about you besides themselves.. especially when it comes to supervisors… Some do there job properly but some are just there to do there 7am-3pm shift and then leave at the end of the day… Every supervisor
(except a few) are lazy, they don't – more... do there job properly, there miserable.. i might of had a bad experience but the way i see it, if someone needs advice, YOUR ON YOUR OWN..
documents are lost or not sent at the right time and then u look like a liar in the end… nobody ever wants to admit that there wrong or they always point at someone else but themselves..
- Co-workers are fun to work with… you have the few that just don't care but most part, there fun to work with…
- Hardest part of the job is the winter
- The most enjoyable part of the job is that u get to work outdoors and your paid well but money isn't always the best way to go..
- You don't have a full time position until 2years minimum
- Your always on call so you never know if your gonna work or not.. they could call u by day or every thursday.. u gotta be available between 6am-11am incase they call u to go to work.. if they don't then u just wasted your day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once you are out delivering ,you are independent
Letter Carrier (Former Employee), Edmonton AbJuly 15, 2014
Pros: lots of exersize
Cons: bad management, low pay
Start early ,you really need to be fast and efficient at sorting letters and pulling them in order of delivery . Must be in top shape for delivery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exercise
Letter Carrier (Former Employee), Fort McMurray,AB.July 8, 2014
Was good until after the strike. Not sure about now...
Management was coming and going on a regular basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the experience
Part time assistant (Former Employee), Tahsis, BCJune 27, 2014
Great Place to Work, I enjoyed the experience. Job was part time and I moved to Nanaimo, or I would have stayed with it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Postal Clerk (Current Employee), SCLPPJune 20, 2014
The work was repetitive but tolerable. I meeting new people and working with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Permanent
Postal Clerk (Current Employee), Halifax, Nova ScotiaJune 20, 2014
Pros: excellant team work, great supervisors.
Cons: on your feet with steel toes.
This is a great job especially if you're looking to get in better shape. Huge downfall for Temp permanent if you only work one day the union takes about 80% of your earning and you walk away earning less than minimum wage. They collect as if you have worked a full month even if you have only worked 2 days. They charge you a full 30 days rather than – more... taking 1/30th or 2/30ths of your income. Not at all fair and very frustrating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and cooparative people
Postal Clerk-On call casual (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 19, 2014
Good work, good pay, great union. people are very helpful. I don't have much experience working with them but so far all good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place where every employee is treated with fairness and respect
QA Tester for Web and Mobile (contract) (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 19, 2014
At Canada Post, employees get a caring and compassionate work environment - one in which every every employee makes a difference and feels as an invaluable member of the team. Canada Post helps you achieve your full potential and you might find opportunities to develop and expand your career. Like all large organizations, Canada Post is often faced – more... with challenges that require difficult decisions and as an employee you feel invaluable member who makes things happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work out doors
Letter Carrier (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 17, 2014
I dont see a future at Canada Post ,,, they are cutting jobs at a fast pace!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
counter (Former Employee), Prince George, BCJune 13, 2014
counting mail and bubbling cards fun environment to work for co workers were really nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste/Fun
Mail Carrier (Former Employee), Wikwemikong, ONJune 13, 2014
I enjoyed working with my coworkers. It was fast and fun. Hardest part winter driving no matter what the day was like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced day,went by quick
Letter/Parcel sorter (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 10, 2014
Pros: excellent wage
Cons: not enough hours
good place to work, good wage, opportunity for advancement, co-workers always there to help you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Letter carrier
Delivery Agent (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 10, 2014
Pros: great pay, enjoyable labour
Cons: work as a temp for 4-5 years before being hired on.
Sort mail and parcels for street delivery. Use handheld scanner to track parcels. I have learnt how to be efficient in my job. Management makes sure the mail gets out and passes information about changes or safety. My co-workers were mostly helpful when you needed it. The hardest part of the job was working in adverse conditions. The most enjoyable – more... part was keeping physically fit, walking between 5-10 Kms a day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
letter carrier
Letter Carrier (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 6, 2014
Pros: walking
Cons: advancement
I really enjoyed being able to socialize with my co-workers for a few hours at the start of the day (while sorting mail), but then have the few hours by yourself while you were delivering on the street. Even with the extreme weather, I really enjoyed being able to exercise all day long!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started as casual with the hope of being able to secure a regular position, company started eliminating jobs through attrition in favour of casuals
Postal Clerk (Former Employee), Hampton, NBJune 2, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the work
Cons: lack of shifts
short shifts but busy, lots of things get accomplished in a couple hours, loved the fast pace and productivity, management with good, frustrated working with unionized co-workers that slacked off and let the casuals pick up the slack, other that loved the job and hoped that a more permanent position would avail itself but the company is opting to let – more... those positions go to the wayside to attrition and maintain as many casuals as possible, eventually moved from the rural area to seek employment and could no longer maintain my casual position here – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job if you love early mornings
Rural Service Mail Carrier (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PEMay 28, 2014
Pros: great pay and you are on your own on the road
Cons: some days you are out for very long hours and in at very early times
Sort mail for specific route
Learn how to sort and deliver for all Rural routes
Deliver parcels as stated
Collect money, or payments for parcels
Watch for dogs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable and independent work space
RSMC (Former Employee), Canmore, ABMay 19, 2014
My typical day at Canada Post would be arriving at 7am Monday through Friday. Upon arrival I would organize parcels for my route in the order to which I delivered them. Then I would Scan each parcel and upload the information. I would gather the mail allotted for my route and begin the sorting process. Which depending on the day could take up to 3 hours. – more... Once that was completed I would pull my mail in the order of delivery and organized the parcels and mail in my vehicle. I was off to delivery. For the next 3 hours I was delivering mail to community mailboxes as well as businesses. Parcels which required signatures I would deliver to the customer door.

It's a very independent job as I was on my own for the majority of the day. I learned that being organized was very important, it could make or break your day if something happened to be out of place.

The hardest part of the job was the long cold winter and being outside in extreme cold.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work independently and having a mix of fast paced days as well as more relaxed days.

Management was very supportive and very informative on new policies in the ongoing changes that occurred at Canada Post.
My co-workers were a great bunch of people who I enjoyed seeing on a daily basis. Working in such closed quarters we got to know each other very well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone
Mail Service Courier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 15, 2014
Pros: low stress job
Cons: too many politics
Canada Post Gave me the oportunity to learn how to work in union enviroment and how to mangae your time both as an employee and supervisor. I like to make the best of every situtation ato make it benfit my work and me.
Most of my Co'workers were very pleaserable to work with and to be with outside of work.

The hardest part of any job at CPC is the – more... odd hours that you have to work at times.

Being outside in the sun was always my highlight of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Letter Carrier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 13, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: hard on the body feet knees hips back
get up at 5 am go to work pick up 5 to 8 ttubs of letters and 5 magazine tubs .
Go back to your case and sort them to the appropiate address
Then whn its time you collect all your personal contact items to be scanned for the day .
when all clear is called you can start to tear down your case in the route of travel and put them in bags to be delivered.
Go – more... out and start your delivery . this can take you up to 8 hours if not longer walking up and down driveways and up steps. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Canada Post

Canada Post Corporation, known more simply as Canada Post, is the Canadian crown corporation which functions as the country's – Read more