Canada Pension Plan Investment Board Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for a investment position
Portfolio Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2016
This is my first investment related position and I worked as an intern in the Portfolio Management team. Great investment culture, terrific teamwork and invaluable learning experience.
Pros
Free Food, Open Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2016
Though I was a temp there, everybody was welcoming and helpful with training. It was a very professional environment and I enjoyed my employment term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working environment
System Engineer (Current Employee) –  TORONTO, ON22 September 2015
CPPIB is an industry interrupting, growth company in a growth sector. The culture is young, dynamic, but not reckless. Management is open with all employees and values contributions and consistently demonstrates a commitment to the betterment of the employees. The benefits and work environment are stellar.
Pros
lots of opportunity to learn
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and freindly environment, very nice people who help each other
Sr. Quality Assurance/Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto27 April 2015
I liked working at CPPIB as I learned a lot, I liked the people who were smart and helpful. Develpers, BA, QA worked together very well and tried to move project forward
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entrepreneurial corporate culture.
Core services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2015
Brillant minds working towards a common goal. Can be a lot of red tape to get things done. Functional silos and demanding client groups. High expectations, and high rewards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global pension plan
Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario, Canada20 February 2015
It has been a pleasure to work for an international company as it has been growing globally at a fast pace. It is important to see how the company is adjusting to changes and how they implement new processes. There has been a better focus on cross-training and streamlining amongst departments to improve accuracy and quality of the reporting. Creating strong partnerships has allowed me to have a better understanding of the business and deliver my objectives on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producitve
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 November 2014
• Design, planning and implementation of network infrastructure to support creation of two international branch offices, in order to expand the company into new global investment opportunities
• Design, technical planning and implementation of network infrastructure to support migration to primary off-site data centre and secondary DR site, to aid in the company’s expansion
• Design and implementation of detailed migration plan to move over 100 Windows 2003 and Red Hat Linux servers to off-site data centre, with consolidation of systems where possible to reduce costs and space requirements
• Managed the internet migration project to move systems and services from vendor supplied internet to a dedicated, faster, more reliable connection
• Upgraded head office network to accommodate company growth from 100 to 700 people
• Design and implementation of firewalls (PIX and Checkpoint) and ACLs for network security infrastructure
• Installation and maintenance of Barracuda Anti-Spam devices and Barracuda and F5 Load Balancing devices
• Migration of data to NetApp SAN/NAS
• Virtualization of servers using VMware ESX clustered environment
• Disaster Recover Planning (DRP) of critical systems to secondary offsite location
• Coordination of different technical teams, vendors and contractors to deploy systems and address issues
• Coordination with business units to define requirements and timing of system and application migrations and decommissioning of old systems
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cares about their employee's
Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto,ON10 January 2014
This is one of the best work places I had the privilege to work for. Enjoyed every day.
Pros
Free Lunches and Employee Events
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young organisation in non-core functions such as risk
Investment Risk Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto18 April 2013
Great place to work for experienced professionals and graduates looking for investment management experience.
Pros
opportunities to grow
Cons
young knowledge means relative lack of knowledge pool
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Portfolio Administrator Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 October 2012
It is a great company to work for with a lot of hard working professionals. I learned a lot during my stay at CPPIB.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.7
Salary/Benefits
4.8
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
4.1
Culture
4.6

Canada Pension Plan Investment Board Reviews by Location