Find companies:
Canada Computers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Canada Computers Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Sales (Former Employee), WaterlooSeptember 8, 2014
They let me go through email which was directed to my spam inbox, I wouldn't have known about it if it wasn't for my colleague asking why I wasn't on schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Sales (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONJuly 26, 2014
Pros: knowledge enhancing working environment and continuous updating in it and products
Cons: pre-set work schedule and vacations are difficult to obtain
We work as part as a team and everyone is motivated to do their best at work. Staff and Management are both supportive and co-operative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time is fexible
QA Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 11, 2014
what you learned:

can learned different skills on there

a typical day at work:

with different person work together
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 16, 2014
............ ........................... ....... ......
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto,ONMarch 13, 2014
Cons: long hours
Ideal if you speak cantonese. Most who work there are nice. There's nothing difficult about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review a lot of updated Computer Products
Product Manager (Current Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: products knowledge
Cons: too many issues
Manage the inventory
Communicate with team, Marketing, Accounting, Receiving, Stores, Corporate sales.
Build relationship with Vendors, Distributors.
Plan how to achieve the goals
Bring in new products which can benefit the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management / 8-9 Shifts / No Overtime
Senior Sales/Computer Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: i am not working for them anymore
Cons: they are still in business
It was a terrible place to work. What can I say? You need to speak an Asian language in order to work there to understand emails or anything management says. They don't even speak English in most morning meetings. I didnt get one cent paid while I worked there. The management shows no compassion whatsoever if you have a death in the family or problems – more... at work. Stay very far away from this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace was fastpaced and fun
Smartphone consultant (Former Employee), Ajax, ONDecember 3, 2013
it was ok, it really fun for anyone who loves tech i learned to fix smart phones
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experiance
Pro Audio Merchandiser (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 28, 2013
Pros: 9-5, steady scheduling
Cons: large shipments, heavy lifting.
Understanding managers, great team, respectful environment, Learned about products in MY field of interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with CC if you're a nerd, but overall "meh" experience
Supervisor and/or Acting-Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 17, 2013
Pros: i got to touch and sell fancy toys, and help people with real problems
Cons: i absolutely hated the head office culture
A typical day at work was one that was overloaded, understaffed, frustrating, too often unsafe, and even just entirely nonsensical. What made it bearable were my fantastic co-workers, and a sense of satisfaction from helping grateful clients. During my time with CC, I honed my 6th sense for customer satisfaction, learned about operating a store, and – more... learned to run a company like an evil corporatist!

Reconciling my personal beliefs with the head office style of operation was my greatest difficulty. In essence, the company is run much like an authoritarian dictatorship turning a profit at the expense of the physical and mental health of its employees (especially managers). Not only did most staff have little to no means of contesting their crazy policies, poor attitudes, and general disrespect and inattention (other than threatening with legal action), they were dismissed and even somewhat shunned people for pressing matters further.

The stores are typically understaffed, workloads are defined by impossible standards, and if certain criteria were not met the punishment was either severe to one's standing or compensation was cut. For example, even though most factors about certain store issues were out of my store hands (clientele demographics, store location and size), my bonuses were stripped away based on what was a biased and convoluted grading system by HO-designated individuals that had no previous reason to be involved in those operations. Plus, even though the end was customer satisfaction, I was repeatedly met with bureaucratic red-tape, conflicting policies, and a lot of full-circle "talk to this person" looping.

Moreover, not once in the 2+ years did HO send out any from HR to check on health and safety standards of their stores, truly campaign to better relations between them and the rest of the stores, and resolve their arguably illegal aspects of their operation. Instead, they ignored our repeated calls for help until we broke policy and took matters into our own hands, they made it more convoluted to earn commissions and bonuses (and easier to lose them), and I doubt the owner would be making millions if he paid a fair share to those he owes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average pay, but always expected to do more.
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 7, 2013
Pros: employee discount on purchases
Cons: very long hours, extremely high expectations, constantly worked feeling that everything i did was not enough.
As the Manager I was to oversee the staff and day to day operations. However, the way that upper management viewed us, we were to be on call 24/7 and expected to work overtime hours without any compensation other than "It's what we expect.".
In this job I learned how to manage resources, staff and finances. I always put safety first and worked hard.
Honestly, – more... if it weren't for the fact that I was working in a computer retail environment, I wouldn't have stayed as long as I did.
The company was managed in a way that if you didn't fit into their racial culture, there would always be some push back. The upper-management I felt always talked down to us. I enjoyed interacting with our regular customers and developing a relationship with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and stuck up
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 23, 2013
Rudest place ever, the treated you like garbage and when you did good, they still found something to complain about. greedy people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun working environment.
Business Account Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 30, 2013
-Standard 9-6 working environment.
-Enhanced general adminitration skills, communication skills, stratigic management.
-Co-Workers are friendly
-Manager is very supportive
-It's a developing company that everyone puts into effort to grow it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain Experience
Technician (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: good environment, good discount
Cons: comission and bonus rates change often
A typical day as a technician for Canada Computers will keep you busy. There is always a ton of computers to be fixed, defective hardware to be tested, steady questions from customers, and occasionally some custom computer builds for customers.

This is a good position to help grow your knowledge and to stay current with technology and tools.

The management – more... is top notch for all 4 stores in Ottawa. The best part is, as a technician, you are free to fix things how you like. You aren't micro managed and they rarely bother you or give you any kind of hard time.

The co workers are awesome too and very much into new tech and toys. The staff made it fun to come to work!

The hardest part of the job was dealing with very technical questions from customers both on the phone and in person, while doing returns, and still trying to fix computers through out the day. Its hard to balance it all. If I couldve been locked in a room and just fixed computers, it wouldve been a lot easier.

The best part was the freedom to use your own techniques and software. They provide everything you need, and have parts readily available for testing. The more money you bring in for service revenue, the bigger your bonus is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience
Sales/Merchindising/Inventory (Current Employee), ScarboroughOctober 16, 2012
Cons: everything
treat employees poorly, only room for advancement if of Asian descent. dont pay overtime hours but expect you to work it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, needs improvements
Sales (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONOctober 3, 2012
Pros: competitive salary
Cons: only one 30 min break per shift, unless 10 hours or more
a fun place to work if you love computers. A typical day is pretty low stress and predictable. We are incredibly under staffed and a lot is expected of each employee. The company treats employees as robots, not people. Work hours are rough, scheduling is unpredictable, management is childish and passive aggressive.

Geeking out with customers and cowokers – more... is the greatest part. You spend time around the things you love and you learn something new every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Sales / Service Technician (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: great people to work with, excellent place to learn about new products, great for gaining troubleshooting skills
Cons: hours are long, currently understaffed, the knowledge level requested by customers isn't befitting of the pay
Canada Computers like any company has its ups and downs. The people that I've had the privilege to work with directly are some of the best I've ever worked with, and are really what make going to work every day worth while. Due to long hours most days there isn't really a good work / life balance and most of us get home exhausted at then end of a typical – more... 9 to 10 hour day with only a 30 minute break. The pay is acceptable though constant changing of commission structure is making it harder and harder to earn a decent living. I've had fellow employee's describe it like working at Best Buy or Staples, but we have to answer exceptionally specific question from customers. The expectation from head office is about sales numbers with little regard for customer service, so it's a good thing that most store employee's care about our customers. There was a time when the commision structure didn't change every 2 months and the most employee's worked 4 day weeks which made for great work / life balance. unfortunately those days are gone for now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company. Managment can't even speak english.
NA (Former Employee), NAAugust 18, 2014
Cons: managment, pay 12.50 really its not 1990.
Terrible company no values. CEO couldn't even fix the toilet when the pipes froze in the winter. 12.50 an hr is a joke. They get rid of people for no reason. The one supervisor thinks he knows it all not even trained in managment. They just got promoted based on knowing people. CC you will be out of business in less than 2 yrs unless you change your – more... attitude. – less

About Canada Computers

Canada Computers & Electronics has been dedicated to delivering quality products and quality service for nearly two decades – Read more