Find companies:
Canada Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Canada Bread Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun people to work with.
Production Worker (Former Employee), Moncton, NBAugust 21, 2014
Working in a bakery all summer long I learned how to work in the heat. Also drink lots of water. I learned that production and product getting out really depends on the machines and how well they operate. I really liked the people I worked with and most of the management would jump on line to help if needed. The hardest part of the job was getting use – more... to the heat. The most enjoyable part of the job was the friendly people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun casual job.
Independent Rep (Former Employee), Fort Saskatchewan, ABJune 12, 2014
Was a casual job that required me to work independently from managers and staff from where I had to merchandise product
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diversified customers and seasons created an entertaining atmosphere
driversalesman / load builder / warehouse leadhand (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCMay 30, 2014
Pros: to get out and meet and satisfy peoples needs
Cons: the odd time in heavy snows trying to deliver products in uncleared parking lots
sort in coming order / load truck in orderly fashion / deliver to grocery stores / restaurants / hospitals / pubs / etc. deal with customers inventories and figure out their needs then fill up an order from my truck stock / at same time keeping in mind there are more customers to deliver to / you soon learn how to please your clients while still doing – more... your job as to your companies needs / I have never found anything hard at any job I have tackled because of a happy go lucky attitude and that it is fun to try new adventures – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Roll Line (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 9, 2014
The only problem I had at Canada Bread was that English was rarely spoken there. That made it difficult to communicate with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience overall
ACCOUNT MANAGER, Sales Coordinator (Current Employee), TorontoApril 7, 2014
Pros: autonomy
Cons: low salary for having a dual role
Overall, I had a good experience with the company. My management team treated me well and provided me with autonomy to do the job.
I grew within my role, but the lack of advancement and salary reflects in the overall rating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working there the supervisor was a really nice man
Production Worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ontFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: it was a very multicultural wor place
Cons: rotating shifts
Working there was very good you were always busy and the time went by very quickly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Industrial Electrician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 27, 2014
Maintenance elecricician fixing el. equipment,PLC, mechanical PM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canada Bread
General Laborer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 27, 2014
A hard 10 hour day.
Learned shipping/recieving.
Management was good.
Everyone was great to work with.
Loading/unloading trucks were the hardest part.
Working with everyone everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Sanitation (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 19, 2014
good place to work, management is so respectful for those who work hard. does't really bother you until you are doing your job properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable with free breakfast provided each day.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), 20 Resolution Drive, Brampton, On, L6W0A3January 17, 2014
Pros: recognition, equal opportunities, parties, free bread!
Cons: not being able to solve a situation due to weather conditions or shortage.
Canada bread is a place where team work is paramount. We move in sync with each other. You are never left wondering how a big problem is going to be resolve. We work together as one from the top to the bottom position. Each person is respected and treated as an equal. There are equal opportunities for every person. The environment is friendly and home – more... away from home at Canada Bread.We look out for each and treat each other as the family we are-- celebrating any special moment that occurs in each others lives. No one goes unnoticed. The hardest part at times is leaving and knowing that the day is a hard one for who is going to be left behind. So we don't leave, we stay until all issues are settled. Most enjoyable part of my job is just going to it. Having socials with my co-workers and feeling the love coming in an going out of the doors. We have free breakfast each day. Also we are allowed two free bread per day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture is outstanding
Intergrade Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: night shifts
co-workers are very helpful specially when you need them. lots chances to learn and improve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Shipper (Former Employee), Ancaster, ONNovember 27, 2013
Pros: great, relaxing work environment
Cons: temperature, hours
I learned alot and gained alot through working at Canada Bread.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
General Labourer (Former Employee), Concord, ONOctober 17, 2013
You should show that you know how to prioritize. At the start of a day -- in any industry -- it is important that you review what needs to be done.surveying your career horizons - using your research skills and networking planning relevant personal development. management was great and so help full.co-workers was very help full and well trained.hardest – more... part of the job when short off a people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good food poor salary
Sale Centre Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 5, 2013
work over a 8 years
salary increase very poor
more work and less money
management have no communication skill
poor management
co- workers like servers all act like there own boss
enjoyable part is the food
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Distribution Supervisor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 3, 2013
I have a really great team, which I coached and molded to my expectations on getting departures out on time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,fun place to work
Yard Jockey/Production Worker (Former Employee), Edmonton, AB.,161st-yellowhead tailAugust 6, 2013
Pros: good pay, over time, free lunches, people
Cons: managment
It was my longest job and i pretty much did every job that could do there,from ship/rec to sales to shuttling trailers to making bread and buns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Main Stream weaknesses
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Langley, BCMay 30, 2013
Pros: great products
Cons: lack of management in operations and maintenance
No Maintenance support. Lack of Operations Management Skills
Weak in front line Supervision
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal workplace
Sanitation (Former Employee), Maple, ONMay 28, 2013
Pros: hour long breaks, and everyone willing to talk to each other
Cons: not everyone could speak fluent english
Depending on the plant, the supervisor could treat the employees like drones and not like human beings. Overall, it was an okay experience.

A typical day was repetitive, the areas to clean would be different product lines, the floor, and the machines at the product lines; sign in, assigned an area, begin cleaning, break at 0900, resume work at 1000, – more... return to assigned area, clean until 1200 Lunch break. Hour lunch break, resume to designated area at 1300, clean until 1500, sometimes asked to stay later until 1700, but regularly work ends at 1500.

From this place I have learned of many different cultural differences due to the different ethnicities present at work. I was trained in WHIMIS and in operation of a Floor Scrubber. I learned of how bagels and different breads are made, Communication skills improved as well as time management.

Management was alright, they would make sure that you were not over worked.

Co-workers were pleasant to work with, different ethnicity brought forth different perspectives on concepts, many philosophical discussions were had. They also had different educations and upbringings, showing me the different ways things could be completed in the workplace and outside of the workplace.

The hardest part of the job was cleaning the cheese line. It is a line where all the products with cheese are brought through, cheese covers everything, it is a day old, and dry and smells horrible. Two power washers were required to hose off the line, three floor men were needed to squeegee the water into drains.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when you were assigned to clean the floors, most relaxed job, four-six man job, one person would put chemical on the floor, another would use a power wash, and two or one would squeegee, while one would use the floor scrubber. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company to work with.
Lead Handv (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONMay 4, 2013
Pros: good manufacturing practices and clean housekeeping in food industry environment
Cons: it was tough to work in the hot oven environment
This was the company where I learned how to make Bread and Bagels. It was good experience to learn to manage the complete packaging line and management coaching was exceptional.The coworkers were nice. The hardest part of job was heat
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice co-workers
Packer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 13, 2013
Pros: free bread
A very nice boss. easy to learn job. not too hard job. always learning new things, new jobs.