Canada Border Services Agency Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cbsa
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  SaskatchewanJune 23, 2016
Training not paid for during the 4 months at the college,not for persons with family obligations, must be willing to work anywhere in Canada. Excellent instructors to guide you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and hours
Student Border Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJanuary 5, 2016
I enjoyed the role while at CBSA. The pay was great for a student job, and I was able to renew my contract for a total of four summers. Hours are early, but it is worth it getting off fairly early in the day. The workplace culture is not that great, with student officers being looked down on constantly, and many appearing bitter about being in the exact same role for most of their career. Next to no schedule flexibility, especially for student officers.
Pros
Pay and hours
Cons
work culture and vacation availability.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job Security
CR-04, Administration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 25, 2015
The Administration Clerks are not valued as they should be and are underpaid. The job security is so high that some people take advantage of the situation and just keep their seat warm. There is too much red tape to fire someone; managers don't bother with it.
Pros
Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Mail Room and General Services (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONOctober 20, 2015
Great place to work. Great People. Learned alot during my 3 years there as a Temp worker. Was hired by Adecco Personel. Assisted in many different departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job, good team
CS3 Test Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 19, 2015
-usual testers day at a job, with a documentation reviews, designer meetings,
-team spirit is great
-I do not have any hard time there
-the most enjoyable part is to successfully achieve the mile stone in a software testing plan
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Border Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 28, 2015
Probably the worst occupation and position that I have ever held. The job is not bad...it is management that is terrible. If anyone is looking to get into this career, I highly suggest you look elsewhere. There is a reason that it is viewed as one of the worst places to work in the Government.
Pros
none
Cons
job security, sort of...
Was this review helpful?Yes11No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBSA
BSO (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 28, 2015
Good job, culture needs updating. A great feeling of accomplishment can come with this job but it is hard to not get tangled in the politics.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Border Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 18, 2015
Bad management, terrible work environment. Poisoned work atmosphere, what more can I say? Do not work here, do not bother applying. Stay away
Was this review helpful?Yes14No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to have a career
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 9, 2015
*face pace
*project info structure and time line commitment
*very approachable and intelligent, works together to get things completed
* exceptionally smart and willingness to support each other
*time lines
*end results
Pros
job fullfillment
Cons
limitations to forward progression due to legistlation
Was this review helpful?Yes12No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of Border Services Officer
Border Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCJanuary 5, 2015
- worked a 10 hour shift that would involve day and afternoon shift.
- processed hundreds of travellers entering Canada on a daily basis.
- writing reports for customs and immigration infractions each day.
- consulting with supervisors on a multitude of issues each and every day.
Pros
working with knowlegable co-workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes38No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great people
Trade Operations Division - Casual (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONDecember 10, 2014
Working for CBSA was great during my two short terms. The unit in which I was employed was caring and supportive. They really enjoyed working as a team. I enjoy a fast-paced work environment with a variety of different duties and that is just what I got there.
Pros
team players
Cons
not permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCNovember 29, 2014
Good position, working with the public is part of this position and the one I like the most
Pros
all over canada
Cons
hard to transfer out
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mismanaged
Border Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 26, 2014
Too many bosses with their own agendas

too many scandals, we've been in the media lately
Was this review helpful?Yes18No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a safe place to work
Senior Java Developer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONOctober 28, 2014
A safe place to work. I would like to stay long, however, the budget is not stable.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal Public Service
Border Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Fort Erie, ONOctober 22, 2014
Read/interpret/administer over 90 acts of legislation. Thousands of interactions with people of all backgrounds, in all environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Customs Officer learns their job only through the people they process.
Customs Officer (Former Employee) –  Pearson Airport, Toronto, ONJuly 3, 2014
Each day I was able to process hundreds of passengers from all over the world. I learned many interesting things about many different cultures. Over the years I became very good at detecting both honesty and deception. I followed all leads and accumulated all evidence that proved a passengers guilt or innocence. I had officer discretion which allowed me to release or perform an enforcement action on a passenger after uncovering an infraction. I am fair and treat all passengers I encounter in the same manner. I learned that being consistent, thorough, organized and systematic in my notes and reports made me one of the most recognized officers for having successful and uncontested cases from start to finish. My co-workers provided both experience and assistance when I needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes45No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly place to work with lots or tasks to do
Student General Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Portal, SKApril 30, 2014
Get to work. Start with entering data into the computer. Most of the data was entered into excel or an ACROSS system. Most duties were divided between the other summer student and I. Twice a week we'd each get a day to do Out-port runs, which is where we talk mail, cash, water, and other supplies to the out-ports. Mail had to be picked up daily and the daily deposits had to be taken into town. I learned how to write up the deposits. My supervisors and co-workers were all very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed all the driving this job provided to reach the out-ports.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and exciting work environment
Senior Program Advisor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 11, 2014
a great place to work with plenty of challenges on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Service
Program Delivery Support Clerk (CR-04) (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 2, 2014
It was an enjoyable job. I was required to have daily interactions with public clients, brokers, importers and staff at all levels. The hardest part of the job was that it often changed due to political motivations. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked alongside and for.
Pros
good wage, service to the public, job security
Cons
job was dictated by politics
Was this review helpful?Yes17No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  North Portal, SKFebruary 18, 2014
Some Duties would include:
Data entry of NTO’s (Non- Terminal Office), Broker information and Recoveries
Scanning import documents
Entering statistical information into an Excel spreadsheets
Sorted and delivered mail to departments at North Portal, Northgate and Carievale
Port of Entries.
Bank Deposits

I really enjoyed working with the people.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.3
Culture
3.2

Canada Border Services Agency Reviews by Location