Cameco Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK15 October 2016
I very much enjoyed my time with Cameco. The job tasks were varying and interesting which kept the workday full and fulfilling. I met many very knowledgeable, interesting, and pleasant people there. I received extensive training, which is extremely important to me. Rabbit Lake camp is a nice facility. While not new, it is very comfortable and the food is great, the weight room is exceptional.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Journeyman Instrument Technician (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SK17 September 2016
Great work, great work environment, great employees, great camp/food. Very friendly staff around camp and great work environment. Nice to be up north as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Radiation Technician (Former Employee) –  SK13 July 2016
co-workers are uncommunicative, it's really unprofessional and hard to get my/our job done with it, leading to not getting our tasks done on time.
Pros
free everything
Cons
no night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work to time off ratio, great benfits and pension
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK12 July 2016
Not a bad place to work with lots of time off, lots of older people that should of retired years ago. Needed to spend more money on new equipment and new ideas.
Pros
Camp life, fishing
Cons
Long winters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Warehouse Supervisor/Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Key Lake, SK21 June 2016
Only downfall with working at a remote mining site is the time spent away from family....other then that working for Cameco is great.
Pros
Everything was very good working their
Cons
Long hours and fly in
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Office
Production flight clerk (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK16 June 2016
constant changes
I learned alot that I enjoyed and have taken with me to other jobs
HR was great to go to for advice
Co workers were happy and great to work with
When the job ended
All the multi tasking and changes daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Intermidiate Radiation Technician (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake Mine Site7 June 2016
Excellent company to work for.
Typical days are busy as a Radiation Technician, never a dull moment.
Learned tons about underground processes, Production and Development mining.
Ventilation, and obviously radiaiton.
Co-workers become family.
Hardest part about the job is being away from family for a 7+ days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 May 2016
Working At Cameco involved long demanding 12 hour days. My days consisted of scheduling, data entry, safety meetings and much more. I worked in conjunction with management and supervisors to produce all of their daily schedules. I also set up all safety meeting materials and developed a safety video library on my own time. I enjoyed my co-workers immensely and kept a good rapport with all outside contractors & consultants.
Pros
Excellent wages, management, and accommodations
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Orientated and involved In the Community
Summer Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Blind River, ON16 March 2016
Worked in the maintenance department of the plant. Changed pumps, pipes, valves etc.

Non Union shop runs very well from very helpful and knowing management.

Learned a lot of safety on nuclear and on dangerous work environment through their extensive safety training programs and meetings.

Everyone is helpful and very knowledgeable.
Pros
Friendly Work Environment
Cons
Hot work enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work place, I was there during construction at Cigar and Start-up at McArthur River
Process Foreman (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SK18 February 2016
I would recommend working here. I was there during startup and construction at Cigar and was very very challenging. I was also at McArthur River shortly after Startup and found it very challenging. The companies always trying to improve on current practices and improving policies and always safety and the Environment are the top two concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 January 2016
This was a great company to work for.

HR has a fabulous team of people. Everyone is very easy to get along with.

Cameco does a lot of work with the community which is a great incentive.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee) –  northen saskachewan26 June 2015
cameco have a good group of people to with with.
the pay scale it at the top range, and benefits are also up there.
over all is a good place to work, if you like the 7/7 rotation
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
top heavy and disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company ..
Journeyman Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  SK24 April 2015
good pay
excellent benefits
good job security
very concerned for peoples heath
its just a happy friendly place to be
good food
baseball diamond
fishing boats
curling rink
Pros
good pay
Cons
two weeks in 1 week out
Was this review helpful?Yes23No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in-stills employee participation and team work in company operations.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 April 2015
A diverse company where I can as a electrical engineer deploy my technical skills to the fullest. Electrical design of underground power distribution, surface building HVAC systems and controls.
Management was committed and forth right in its support of team development regarding project development work.
Worked diligently with my co workers to get the job done. Willing to provide support to all co workers, which resulted in a good repertoire of good will and job satisfaction, between subordinates, co-workers and management.
Project work locations where in mining camps in Northern Saskatchewan, which was remote from my place of work at Cameco's Main Saskatoon Office. This become problematic for an expedient resolution of camp site technical problems.
Pros
Excellent opprortunities to broaded my technical skills.
Cons
Remote control of project work. Needed more time at camp sites to be more expedient
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Underground and Surface Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan11 September 2014
Cameco is the finest employer I have ever had, offering the best balance of home and work.

Compensation is adequate, although IMO, there is room for improvements in pensions to accommodate for the aging workforce.

I've never felt safer, treated more respectfully by front line supervision, or given so much freedom of input in the work that I perform as I have there.
Pros
Rotation Schedule of 1 week in and 1 week out
Cons
No support for advancement of career goals for hourly employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to learn new things!
Pipefitter/Underground Services (Current Employee) –  SK9 September 2014
Alright company to work for, if you need more informantion feel free to ask me.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are fair
Power Engineer - Sulphuric Acid Plant (Current Employee) –  Key Lake, Sk5 September 2014
It is a great jibs for a Third Class power engineer. The plant is a manageable size and there are lots of things you can learn at a pace of your choosing.

The pay for a second class engineer is less than it should be and because of this there is a lot of turn over. It is a training place for many.

There are definitely worse places you could spend a carrier. One of the top employers in Canada. The fishing after shift is second to none
Pros
Great Fishing and the work in managable
Cons
The Camp is older, The food needs works and the wages aren't as competitive as they could be
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Underground12 August 2014
Pleasant place to work.
Good place to work
Good to work.
Proper food to eat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Change Management Specialist & IT Trainer (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 May 2014
Always concerned with day to day work life balance, great compensation package and flexible workdays make it a great place to spend your days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, and enjoyable work.
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan1 May 2014
Work on: (typical day)
Project Charters
Project Engineering
Project Estimats
Project Controls and Indirect Costs
Project WBS (Work Breakdown Structures)
Execution Strategies
Scope of Work Documents
SAP Database
Learned: Project Management
Management: Team Players and want successful projects on budget and schedule
Hardest part of the job is keeping everyone on task when it comes to controls of a project (example: Scheduler, Planner, Estimator, Cost Controller, Enginneering, Sign-Offs)
The most enjoyable part of a job is seeing execution of the project happening and on budget.
Pros
Get to fly to mining sites
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6