Cameco Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work. Treated great
Temp A/P Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK10 December 2016
Great place to work. Everyone got along and helped each other. Always something fun going on. Management treated employees like people not numbers.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
Temp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best team I ever worked with
District Geologist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK22 November 2016
I relish the opportunity to have worked with a diverse team of professionals at Cameco Corporation. I was able to learn and develop with making a great contribution to the company.
Pros
Good opportunities for training and advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good camp and great place to work
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK24 December 2016
camp is walking distance from the mill, people are good to work with with a great safety attitude. the place was put into care and maintenance earlier this year (2016). hardest thing is that most of the workforce was laid off and gets pretty lonely sometimes especially when your 2 week shift is just beginning. keeping the heat going is tough when its -30 out and propane isn't cheap either. A Cameco site should be using uranium generated electricity to power the mines, would be great for Cameco's uranium outlook!
Pros
free lunches and lodging
Cons
2 week shift is a bit long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 May 2016
Working At Cameco involved long demanding 12 hour days. My days consisted of scheduling, data entry, safety meetings and much more. I worked in conjunction with management and supervisors to produce all of their daily schedules. I also set up all safety meeting materials and developed a safety video library on my own time. I enjoyed my co-workers immensely and kept a good rapport with all outside contractors & consultants.
Pros
Excellent wages, management, and accommodations
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK15 October 2016
I very much enjoyed my time with Cameco. The job tasks were varying and interesting which kept the workday full and fulfilling. I met many very knowledgeable, interesting, and pleasant people there. I received extensive training, which is extremely important to me. Rabbit Lake camp is a nice facility. While not new, it is very comfortable and the food is great, the weight room is exceptional.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Warehouse Supervisor/Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Key Lake, SK21 June 2016
Only downfall with working at a remote mining site is the time spent away from family....other then that working for Cameco is great.
Pros
Everything was very good working their
Cons
Long hours and fly in
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Rabbit lake31 December 2016
Just make your plane on time show up for work and put in an honest effort and follow procedures always do what is required of you and get along with others
Pros
Free plane ride and meals
Cons
Away from family but sacrifices are needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Mill Trainee (Former Employee) –  Key Lake, SK28 December 2016
most enjoyable part of my job was how friendly the crew members were. Co-workers were very good at training you and telling you about the mining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Journeyman Instrument Technician (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SK17 September 2016
Great work, great work environment, great employees, great camp/food. Very friendly staff around camp and great work environment. Nice to be up north as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Orientated and involved In the Community
Summer Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Blind River, ON16 March 2016
Worked in the maintenance department of the plant. Changed pumps, pipes, valves etc.

Non Union shop runs very well from very helpful and knowing management.

Learned a lot of safety on nuclear and on dangerous work environment through their extensive safety training programs and meetings.

Everyone is helpful and very knowledgeable.
Pros
Friendly Work Environment
Cons
Hot work enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work to time off ratio, great benfits and pension
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK12 July 2016
Not a bad place to work with lots of time off, lots of older people that should of retired years ago. Needed to spend more money on new equipment and new ideas.
Pros
Camp life, fishing
Cons
Long winters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Intermidiate Radiation Technician (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake Mine Site7 June 2016
Excellent company to work for.
Typical days are busy as a Radiation Technician, never a dull moment.
Learned tons about underground processes, Production and Development mining.
Ventilation, and obviously radiaiton.
Co-workers become family.
Hardest part about the job is being away from family for a 7+ days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Radiation Technician (Former Employee) –  SK13 July 2016
co-workers are uncommunicative, it's really unprofessional and hard to get my/our job done with it, leading to not getting our tasks done on time.
Pros
free everything
Cons
no night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Office
Production flight clerk (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK16 June 2016
constant changes
I learned alot that I enjoyed and have taken with me to other jobs
HR was great to go to for advice
Co workers were happy and great to work with
When the job ended
All the multi tasking and changes daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Geologist, G.I.T (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan19 December 2012
Good company overall, but very impersional due to its size. It is difficult to advance in your career due to the lack of overall leadership and recognition from management without severe arm waving.
Pros
stable
Cons
long hours, on call some nights, poor compensation for work in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, and enjoyable work.
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan1 May 2014
Work on: (typical day)
Project Charters
Project Engineering
Project Estimats
Project Controls and Indirect Costs
Project WBS (Work Breakdown Structures)
Execution Strategies
Scope of Work Documents
SAP Database
Learned: Project Management
Management: Team Players and want successful projects on budget and schedule
Hardest part of the job is keeping everyone on task when it comes to controls of a project (example: Scheduler, Planner, Estimator, Cost Controller, Enginneering, Sign-Offs)
The most enjoyable part of a job is seeing execution of the project happening and on budget.
Pros
Get to fly to mining sites
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work place, I was there during construction at Cigar and Start-up at McArthur River
Process Foreman (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SK18 February 2016
I would recommend working here. I was there during startup and construction at Cigar and was very very challenging. I was also at McArthur River shortly after Startup and found it very challenging. The companies always trying to improve on current practices and improving policies and always safety and the Environment are the top two concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Underground and Surface Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan11 September 2014
Cameco is the finest employer I have ever had, offering the best balance of home and work.

Compensation is adequate, although IMO, there is room for improvements in pensions to accommodate for the aging workforce.

I've never felt safer, treated more respectfully by front line supervision, or given so much freedom of input in the work that I perform as I have there.
Pros
Rotation Schedule of 1 week in and 1 week out
Cons
No support for advancement of career goals for hourly employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Raisebore mechanic/Millwright (mining (Former Employee) –  SK14 January 2013
Day at work
AM daily inspection/ minor repairs
PM regular preventitive maintenance
unless major repair/breakdown
management ok nothing special though
Awesome mix of first nations (60%),with diverse cultural background mix
Difficult place to advance very often people promoted based on (buddy system)
Pros
good benifits salary etc week in week out schedule
Cons
week in week out schedule, difficult to get promoted based on work alone
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in-stills employee participation and team work in company operations.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 April 2015
A diverse company where I can as a electrical engineer deploy my technical skills to the fullest. Electrical design of underground power distribution, surface building HVAC systems and controls.
Management was committed and forth right in its support of team development regarding project development work.
Worked diligently with my co workers to get the job done. Willing to provide support to all co workers, which resulted in a good repertoire of good will and job satisfaction, between subordinates, co-workers and management.
Project work locations where in mining camps in Northern Saskatchewan, which was remote from my place of work at Cameco's Main Saskatoon Office. This become problematic for an expedient resolution of camp site technical problems.
Pros
Excellent opprortunities to broaded my technical skills.
Cons
Remote control of project work. Needed more time at camp sites to be more expedient
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7