Cameco Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Orientated and involved In the Community
Summer Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Blind River, ONMarch 16, 2016
Worked in the maintenance department of the plant. Changed pumps, pipes, valves etc.

Non Union shop runs very well from very helpful and knowing management.

Learned a lot of safety on nuclear and on dangerous work environment through their extensive safety training programs and meetings.

Everyone is helpful and very knowledgeable.
Pros
Friendly Work Environment
Cons
Hot work enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMay 27, 2016
Working At Cameco involved long demanding 12 hour days. My days consisted of scheduling, data entry, safety meetings and much more. I worked in conjunction with management and supervisors to produce all of their daily schedules. I also set up all safety meeting materials and developed a safety video library on my own time. I enjoyed my co-workers immensely and kept a good rapport with all outside contractors & consultants.
Pros
Excellent wages, management, and accommodations
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work place, I was there during construction at Cigar and Start-up at McArthur River
Process Foreman (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SKFebruary 18, 2016
I would recommend working here. I was there during startup and construction at Cigar and was very very challenging. I was also at McArthur River shortly after Startup and found it very challenging. The companies always trying to improve on current practices and improving policies and always safety and the Environment are the top two concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company ..
Journeyman Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  SKApril 24, 2015
good pay
excellent benefits
good job security
very concerned for peoples heath
its just a happy friendly place to be
good food
baseball diamond
fishing boats
curling rink
Pros
good pay
Cons
two weeks in 1 week out
Was this review helpful?Yes23No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Raisebore mechanic/Millwright (mining (Former Employee) –  SKJanuary 14, 2013
Day at work
AM daily inspection/ minor repairs
PM regular preventitive maintenance
unless major repair/breakdown
management ok nothing special though
Awesome mix of first nations (60%),with diverse cultural background mix
Difficult place to advance very often people promoted based on (buddy system)
Pros
good benifits salary etc week in week out schedule
Cons
week in week out schedule, difficult to get promoted based on work alone
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always enjoyed working for Cameco
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKDecember 19, 2013
Worked from camp site running equipment. Had a good camp for meals activity room, Good camp moral long time staff. A good place to work overall. When they had a layoff to combine mills I took the layoff to go home and farm full time.
Pros
week in week out
Cons
i quess we always could have used a raise
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are fair
Power Engineer - Sulphuric Acid Plant (Current Employee) –  Key Lake, SkSeptember 5, 2014
It is a great jibs for a Third Class power engineer. The plant is a manageable size and there are lots of things you can learn at a pace of your choosing.

The pay for a second class engineer is less than it should be and because of this there is a lot of turn over. It is a training place for many.

There are definitely worse places you could spend a carrier. One of the top employers in Canada. The fishing after shift is second to none
Pros
great fishing and the work in managable
Cons
the camp is older, the food needs works and the wages aren't as competitive as they could be
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer-- Large company that treats you like family
Chemical Operator, Uranium Hexaflouride (Current Employee) –  Port Hope, ONJanuary 14, 2014
Voted top 10 employer in Canada year after year. Very good pay and benefits, on going training and development, great safety culture and social programs.
Pros
pie program(yearly bonus for all)
Was this review helpful?Yes17No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OH&S Nurse
Miner (Former Employee) –  McCarthurFebruary 19, 2013
A joke for an employer. Erased a lot of what I was gonna say. Reverse discrimination is alive and well. Zero management support. Popularity gets you better bonuses. If ya work for a non-unionized site if yer not native or northern status you can be dismissed without cause in a heart beat. Would never recommend Cameco to anyone.
Pros
inconsistent bonus program. play employee favorites. gong show management.
Cons
week in week out. great after work fishing
Was this review helpful?Yes36No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too top heavy
Quality Specialist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKFebruary 27, 2014
Too much management with the wrong focus to improve. Accountability does not meet responsibility. Impossible to make effective improvements due to the fact that too many people have authority over initiatives.
Pros
location, facilities
Cons
not secure, poor authority matrix
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor work enviroment!
planning (Former Employee) –  Cigar lakeApril 19, 2013
Cameco rules and regs are bent by some of the employees, buddy buddy system works very well, friends first work later,
I am better then you and I will prove it whatever it takes!! works at its best and nobody does nothing about it, a ton of people in the wrong positions,

Few good fellows, real pros, moved from departament to departament, with no real reason. problems swept under the carpet,
Pros
a lot of good people, real profesionals
Cons
the good people are pounded down by the bad ones, egos are high, and stabing in the back are common practices, accepted and encouraged by some in higher positions!
Was this review helpful?Yes44No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Summer Student Site Services (Former Employee) –  Patuanak, SKFebruary 27, 2013
Cameco is a good company with their benefits and with great wages. I have no cons to say about that company.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with fishing avalible
Journeyman Electricain (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJune 8, 2013
up at 5 am eat breakfast in camp and catch bus to site have morning line up meeting at 6:30. recieve work load and head out to preform daily jobs and answer emergency calls. lunch at noon for an hour then back to work until 6:30 pm shower up and head back to camp for supper and relax before bed
Pros
nice camp to stay in
Cons
away from home alot
Was this review helpful?Yes17No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to learn new things!
Pipefitter/Underground Services (Current Employee) –  SKSeptember 9, 2014
Alright company to work for, if you need more informantion feel free to ask me.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Learning place
Site Services Batch Plant (Current Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SKSeptember 11, 2013
Enjoy working at Cigar Lake. Enjoyed meeting new people and getting more training.
Pros
fishing
Cons
no cell phones
Was this review helpful?Yes11No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work environment
Site service labourer and equipment operator (Former Employee) –  mcarther river saskJuly 18, 2012
only a short term job with cameco as a labourer and equipment operator. fun busy days week in and out shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9

See more Cameco reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture