Cameco Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 May 2016
Working At Cameco involved long demanding 12 hour days. My days consisted of scheduling, data entry, safety meetings and much more. I worked in conjunction with management and supervisors to produce all of their daily schedules. I also set up all safety meeting materials and developed a safety video library on my own time. I enjoyed my co-workers immensely and kept a good rapport with all outside contractors & consultants.
Pros
Excellent wages, management, and accommodations
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK15 October 2016
I very much enjoyed my time with Cameco. The job tasks were varying and interesting which kept the workday full and fulfilling. I met many very knowledgeable, interesting, and pleasant people there. I received extensive training, which is extremely important to me. Rabbit Lake camp is a nice facility. While not new, it is very comfortable and the food is great, the weight room is exceptional.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Warehouse Supervisor/Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Key Lake, SK21 June 2016
Only downfall with working at a remote mining site is the time spent away from family....other then that working for Cameco is great.
Pros
Everything was very good working their
Cons
Long hours and fly in
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Journeyman Instrument Technician (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SK17 September 2016
Great work, great work environment, great employees, great camp/food. Very friendly staff around camp and great work environment. Nice to be up north as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work to time off ratio, great benfits and pension
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK12 July 2016
Not a bad place to work with lots of time off, lots of older people that should of retired years ago. Needed to spend more money on new equipment and new ideas.
Pros
Camp life, fishing
Cons
Long winters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Intermidiate Radiation Technician (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake Mine Site7 June 2016
Excellent company to work for.
Typical days are busy as a Radiation Technician, never a dull moment.
Learned tons about underground processes, Production and Development mining.
Ventilation, and obviously radiaiton.
Co-workers become family.
Hardest part about the job is being away from family for a 7+ days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Orientated and involved In the Community
Summer Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Blind River, ON16 March 2016
Worked in the maintenance department of the plant. Changed pumps, pipes, valves etc.

Non Union shop runs very well from very helpful and knowing management.

Learned a lot of safety on nuclear and on dangerous work environment through their extensive safety training programs and meetings.

Everyone is helpful and very knowledgeable.
Pros
Friendly Work Environment
Cons
Hot work enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Radiation Technician (Former Employee) –  SK13 July 2016
co-workers are uncommunicative, it's really unprofessional and hard to get my/our job done with it, leading to not getting our tasks done on time.
Pros
free everything
Cons
no night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Office
Production flight clerk (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SK16 June 2016
constant changes
I learned alot that I enjoyed and have taken with me to other jobs
HR was great to go to for advice
Co workers were happy and great to work with
When the job ended
All the multi tasking and changes daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work, decent salary and benefits. Decent Management
3rd Class Power Engineer (Current Employee) –  Key Lake saskatchewan30 November 2013
Worked here 30yrs and counting, decent facility camp needs improvements as it is showing its age. Food relatively ok. Needs better more modern camp that's the biggest thing.Starting to get big turnover of Power Engineers, money just not there compared to oil.

Work is good fairly independent bosses not "breathing down your neck" all day, they trust their people to do what they were hired to do for the most part. People are generally really good to get along with. Great fishing in summer lots of extracurricular activities for those who want,nice gym,saunas and hot tubs.
Pros
Decent benefits and great people to work with
Cons
Poor camp conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Underground and Surface Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan11 September 2014
Cameco is the finest employer I have ever had, offering the best balance of home and work.

Compensation is adequate, although IMO, there is room for improvements in pensions to accommodate for the aging workforce.

I've never felt safer, treated more respectfully by front line supervision, or given so much freedom of input in the work that I perform as I have there.
Pros
Rotation Schedule of 1 week in and 1 week out
Cons
No support for advancement of career goals for hourly employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Raisebore mechanic/Millwright (mining (Former Employee) –  SK14 January 2013
Day at work
AM daily inspection/ minor repairs
PM regular preventitive maintenance
unless major repair/breakdown
management ok nothing special though
Awesome mix of first nations (60%),with diverse cultural background mix
Difficult place to advance very often people promoted based on (buddy system)
Pros
good benifits salary etc week in week out schedule
Cons
week in week out schedule, difficult to get promoted based on work alone
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work place, I was there during construction at Cigar and Start-up at McArthur River
Process Foreman (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake Mine, SK18 February 2016
I would recommend working here. I was there during startup and construction at Cigar and was very very challenging. I was also at McArthur River shortly after Startup and found it very challenging. The companies always trying to improve on current practices and improving policies and always safety and the Environment are the top two concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee) –  northen saskachewan26 June 2015
cameco have a good group of people to with with.
the pay scale it at the top range, and benefits are also up there.
over all is a good place to work, if you like the 7/7 rotation
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
top heavy and disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company ..
Journeyman Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  SK24 April 2015
good pay
excellent benefits
good job security
very concerned for peoples heath
its just a happy friendly place to be
good food
baseball diamond
fishing boats
curling rink
Pros
good pay
Cons
two weeks in 1 week out
Was this review helpful?Yes23No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Geologist, G.I.T (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan19 December 2012
Good company overall, but very impersional due to its size. It is difficult to advance in your career due to the lack of overall leadership and recognition from management without severe arm waving.
Pros
stable
Cons
long hours, on call some nights, poor compensation for work in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always enjoyed working for Cameco
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 December 2013
Worked from camp site running equipment. Had a good camp for meals activity room, Good camp moral long time staff. A good place to work overall. When they had a layoff to combine mills I took the layoff to go home and farm full time.
Pros
week in week out
Cons
I quess we always could have used a raise
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer-- Large company that treats you like family
Chemical Operator, Uranium Hexaflouride (Current Employee) –  Port Hope, ON14 January 2014
Voted top 10 employer in Canada year after year. Very good pay and benefits, on going training and development, great safety culture and social programs.
Pros
Pie program(yearly bonus for all)
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes17No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Change Management Specialist & IT Trainer (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 May 2014
Always concerned with day to day work life balance, great compensation package and flexible workdays make it a great place to spend your days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, and enjoyable work.
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan1 May 2014
Work on: (typical day)
Project Charters
Project Engineering
Project Estimats
Project Controls and Indirect Costs
Project WBS (Work Breakdown Structures)
Execution Strategies
Scope of Work Documents
SAP Database
Learned: Project Management
Management: Team Players and want successful projects on budget and schedule
Hardest part of the job is keeping everyone on task when it comes to controls of a project (example: Scheduler, Planner, Estimator, Cost Controller, Enginneering, Sign-Offs)
The most enjoyable part of a job is seeing execution of the project happening and on budget.
Pros
Get to fly to mining sites
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6