CAMECO CORPORATION Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Office
Production flight clerk (Former Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SKJune 16, 2016
constant changes
I learned alot that I enjoyed and have taken with me to other jobs
HR was great to go to for advice
Co workers were happy and great to work with
When the job ended
All the multi tasking and changes daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJanuary 7, 2016
This was a great company to work for.

HR has a fabulous team of people. Everyone is very easy to get along with.

Cameco does a lot of work with the community which is a great incentive.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Instrumentation Technologist (Current Employee) –  northen saskachewanJune 26, 2015
cameco have a good group of people to with with.
the pay scale it at the top range, and benefits are also up there.
over all is a good place to work, if you like the 7/7 rotation
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
top heavy and disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in-stills employee participation and team work in company operations.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKApril 5, 2015
A diverse company where I can as a electrical engineer deploy my technical skills to the fullest. Electrical design of underground power distribution, surface building HVAC systems and controls.
Management was committed and forth right in its support of team development regarding project development work.
Worked diligently with my co workers to get the job done. Willing to provide support to all co workers, which resulted in a good repertoire of good will and job satisfaction, between subordinates, co-workers and management.
Project work locations where in mining camps in Northern Saskatchewan, which was remote from my place of work at Cameco's Main Saskatoon Office. This become problematic for an expedient resolution of camp site technical problems.
Pros
Excellent opprortunities to broaded my technical skills.
Cons
Remote control of project work. Needed more time at camp sites to be more expedient
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Underground and Surface Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  SaskatchewanSeptember 11, 2014
Cameco is the finest employer I have ever had, offering the best balance of home and work.

Compensation is adequate, although IMO, there is room for improvements in pensions to accommodate for the aging workforce.

I've never felt safer, treated more respectfully by front line supervision, or given so much freedom of input in the work that I perform as I have there.
Pros
rotation schedule of 1 week in and 1 week out
Cons
no support for advancement of career goals for hourly employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Change Management Specialist & IT Trainer (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMay 12, 2014
Always concerned with day to day work life balance, great compensation package and flexible workdays make it a great place to spend your days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, and enjoyable work.
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SaskatchewanMay 1, 2014
Work on: (typical day)
Project Charters
Project Engineering
Project Estimats
Project Controls and Indirect Costs
Project WBS (Work Breakdown Structures)
Execution Strategies
Scope of Work Documents
SAP Database
Learned: Project Management
Management: Team Players and want successful projects on budget and schedule
Hardest part of the job is keeping everyone on task when it comes to controls of a project (example: Scheduler, Planner, Estimator, Cost Controller, Enginneering, Sign-Offs)
The most enjoyable part of a job is seeing execution of the project happening and on budget.
Pros
get to fly to mining sites
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Camp life good balance between work and home one week in one out.
Construction engineer (Former Employee) –  Key Lake SaskatchewanApril 3, 2014
Interesting to see two transformers dressed, oil filled and vacuum tested, Structures in switch yard were assembled and all switches, breakers, and instrumentation transformers installed.
Pros
camp life one week in one out
Cons
extreme cold
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heart's in the right place but the actions are not.
Major Projects (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKFebruary 6, 2014
heart's in the right place but the actions are not. Succession planning and training are subject to review and not of any value according to upper management. Great co-workers, as if the case with most company's I've worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work, decent salary and benefits. Decent Management
3rd Class Power Engineer (Current Employee) –  Key Lake saskatchewanNovember 30, 2013
Worked here 30yrs and counting, decent facility camp needs improvements as it is showing its age. Food relatively ok. Needs better more modern camp that's the biggest thing.Starting to get big turnover of Power Engineers, money just not there compared to oil.

Work is good fairly independent bosses not "breathing down your neck" all day, they trust their people to do what they were hired to do for the most part. People are generally really good to get along with. Great fishing in summer lots of extracurricular activities for those who want,nice gym,saunas and hot tubs.
Pros
decent benefits and great people to work with
Cons
poor camp conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Permanent and stable company to work for
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Rabbit LskeAugust 11, 2013
I loved working for Cameco but because my boys were small then i couldnt leave them for a week at a time. Now that i am at Cigar Lake, they see that i am now avaiable for work. They gave me a start and hopefully they will give me an ending.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Construction Camp Needed Improvement
Work methods and Construction Planning (Former Employee) –  Cigar Lake. SachatchewanAugust 3, 2013
Great team to work with! Understanding Management and well placed worksite.
New residence was for full time employees only.
Very cold and open site.
Pros
good food
Cons
camp cold
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great camp, week on week off schedule
Maintenance Engineering Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Cigar LakeJuly 3, 2013
Very safety oriented, very nice facilities.

Have to get used to many levels of communication to get items completed.

The processes are unique and interesting.
Pros
no wasted time during day as meals are made for you, week on week off schedule
Cons
levels of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Document Control Administrator - Rabbit Lake (Current Employee) –  Rabbit Lake, SKApril 7, 2013
Promotes Health and Safety. Challenges you to be the best you can be. Opportunities for advancement.
Pros
geat people and working environment
Cons
away from home challenge for personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Geologist, G.I.T (Current Employee) –  SaskatchewanDecember 19, 2012
Good company overall, but very impersional due to its size. It is difficult to advance in your career due to the lack of overall leadership and recognition from management without severe arm waving.
Pros
stable
Cons
long hours, on call some nights, poor compensation for work in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to make money fast
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  La RongeOctober 2, 2012
Loaded slurry in totes
computer work, valves transfer
great
great
Cleaning up slurry full of radiation
Down time :)
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cameco Corporation
summer student (Former Employee) –  Blind RiverAugust 28, 2012
I worked at Cameco for two summers now and have not had one complaint since. It was a great job, that paid great money to the students that worked there.
Pros
staff, money, safety, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Miners underground
Jr Mine Technician (Current Employee) –  Cigar Lake, SkJuly 28, 2012
Im currently working underground for 11hrs a day for 7days a week, working with Mine Engeering & Geology Departmen. Working for Cameco for goin on 2yrs, I enjoy working with my co workers I have lots from them we work hard and keep focusing on each other, we get along very well, and I like working as a team player and communication well with other contactors, the most enjoyable part of my job is working with all different companies and i have met alot of people from everywhere.
Pros
lunches underground with the miners
Cons
12hrs a day
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work in Saskatchewan
Senior Mine Engineer/Rock Mechanics Expert (Former Employee) –  SaskatchewanMay 15, 2012
Cameco caters to most people's needs. So it is a great place to work in Saskatchewan. Many excellent programs to support employees and their families. If an employee is driven, there is tremendous opportunities to grow at a faster pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work, great place to learn
Instrumentation Technologist (Former Employee) –  SKApril 4, 2012
Excellent job to increase experience. Great group of people to work with!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

See more CAMECO CORPORATION reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

CAMECO CORPORATION Reviews by Location