Calix Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Division is disorganized
OSP Contract Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Remote27 September 2017
Constant Reorgs. Sr Mgnt brings in program and project managers who has no technical background. Insane stress, hours, with constant in-divisional fighting. No accountability or ownership.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
long hours, employees not valued, no accountability by new management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer, challenging work environment
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Remote21 July 2017
I enjoyed the work enjoyable, and found the peers to be friendly and knowledgeable. There is an underlying push for excellence, and that is backed by continuing education.
Pros
Work/Life balance, workplace culture
Cons
Occasional unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of Contract Positions
A/R Analyst (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CA4 November 2016
hired on as a contract employee without full knowledge of what that meant to Calix! After hiring on as a contractor you then have to re interview for the position which could leave you unemployed.
Co workers were great, environment took some adjusting to.
Off site mgmt. doesn't work! Can't manage a department one day a week and not be available the rest of the week. Tooooo many "meetings" that were unproductive.
Management structure needs rethinking.
Pros
Flexible hours, endless snacks, Fresh Fruit Tuesday's endless beverages.
Cons
new employees need welcome meetings by HR. Management needs to be onsite NOT in San Jose!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that has lost its soul
Finance (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CA18 April 2016
I worked at Calix for a number of years, and enjoyed the early years of my employment very much. I worked hard, with a great group of co-workers focused on building the business.

Over the past couple of years, however, the company has undergone a number of management changes an its culture has changed for the worse. As a result, many long-time employees have moved on and the internal environment has become increasingly negative and even toxic.
Pros
Good products. Loyal customers.
Cons
No fun anymore, Culture of finger-pointing and blame replaced the prior cameraderie
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Datacom Solutions short lived
Telecommunication equipment installer (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NE14 March 2016
my time with Datacom Solutions I was promised work around great plains territory but contract expired as soon as i qualified for insurance and matching 401k.
Pros
easy work
Cons
no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very erratic work place with wild swings of work
Principal Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CA23 September 2015
Very erratic work place with wild swings of work ranging from undue pressure sometimes to uneasy nothingness on some other days.
Too many managers in the middle layer makes it harder for average engineers to perform their tasks,
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi paced environment
Senior Payroll Accountant (Current Employee) –  Petaluma, CA2 June 2015
I've learned a great deal at Calix. The original culture was one that many could model. Employees are great to work with.
Pros
Good employees
Cons
Too many departmental transitions without the support to make is seamless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome learning environment
Lab Technician (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MN11 May 2015
Calix is a great place to work. I came in without much engineering experience, but after only a couple of months started feeling very comfortable. The equipment and software started to become easier to use and I started to become a valuable asset to the company.

The hardest part about my job is the sudden changing of testing that needs to be done and being able to adapt to those changes on the fly. I'm not typically one to let things go unfinished.

I love the atmosphere of the company and the associates I work with. The diversity here is amazing, working with so many different cultures and backgrounds is very enlightening.

I do like working for Calix, if I had to give a yay or nay to someone looking to work for Calix I would give them my full backing.
Pros
Free soda, fruit Tuesdays, Donut Club
Cons
Company is based out of California and split across multiple sites across the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated to leave
Human Resources Program Lead (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CA26 September 2013
I had to leave the company for personal reasons and dare say I will find a better group of people to work with individual contributor level or management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionalism, discipline and pure determination to suceed
Director, South America (Former Employee) –  São Paulo, SP1 July 2013
A very dynamic place to work, with a clear sense of purpose and determined management. Just starting in the international with and already with solid team in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CA24 April 2013
Fun environment and most co workers are very appreciative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High dynamic work place with free soda for all.
Project Technical Lead (Current Employee) –  Petaluma, CA11 April 2013
The day starts at 8am as engineers, employees filing into the building. Ends around 7pm for most of the employees. No one has occupied a separate office by himself. Everyone is in his/her own cubicle. The building is logically layout with many small conference rooms that encourage cross teams communication. This is a high energy work place that specializes on developing broadband access and highspeed data access equipment. The work area is relaxing yet fills with highly skilled engineers, PLMs, program managers and marketing team members.
I like the company for empowering individuals to challenge their best for topping their own performance and furthering company goal. It is a dynamic place that brings out the best of each contributor.
Pros
open area, open minded work environment
Cons
in the north bay area of san francisco
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program/Project manager
Project Manager/Program Manager for EFI (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CA28 November 2012
Manage EFI project and program for new installation, help sell programs clients, manage vendors on installation
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 18Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
3.3