Find companies:
Calgary Stampede
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Calgary Stampede Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Mini Donuts, Seasonal Employee (Former Employee), Calgary,AlbertaMarch 7, 2014
I enjoyed working with people as a team there & I enjoyed making new friends at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administrative Assistant Intern (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2014
over all a great experience, would to have loved to stay and be apart of the team longer but left to continue on to get my medical office assistant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Usher (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: long hours
Amazing place, free shows and short and fun. Lots of experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young Fun Environment
Gate Administration (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers, great environment, flexible hours
Cons: strict dress code, low pay
This is a great place to look for a fun summer job. The 2 years I worked here I always had fun, and it was a great stepping stone for customer service experience. The management team was fun and all my co-workers became close friends. The hours were always reasonable and you had a decent amount of flexibility with when you could work. The only thing – more... I do not like about working for these guys is they discourage certain looks, anyone with piercings, colored hair or tattoos of any kind will either not be hired or will be asked to remove or cover them while at work, even the smallest of piercings like a nose stud or more than one piercing per ear. The other hard part of this job is you're standing all day in the sun, in black and your water bottle must be kept in the back storage area. The great co-workers and fun environment make up for the few places this job faulters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to start a career
administrative assistant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
a typical day at work is a long day and it can be busy one day and very slow the next day so it is very unpredictable. co-workers are very nice, different ages but it works and the hardest part of the job is when you sit there for hours and do not do anything because there is not enough work for everybody.
the most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers, – more... they are very friendly and easy to get along with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Meet Lots and people and learn different cultures
Facilities (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 22, 2014
Helped tourists at the stampede by assisting and meeting their needs.Helped keep the environment clean, and met great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job review
Concession worker (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaNovember 13, 2013
Worked on rides and concessions. Jobs at Stampede require patience with tourists and guests which at times can be a challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Calgary Stampede (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 22, 2013
Pros: "employee bucks" were used as cash for the employees
Cons: heat
A typical day of work included informing customers they were not allowed to park/ drive their vehicles into the protected area. There was really nothing new that I learned. I did though get to see how the Stampede was put together and how it recovered from the resent flooding that occurred in Southern Alberta. I never really got to see any of my co-workers, – more... we primarily worked alone. The hardest part of the job was having to stand for 8 hours in over 25 degree celsius, but we had water jugs at all stations. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to know new people and helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning place with rich western hospitality tradition
Mechanical Operator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 19, 2013
Pros: great learning place
Cons: pay is a lot lower compared to the rest companies in the industry
We usually start the day with rather informal round-table gathering in the morning. Our chief and assistant chief will tell us what work should be done or what concerns they have or special requests they received from other departments or dispatch center. They would then ask each individual of us who is willing/volunteering to handle these tasks. After – more... that, we will take care less urgent tasks such as keep preventative maintenance up to date or do the water tests.

I have learned how to interact with guests, coworkers, and with various trade people. I have also acquired more interpersonal and better customer service skills. Exposing myself to myriad equipment in the park make me more humble as almost everyday I am facing new challenges.

Our department manager always lead us by the example as they all worked their way from the bottom. I wouldn't want to be them (our chief and assistant chiefs) as our department is constantly running under the budget, not protected by the union and our new staffs constantly being lured by other companies as our wage is a lot lower than the rest of companies in the industry.

The hardest part of the job is probably a lot of building's HVAC design are done without HVAC/Refrigeration mechanics expertise opinions and lots of equipment are mix and matched (as air handler unit is Trane while AC and heating is Carrier) which make them aren't fully compliant with control system. Sometimes we have to pay extra money to have these kinds of issues rectified. The result of this is our department constantly operating under the budget. On top of that, all the other trades who work in the park are unionized but ours are not. Quite a lot of time the plumbers or electricians won't allow us to touch area that deals with piping or electricity on our own equipment which they have no previous training at all. Things can get frustrated if we have deadlines to meet.

The most enjoyable of this job is when we can resolve issues some contractors or engineer overlook or couldn't resolve; however, for this year it would be getting Stampede 2013 going after the entire park was ravaged by the flood despite having only 2 weeks to cleanup and setup. This not just proved together we are greatest, keeping the tradition going as well as keep the economy flowing as many business in the city and out of town all depend on this event. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average job
Usher (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 27, 2013
great for highschool / juniour high students
generally a high variety of jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for a short period of time
Sanitation personnel (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 30, 2013
Pros: good pay, short period of time
Cons: little to no breaks
-Walking around the BMO Hall C and "sweeping" up messes, changing the trash, taking out recycling and mopping up spills.
-Nothing new learned
-Management is alright
-co-workers are great, if you are working on the same time
-Hardest part, finding a mop or good cleaning supplies
-The co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult place to work
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: fun job
Cons: terrible management
The Howdy program is very difficult to be a part of. I enjoyed the job itself, although there is clear favortism by the leaders. They promote their family and friends, and they get hired because of their connections. I was very suprised to be hired, as I was only among a few that was hired without a friend who was a leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place for a Student worker
Security Staff /Bouncer /PT (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 12, 2013
Calgary Stampede is always welcoming students who ought to work short shifts and willing to make a considerable change in the society.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Co-workers and Supervisor
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 11, 2012
Pros: 50% of purchases on the grounds. prizes for doing a good job.
Cons: standing and walking for long hours
Work usually started at 8 am in the morning. It varied most of the time but normally it was an early shift. We worked till the evening. The Calgary stampede is a 12 day job, so this was a routine for about 12 days. I loved working at the stampede. The staffs and supervisor were super friendly and willingly to help you if you had any problem with your – more... schedule or just problems in general. There was a specific team I worked with everyday and by the end of Stampede, we became like a family. The teamwork was impeccable. Everyone helped each other when necessary. The hardest part of my job was probably dealing with customers when it got extremely busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to be a part of fun environement.
Food stock (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 8, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
Clock in and get ready to make an order and deliver it. Do this all day. Shifts go by quickly. Great team, great supervisors that care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cook Shake (Former Employee), Calgary,ABOctober 6, 2012
makes different type of sadwiches
takes order for French customers
Always make sure the place is clean

Co-worker were from different country , it was fun to learn from them about the difference working in canada and other country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and incompetent management create a negative culture.
Skilled professional (Former Employee), CalgarySeptember 1, 2012
Pros: occasional discounts on western clothing
Cons: the work environment, culture and management
The Calgary Stampede is one of the worst places I have worked in my entire career. It may be a fun place to work as a temporary employee during the 10 days of Stampede, but as a professional employee, it is a waste of your talents and time. I resigned within my first year of working there because the management are completely incompetent, bordering – more... on abusive. I discourage anyone who is thinking of working there based on my own experience and what I have seen taking place within the months since I resigned. Certainly do not work in the Human Resources department which has had more than 100 percent turnover in the past 2 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding experience
Sanitation Services (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 19, 2012
If given the opportunity I would take the job all over again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work part time but full time is not an option.
Sanitary Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, AlbertaJuly 24, 2012
Pros: easy job.
Cons: no hours.
Don't work here full time. The pay is not great, the hours are awful full time or part time.? The staff is friendly but you got to be out of your mind to work during the month of July ( that's when stampede is at it's peek ).
Overall I would rate it a 2 out of 5 because the hours are so inconsistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Security Guard/Surveillance (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 5, 2012
Pros: exciting, people, exhibitions, animals
Cons: standing, working hours
Irregular hours, often late at night or all night.
Learned about being in security and surveillance positions.
Supervisors were always friendly.
Co-workers were very friendly.
Standing for long periods of time.
Always happy people around.

About Calgary Stampede

The Calgary Stampede is a not-for-profit community organization that preserves and promotes western heritage and values. The – Read more