Calgary Stampede

Calgary Stampede Employee Reviews

Showing all 113 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work here!
Park Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 March 2017
I don't know where to start. Calgary Stampede is a blast! You get to meet people from all over the world, coming to Calgary to have an amazing time with our outdoor show. Co-Workers and supervisors are amazing and friendly and we even get to wear and keep those stylish cowboy hats.
Pros
Amazing work environment and food benefits.
Cons
Transit is packed if you take it to get to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and understanding managment with great opportunities
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 March 2017
Management and fellow employees are all very kind and understanding. They offer opporunities to further your skills with the company or remain where youre comfortable. Would highly reccomend.
Pros
discounts on food, beverages and attractions.
Cons
if outdoors: extreme hot weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but low pay
Cashier Assistant Concessions (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2017
It was fun to work here but the pay was minimum but the discount was awesome. Lots of people so it was always lively. Gave split shifts at wrong times so i had to stay there 12 hours.
Pros
Discounted lunches, fun
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Fun Place To Work
Venue Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2017
This was probably the best job I've ever had even though it was just for the summer. The work wasn't hard but it wasn't easy either. You could chat with people about their Stampede experience. Food was great and the breaks were nice
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace that had some pranctsters
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 February 2017
Team leader would dish out the work give who needs a radio one and sent them to do their jobs only came around when needed or to check the job near around the end of the shift The security staff can be pranksters
Pros
a free entry pin was given to staff when stampede came around
Cons
long hours sometimes over time was needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great atmospehere
Usher/Head Usher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 February 2017
I loved working for the Calgary Stampede. It is a great first job that teaches you amazing skills for the future and awesome customer services skills!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work as a youth during the summer
Grandstand Food Vendor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2017
My job required me to work for 4 hours from late morning to early evening of constant physically draining work and then we got a 3-hour break. After the break, we would resume our work until late-night and finally head home.
Pros
Good pay, free access to show, events e.t.c., Good People
Cons
Long Hours, Very Physical, Working Under the hot sun or sometimes rain
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the atmosphere and friendly people i worked for and with.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2017
I really enjoyed working for the stamped and would love to work for them again if given the opportunity.
I found very productive and straight forward information for my work ethic and job description
Pros
free entee
Cons
long walk thru park to work station
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
Games Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 January 2017
Tiring, Unorganized, didn't pay me the right amount, people were doing drugs. it sucked, my boss was late more than me but it taught me a lot working there
Pros
free entrance to stampede
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always have something to attend to
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 December 2016
A day at work always required you to come in early to help out the day shift as well as to make sure that transition works smoothly with a long line and many customers that want their food.
Cons
Hours were cut short
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Venue Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 December 2016
Super productive workplace,
the fun work environment was awesome
Management and coworkers, were awesome!!
Hardest part of the job was degreasing the floors
enjoyable part was doing the tear down
Pros
Fun work place
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experiance
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 October 2016
Got to work at the greatest outdoor show on earth. Was a very good experiance. Got to work in the rodeo around animals, kind of a high stress job some days due to the nature of the event.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very nice work place.
Venue Services Attendant - Grandstand, (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 September 2016
The work at Calgary Stampede was like serving the guests what they were needed. I learned from my work scope how peoples are appreciated others if we do work hard. Management was excellent who always were supported and encouraged staffs to do the best services for stampede visitors. It's look like all co-workers are very respectful each other and cooperative. There was nothing hardest part of the job as the work environment was given us to made satisfaction to our visitors. The most enjoyable part of the job when I had been awarded for my best services and hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress, High Reward
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 September 2016
The saying about the Stampede being quick, hard cash is no joke. You work 10 days, often working a couple before and after and therefore creating a tiring10 days but worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure BMO Center and surrounding Stampede Buildings
Team Lead and Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2016
The Calgary Stampede is a very dynamic place to work year round.
Working in the Security Department has given me a chance to see
what to takes to pull off a large scale 1,000,000 person event
too a small scale mom and pop event on Stampede Grounds.
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting people from all over
the world. Helping people makes me happy and being able to make them happy is a fulfilling career choice.
Pros
Free coffee and water, never mind the GREATEST OUTDOOR SHOW ON EARTH
Cons
Not full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Gate Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2016
It was a very nice working environment with free rides and few free shows. I counted all the money, recorded them, separated the petty cash, and deposited the rest of the amount. That's the work I did at that time. There were some nice coaches to guide me and the people like me.
Pros
pleasant work environment with free rides
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Volunteer Food Server/Assistance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2016
Everyone there is great to work with have't had one problem with any employ or manager. Learned lots from high experience employs that travel with the stampede.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Event Staff, Bar Security (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2016
Had to make sure this bar was a safe place.
Guided people to places they needed.
This was only a 10 day event.
I enjoyed my coworkers very much! In the beginning it was a little scary as this was my first time being security.
Pros
Everything was enjoyable
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience with a friendly and profession environment
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 September 2016
I was able to connect and work with my team mates quite well. I enjoyed conversing and giving proper service to each of our customers. The management that they offered was organized, professional and trusting. I learned to handle and secure cash, do inventory and maintain the good quality of our product.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cleaner, afternoon shift - 12 days (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 September 2016
Training on the job. Coworkers are close to same age, and team leader understands what needs to be done and helps when needed. Typical day run through of how we did the day before, head to suits and clean them, do any extra work then have break,then empty trashes form the kitchen and pantry. Lots of walking which is good. Direct the public if they have a hard time finding something. Hardest part is there is a lot of repetitive stuff like cleaning bathrooms.
Pros
pros: long break(s)
Cons
cons: taking out heavy trash
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 113 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Calgary Stampede Reviews by Location