Calgary Stampede Employee Reviews

Showing all 136 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a fun place to work and very welcoming
Prep and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 July 2017
great work area but unprofessional in some areas. Sometimes you were unaware of your work schedule, It was hard to get in contact with the supervisor or even harder to get into the park without a pass because they didn't give us work I.D
Pros
Free lunchs
Cons
unprofessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Park Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2017
i loved this opportunity! my co workers where really supportive and the pay rate was fantastic! you meet a lot of new people, and you get free lunches!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to be, but its always hot AF
Usher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2017
this was a fun place to work with lively and engaging people, everyone was always happy to be there and i got to be a part of the greatest outdoor show on earth.
Pros
always a joy to show up to work
Cons
start of july, Hot af
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Stampede
Guest Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 July 2017
It's a great place to work especially with no experience. Very friendly supervisors who are incredibly helpful when needed. Great overall place to work and great people to work with
Pros
Interacting with different people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stampede
Rover Patrol Worker (11 days) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 June 2017
when i worked at the stampede i was with the boys and girls club. working at the stampede was really fun i picked up garbage but i meet a lot of new friends. You always get to go to the stampede for free and than the last day they give you a free rides pass.
Pros
i got paid minnum wage
Cons
having to wear jeans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summar
Coordinator Broadcast Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 June 2017
I only worked for the stampede as a contractor. They were organized and company culture was great. The hours were long.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
culture
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, but easy work
Busser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 June 2017
The work was boring, as I was just standing around most of the time. I would prefer something better like restocking books or something. However, the work was easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work envioronment
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2017
Stampede provides a good stepping stone for future job opportunities. Being straight out of high school searching for a job was a hard thing to do, but the people employed me for the 2017 stampede year. I didn't need a lot of qualifications.
Pros
Enployee Pass
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stampede is a very enjoyable job
Park and Facilities Maintanance (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2017
Stampede is a very enjoyable job, very nice staff, treat you with respect and kindness. I had a lot of fun and still do. I will continue to work there as long as no other job opportunities arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good summer job
Suite Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
Worked during the summer as a suite attendant
pretty good first job, didn't really have to deal with any troublesome clients or bosses

got to have pretty flexible hours too
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
tough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Calgary Stampede?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for with free shows
Usher at Grandstand (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
I worked as an usher at Grandstand. Great place to meet different people. Although got busy at times when guests flood into the area at the last minute, it's quite relax and got to watch free shows once thing got settled. Never was a fan of rodeo or chuck wagon but started to find it exciting. Went online at home to learn a bit more of the races and found it a interesting race indeed.
Pros
never bored as new and different challenges from guest everyday
Cons
the 3 hours break in between shifts made the day way too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard,don't get many breaks
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2017
Bring lots of water and also bring a lunch because if not you have to pay for one.you do get a free pass for the end of the week but don't have much time before that
Pros
Free pass
Cons
Not a lot of breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Work Environment
Food Runner (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2017
In the Infield Suites, the atmosphere is fast-paced and supportive. Newer employees are taken in with open arms and trained in a way that sets them up for success in any work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work with plenty to do
Grounds Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2017
the work is simple but it keeps you busy so you're never bored and it also pays pretty well. The management is good and the hours are long. Being outside all day was a nice part of the job
Cons
Lon hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
USHER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 May 2017
working at the stampede is a lot of work, but its really fun at the sometime. It involves a lot of problem-sloving skills and communication skills. as a usher you spend your day dealing with customers, guiding them to their seats, answering questions, showing concerns for others safety , and other services.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long shifts, lots of time on your feet.
Parking assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
Worked long stressful shifts which required lots of walking and standing outside. Lots of talking with customers, helping customers and working with a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Infield Suites & Special Events Bartender (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
Bartending special events is always fast paced and extremely demanding, but there is always ample support from both bar-backs as well as supervisors. Great culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food stands
Calgary Stampede (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2017
Hard Labour, constantly on the move.

Learned how to work under pressure

Hardest part of the job was the heavy lifting and the rush hour

Most enjoyable part of the job was working with friends
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay place to work at for a first timer
Event Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
This was the first time that I ever got to work and got paid. I had a lot of fun and enjoyed my time working for the north american midway. It was hard at first but it got easier. Although it was a temporary job, it was still enough time for me to gain customer service and better communication skills!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work at
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
Everyone was friendly, the culture is so diverse. I always felt like i belonged somewhere and I loved it. The managers and my co-workers were amazing, and there are flexible hours which was amazing. Overall amazing place to be at.
Pros
Everything
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calgary Stampede. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 136 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Calgary Stampede Reviews by Location