Find companies:
Calgary Stampede
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Calgary Stampede Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place always on feet.
Busser (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 22, 2014
Very busy little time to relax always have to be able to move quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun work place
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 16, 2014
cleaned up the floors,table's,bathroom's,and took garbage and recycling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hard work , Fun to work with others
Litter partol (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 3, 2014
Pros: some days they would give us these free lunch passes
Cons: i would only get long hours if its a really busy day
a typical day at stampede wasn't to bad it was exciting to see people around me feel the need that they should be in a clean environment, I've learned that helping the global warming makes not only yourself but the community around you feel like its should be clean and feel good in a happy place, If it wasn't for my co-workers i wouldn't have been a – more... social person i am today, i would like to thanks everything they have done for me. The most hardest part of the job was the moving around part, around stampede time there's plenty of people walking around and it makes it hard for us to get around sometimes. The most enjoyable part of the job was that i got to see some of my friends and to experience the rides and stampede i really enjoyed that job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude.
Parking Attendant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 2, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: log hours, heat and disrespect.
They tell us at orientation that we should also show the customer the best experience and we should polite and kind, yet the management at the parking office is anything but. I do not appreciate being constantly talked down to and disrespected. I honestly tried to be happy and welcoming when I walked into the big 4 every morning but it would not be – more... reciprocated. The management believes that they are the only ones who can have a bad day and the employees are always having a great day. The management is horrible and the treatment of the employees is grotesque.

The other attendants I worked with however, were great! We were all in the same boat with learning how to properly do our jobs and everyone was very friendly out on the roads.

I would not recommend parking for anyone because it is a constant standing position, for 8 hours and you are in the sun constantly.

Also the pay is not high enough considering people in cars don't care about us and neither does the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun place to work and get to meet people all over the world when they come to see th e Indian Village.
Event Staff (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 12, 2014
Pros: get free meals at the bannock booth and down the midway
Cons: i just dont like working towards nighttime, the drunk people really gives the event stauff a hard time
There are different job sites in the Calgary Stampede and different shifts within the village.
I've learned a lot from the stampede board and the elder's what the Calgary stampede is all about?
We keep up with our duties in the village to keep it safe and welcome every visitor that comes in through that gate of the midway.
We always make sure our co-workers – more... do make it to work on time so we don't get ducted from our pay. We try to keep things simple and easy for the rest of the group.
The hardest part of the job is keeping the drunk people out of the village and safe for visitors to take a look around in the village.
We go and enjoy the grandstand show after every shift we get off and try to ride every ride in midway and have a jolly good time. my most enjoyment of the Calgary Stampede is going to the coca cola stage to watch my favorite bands play. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fulfilling work
Grandstand Venue Services Attendant (Former Employee), CalgaryMay 6, 2014
A typical day at work would go like this:
- Arrive at facilities
- Sign in with supervisor
- Work elevator for 8 hours
- Leave facilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant lll (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 29, 2014
Fun place to work with exceptional people.
Everyone always providing 100 % effort to make the events and the customer experience outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Chill
Security (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 7, 2014
Check ID's at the casino
Co-workers are very kind
During the day there is not much work but in the evening it is very busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job BUT beware... parking department is in midst of management crisis
Parking Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 27, 2014
Pros: fun events make for good atmosphere, flexible
Cons: weather, poorly managed, over worked
I loved the job and was such a proud Stampede employee but watching as prices rose, customer service levels fell and experienced, knowledgable staff were squeezed out became too much to bare. Management has proven unable to proactively plan and staff appropriately for annual events. Perpetual staff shortages mean staff are often over worked, undervalued – more... and unappreciated. Leading to high turn over and the cycle repeats. Management is unwilling or unable to do anything to change this cycle. Opportunities for advancement are reserved for favourites and not based on experience, knowledge or education. If you enjoy greeting people, providing information and directions and can work in an environment that does not value you and varies from crazy- cars everywhere, to ghost town- not a car to be seen, then working for parking might be for you. Ah ya, don't forget parking is outside so you need to be able to brave all weather conditions. The Stampede means a lot to me. It has potential to be a great place but at present I would recommend avoiding employment there especially in the parking department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment and good experience
Security (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 7, 2014
Pros: freedom/unsupervised, meet lots of people, get into stampede for free
Cons: long hours for 11 straight days, sometimes standing in the heat for hours, can be very boring
I met lots of new people working at the stampede, from all over the world. My co-workers were kind and hard working and my supervisor was one of the nicest men I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. I would have new experiences every day and learnt many new things in the 11 days that I worked there. I enjoyed the freedom of walking around the BMO centre – more... and interacting with people, whether I was answering their questions or they were answering mine. It got hard at night sometimes when people from the beer gardens would beg to get into the BMO centre to use the wash room and we had to continuously tell them it was closed or when people wouldn't leave when it was close. Overall it was a good experience and I would work there again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Mini Donuts, Seasonal Employee (Former Employee), Calgary,AlbertaMarch 7, 2014
I enjoyed working with people as a team there & I enjoyed making new friends at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administrative Assistant Intern (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2014
over all a great experience, would to have loved to stay and be apart of the team longer but left to continue on to get my medical office assistant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Usher (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: long hours
Amazing place, free shows and short and fun. Lots of experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young Fun Environment
Gate Administration (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers, great environment, flexible hours
Cons: strict dress code, low pay
This is a great place to look for a fun summer job. The 2 years I worked here I always had fun, and it was a great stepping stone for customer service experience. The management team was fun and all my co-workers became close friends. The hours were always reasonable and you had a decent amount of flexibility with when you could work. The only thing – more... I do not like about working for these guys is they discourage certain looks, anyone with piercings, colored hair or tattoos of any kind will either not be hired or will be asked to remove or cover them while at work, even the smallest of piercings like a nose stud or more than one piercing per ear. The other hard part of this job is you're standing all day in the sun, in black and your water bottle must be kept in the back storage area. The great co-workers and fun environment make up for the few places this job faulters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to start a career
administrative assistant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
a typical day at work is a long day and it can be busy one day and very slow the next day so it is very unpredictable. co-workers are very nice, different ages but it works and the hardest part of the job is when you sit there for hours and do not do anything because there is not enough work for everybody.
the most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers, – more... they are very friendly and easy to get along with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Meet Lots and people and learn different cultures
Facilities (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 22, 2014
Helped tourists at the stampede by assisting and meeting their needs.Helped keep the environment clean, and met great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job review
Concession worker (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaNovember 13, 2013
Worked on rides and concessions. Jobs at Stampede require patience with tourists and guests which at times can be a challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Calgary Stampede (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 22, 2013
Pros: "employee bucks" were used as cash for the employees
Cons: heat
A typical day of work included informing customers they were not allowed to park/ drive their vehicles into the protected area. There was really nothing new that I learned. I did though get to see how the Stampede was put together and how it recovered from the resent flooding that occurred in Southern Alberta. I never really got to see any of my co-workers, – more... we primarily worked alone. The hardest part of the job was having to stand for 8 hours in over 25 degree celsius, but we had water jugs at all stations. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to know new people and helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning place with rich western hospitality tradition
Mechanical Operator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 19, 2013
Pros: great learning place
Cons: pay is a lot lower compared to the rest companies in the industry
We usually start the day with rather informal round-table gathering in the morning. Our chief and assistant chief will tell us what work should be done or what concerns they have or special requests they received from other departments or dispatch center. They would then ask each individual of us who is willing/volunteering to handle these tasks. After – more... that, we will take care less urgent tasks such as keep preventative maintenance up to date or do the water tests.

I have learned how to interact with guests, coworkers, and with various trade people. I have also acquired more interpersonal and better customer service skills. Exposing myself to myriad equipment in the park make me more humble as almost everyday I am facing new challenges.

Our department manager always lead us by the example as they all worked their way from the bottom. I wouldn't want to be them (our chief and assistant chiefs) as our department is constantly running under the budget, not protected by the union and our new staffs constantly being lured by other companies as our wage is a lot lower than the rest of companies in the industry.

The hardest part of the job is probably a lot of building's HVAC design are done without HVAC/Refrigeration mechanics expertise opinions and lots of equipment are mix and matched (as air handler unit is Trane while AC and heating is Carrier) which make them aren't fully compliant with control system. Sometimes we have to pay extra money to have these kinds of issues rectified. The result of this is our department constantly operating under the budget. On top of that, all the other trades who work in the park are unionized but ours are not. Quite a lot of time the plumbers or electricians won't allow us to touch area that deals with piping or electricity on our own equipment which they have no previous training at all. Things can get frustrated if we have deadlines to meet.

The most enjoyable of this job is when we can resolve issues some contractors or engineer overlook or couldn't resolve; however, for this year it would be getting Stampede 2013 going after the entire park was ravaged by the flood despite having only 2 weeks to cleanup and setup. This not just proved together we are greatest, keeping the tradition going as well as keep the economy flowing as many business in the city and out of town all depend on this event. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average job
Usher (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 27, 2013
great for highschool / juniour high students
generally a high variety of jobs