Calgary Stampede Employee Reviews

Showing all 123 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work with plenty to do
Grounds Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2017
the work is simple but it keeps you busy so you're never bored and it also pays pretty well. The management is good and the hours are long. Being outside all day was a nice part of the job
Cons
Lon hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
USHER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 May 2017
working at the stampede is a lot of work, but its really fun at the sometime. It involves a lot of problem-sloving skills and communication skills. as a usher you spend your day dealing with customers, guiding them to their seats, answering questions, showing concerns for others safety , and other services.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long shifts, lots of time on your feet.
Parking assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
Worked long stressful shifts which required lots of walking and standing outside. Lots of talking with customers, helping customers and working with a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Infield Suites & Special Events Bartender (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
Bartending special events is always fast paced and extremely demanding, but there is always ample support from both bar-backs as well as supervisors. Great culture
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food stands
Calgary Stampede (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2017
Hard Labour, constantly on the move.

Learned how to work under pressure

Hardest part of the job was the heavy lifting and the rush hour

Most enjoyable part of the job was working with friends
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay place to work at for a first timer
Event Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
This was the first time that I ever got to work and got paid. I had a lot of fun and enjoyed my time working for the north american midway. It was hard at first but it got easier. Although it was a temporary job, it was still enough time for me to gain customer service and better communication skills!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work at
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
Everyone was friendly, the culture is so diverse. I always felt like i belonged somewhere and I loved it. The managers and my co-workers were amazing, and there are flexible hours which was amazing. Overall amazing place to be at.
Pros
Everything
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exilent
Park Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 April 2017
A Typical day at work consists of Arriving at 7:00am. I mostly just Helped maintain the cleanness of the Stampede Grounds. I learned a lot of new skills during this job such as time management and and some creative ways to get things done. The management was Alright. I think the hardest part of the job was having to work outside in the heat all the time. the most enjoyable part of the job was bonding with other workers
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Hot weather
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with great people
"Juicy's" Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 April 2017
it was fun but the long twelve hour days did not help, the staff was very fun and energetic. the pay was good but it was not for a long period of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 April 2017
fun place to work, employers are all considerate of your concerns and listen to your problems and tries to fix them, however the wage and hours suck...
Pros
good people
Cons
hours suck, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work here!
Park Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 March 2017
I don't know where to start. Calgary Stampede is a blast! You get to meet people from all over the world, coming to Calgary to have an amazing time with our outdoor show. Co-Workers and supervisors are amazing and friendly and we even get to wear and keep those stylish cowboy hats.
Pros
Amazing work environment and food benefits.
Cons
Transit is packed if you take it to get to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and understanding managment with great opportunities
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 March 2017
Management and fellow employees are all very kind and understanding. They offer opporunities to further your skills with the company or remain where youre comfortable. Would highly reccomend.
Pros
discounts on food, beverages and attractions.
Cons
if outdoors: extreme hot weather
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but low pay
Cashier Assistant Concessions (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2017
It was fun to work here but the pay was minimum but the discount was awesome. Lots of people so it was always lively. Gave split shifts at wrong times so i had to stay there 12 hours.
Pros
Discounted lunches, fun
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Fun Place To Work
Venue Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2017
This was probably the best job I've ever had even though it was just for the summer. The work wasn't hard but it wasn't easy either. You could chat with people about their Stampede experience. Food was great and the breaks were nice
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace that had some pranctsters
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 February 2017
Team leader would dish out the work give who needs a radio one and sent them to do their jobs only came around when needed or to check the job near around the end of the shift The security staff can be pranksters
Pros
a free entry pin was given to staff when stampede came around
Cons
long hours sometimes over time was needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great atmospehere
Usher/Head Usher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 February 2017
I loved working for the Calgary Stampede. It is a great first job that teaches you amazing skills for the future and awesome customer services skills!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work as a youth during the summer
Grandstand Food Vendor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2017
My job required me to work for 4 hours from late morning to early evening of constant physically draining work and then we got a 3-hour break. After the break, we would resume our work until late-night and finally head home.
Pros
Good pay, free access to show, events e.t.c., Good People
Cons
Long Hours, Very Physical, Working Under the hot sun or sometimes rain
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the atmosphere and friendly people i worked for and with.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2017
I really enjoyed working for the stamped and would love to work for them again if given the opportunity.
I found very productive and straight forward information for my work ethic and job description
Pros
free entee
Cons
long walk thru park to work station
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
Games Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 January 2017
Tiring, Unorganized, didn't pay me the right amount, people were doing drugs. it sucked, my boss was late more than me but it taught me a lot working there
Pros
free entrance to stampede
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always have something to attend to
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 December 2016
A day at work always required you to come in early to help out the day shift as well as to make sure that transition works smoothly with a long line and many customers that want their food.
Cons
Hours were cut short
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calgary Stampede. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 123 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

84%
46 ratings
Add your rating

Calgary Stampede Reviews by Job Title

Calgary Stampede Reviews by Location