Calgary Stampede Employee Reviews

Showing all 143 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heartbeat of Calgary!
Chef, Catering Chef (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 September 2017
Great environment to work in,lots of good people working there as well. Opportunity to meet and mingle with diverse slew of visitors globally and respectful work environment.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Not open 24/7
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Seasonal Work
Venue Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 September 2017
I only worked at the Calgary Stampede for about 14 days over the course of the Stampede one summer. For what it was I thought it was generous pay, easy, and fun. I worked seasonal handling cleaning in the Grandstand building before, during and after the Calgary Stampede. Most people I met were young students in high school/university, new Canadians, and met some people employed straight from the Drop-In Centre which I thought was great. Everyone I met, including management was nice and professional. You definitely work a lot of longs days over the course of 10-14 days or so, but it's over quick and pays off well. Would have gone back the next year if I hadn't had another job and would suggest it to anyone looking for some quick work over the Summer.
Pros
Good pay, friendly people
Cons
Long days, lots of shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good jobfield
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2017
Besides the decent to low hours in my department, and working minimum wage in my parking department I have to say I really enjoy working with the majority of the staff and management throughout my job because of how nice, caring and laid back my department is, but I'd only recommend this job if anyone just wants to make extra cash along side another job since you're not working constant hours because of the scheduling and the event times so there only little opportunity to work long hours.
Pros
Amazing and supportive management and staff
Cons
Not a lot of hours and the pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work experience
Ticket Sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2017
Working at the Calgary stampede was an extremely fun experience , even though you work long hard shifts the benefits are awesome and you're surrounded in a friendly fun environment the whole time!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 August 2017
The one thing I hated doing when working here is that I loved it, and also that I had to work in the facilities, but either way the people I worked with, and the people I was around were just amazing, for the first time working the washrooms only one person ended up throwing up all week. Haha
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Muscles cramped alot from working to hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2017
Fantastic way to make money fast so you don't need to spend too much time on it, the staff is awesome, fun and energetic and is always great to work with. Definitely, takes a toll on you though so be prepared for that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Venue Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2017
it was a fun time working for the Calgary stampede because of the friendly environment, and numerous amounts of people that came to celebrate a tradition to all.
Pros
half off lunches
Cons
nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a fun place to work and very welcoming
Prep and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 July 2017
great work area but unprofessional in some areas. Sometimes you were unaware of your work schedule, It was hard to get in contact with the supervisor or even harder to get into the park without a pass because they didn't give us work I.D
Pros
Free lunchs
Cons
unprofessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Park Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2017
i loved this opportunity! my co workers where really supportive and the pay rate was fantastic! you meet a lot of new people, and you get free lunches!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to be, but its always hot AF
Usher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2017
this was a fun place to work with lively and engaging people, everyone was always happy to be there and i got to be a part of the greatest outdoor show on earth.
Pros
always a joy to show up to work
Cons
start of july, Hot af
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Stampede
Guest Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 July 2017
It's a great place to work especially with no experience. Very friendly supervisors who are incredibly helpful when needed. Great overall place to work and great people to work with
Pros
Interacting with different people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stampede
Rover Patrol Worker (11 days) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 June 2017
when i worked at the stampede i was with the boys and girls club. working at the stampede was really fun i picked up garbage but i meet a lot of new friends. You always get to go to the stampede for free and than the last day they give you a free rides pass.
Pros
i got paid minnum wage
Cons
having to wear jeans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summar
Coordinator Broadcast Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 June 2017
I only worked for the stampede as a contractor. They were organized and company culture was great. The hours were long.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
culture
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, but easy work
Busser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 June 2017
The work was boring, as I was just standing around most of the time. I would prefer something better like restocking books or something. However, the work was easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work envioronment
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2017
Stampede provides a good stepping stone for future job opportunities. Being straight out of high school searching for a job was a hard thing to do, but the people employed me for the 2017 stampede year. I didn't need a lot of qualifications.
Pros
Enployee Pass
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stampede is a very enjoyable job
Park and Facilities Maintanance (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2017
Stampede is a very enjoyable job, very nice staff, treat you with respect and kindness. I had a lot of fun and still do. I will continue to work there as long as no other job opportunities arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good summer job
Suite Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
Worked during the summer as a suite attendant
pretty good first job, didn't really have to deal with any troublesome clients or bosses

got to have pretty flexible hours too
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
tough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for with free shows
Usher at Grandstand (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
I worked as an usher at Grandstand. Great place to meet different people. Although got busy at times when guests flood into the area at the last minute, it's quite relax and got to watch free shows once thing got settled. Never was a fan of rodeo or chuck wagon but started to find it exciting. Went online at home to learn a bit more of the races and found it a interesting race indeed.
Pros
never bored as new and different challenges from guest everyday
Cons
the 3 hours break in between shifts made the day way too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard,don't get many breaks
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2017
Bring lots of water and also bring a lunch because if not you have to pay for one.you do get a free pass for the end of the week but don't have much time before that
Pros
Free pass
Cons
Not a lot of breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Work Environment
Food Runner (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2017
In the Infield Suites, the atmosphere is fast-paced and supportive. Newer employees are taken in with open arms and trained in a way that sets them up for success in any work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calgary Stampede. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 143 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

87%
58 ratings
Add your rating

Calgary Stampede Reviews by Location