Calgary Co-operative Association Limited

Calgary Co-operative Association Limited Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 June 2017
Difficult quotas, over management, poor layout, reasonable pay, good benefits, overtime, bonus system, good work colleagues, flexible start times, old equipment, voice order picking system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adequate job & Strong membership pros
Cashier/Back-Up Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 June 2017
None. I was put on stress leave after being told I would get more than 4 hour shifts due to travelling from out of Calgary. After nearly three months it ended up costing me not only monetarily but mentally, hence stress leave from my family doctor.
Pros
Membership
Cons
Caddy co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 June 2017
Was a great company to work for. Lots of training and great leadership. Friendly environment. Lots of bonuses for jobs well done. Would definitely work for that company again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall rating is an 8
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 May 2017
It was my happy place, and I loved the customers; the products and promotions; the community. What a great location, what fantastic people!! Fast-paced; diverse clientele;excellent fresh to go dept.; aesthetically, one of the nicest stores in North America; various depts. like produce the recipient of awards,(well-deserved!). Some of the nicest/ most successful people live or work in that area, and it's a real pleasure to serve them and their families. I was treated exceptionally well by our customers, and I'm grateful for all the job encompassed. Great experience.
Pros
The people
Cons
None ( Not able to answer your question re CEO as I have no opinion)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Pump Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 May 2017
typical day was to attend to vehicles and pump the gas wash the windows and occasionally walk in cash for the customer, the rest of the day was followed up by daily tasks
Pros
can really do whatever u want no one cared at all
Cons
that you could do anything you wanted and the staff didn't care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Gas Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2017
A good choices for summer job. Working environment is depend on weather.
Constantly deal with chemicals that may harm the skin.
Job benefit with dental care after three month
Pros
n/a
Cons
unsafe working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
The people were helpful, always available if you have a question even from my home. The customers were nice.

When I received tips, I had to report it.
Cons
Have to report tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but few hours and low wages
Bakery utility clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 April 2017
I've been at Co-op for over two years now, and I love most of my co-workers, I've made some great friends. A regular day at work is just going through the motions, answering customer questions (and more and more frequent complaints) My issue is that head office does not recognize just how much work has to be done (especially in the bakery) and they decide how many hours each department gets based on how much money said department makes. Now this is good in theory, but in practice it just doesn't work. Departments like the grocery department will make the most money, but have the least amount of work to do. Everyone's hours have been cut but yet the same amount of work is expected to be completed, and as a result we are always running behind. There is also the issue of wages, before minimum wage went up I had been making over the minimum, but once it went up to 12.20 I was making the same as everyone below me, its sad that after being a loyal employee for years and excelling at my job, I am worth the same to the company as a new person with no knowledge. The only way to get a raise is to work 1250 hours, and as a student this has not been possible for me. I would still have felt better if my skill over new employees was acknowledged, especially after assisting in the training of some of them.
Pros
Fun work environment, flexible hours
Cons
low wages, no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, loved my job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 March 2017
It's all good! There isn't enough room here to tell you how I feel about the store and the customers; the promotions and products. Diverse. fast-paced.
Pros
Great customers, great music; love the products and promotions
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
MEAT SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 March 2017
The job was fantastic til about the last 2 and half years when the company slashed hours and staffing. My my work load kept increasing to the point where I was putting 2 to 4 hours extra off the clock to keep up.

I take great pride in my job and could not leave before the tasks where complete.
Pros
good wages and benefits
Cons
Upper management not realizing what the conditions are like at store level
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace to work at, management not so great
Produce Utility Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 February 2017
working there got me working with a lot of customers and got me becoming great at customer service, as well as helped me expand my knowledge and experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attentive to school needs
Bakery, Deli, Grocery & Produce Utility Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2017
I was able to work here and go to school because the company was understanding of my needs as a student. I have had a bad experience with one of the managers but I believe this allowed me to grow and learn how to stick up for myself.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and organized work environment
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee) –  High River, AB8 February 2017
Typically, a day at work had very busy times and very slow times. The job was not hard per say but it took a lot of concentration and problem solving at times.
The management was always very helpful and organized
The culture of the workplace was clean, fun but sometimes very stressful
The hardest part of the job was dealing with two of the employees. I tried for a long time to make things work with them and we could not see eye to eye on anything. eventually i worked it out with my boss that i would not have to work shifts with them as to avoid conflict
The best part of working for Calgary Co op was all the friends i made, both employees and customers, and everything was easy to find and use because the workplace was cleaned regularly and supplies were maintained
Pros
meal tickets if you worked over time, employee discounts
Cons
sometimes inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Summer Job
Gas Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB, Deerfoot Meadows7 February 2017
Pay is what you expect for filling up cars. If you're taking the job, make sure you dress for the weather, from 30+ in the summer to below freezing, you're outside in it all. Management is questionable, I wanted to work only after 9am in the summer as i wasn't an early riser, but i found myself taking earlier and earlier shifts because someone was sick, or didn't show, and i knew no one else would, so I stepped up. Eventually I was opening at 6am. The customers are lovely to chat with, you'll get a couple here and there who try and scam you, but if you keep your wits about you it's all in a days work.
Pros
very simple job, good experience
Cons
8 hours standing on concrete
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work environment
Produce Utility Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 February 2017
I have learned more about produce and handling on product that I ever imagined I would.

The hardest part is when order comes in we separate, rotate, and code date every night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very positive
Grocery Utility Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 February 2017
the only reason I had to quit was because when i was hired I had a lot going on with school. The hours were great and the managers were very accommodating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Deli Utility Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2017
It was a good place to work. Nothing exciting about the job. Very basic skills needed to complete task. Not challenging. Easy way to make some money P/T.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 November 2016
strongly recommend a job here. Flexible hours, great pay. Love the union. Make friends for life. Great place to start a career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB14 October 2016
I quite enjoyed working for Co-op, it was a good learning experience that also allowed me to earn some money and meet new and lovely people. Everyone that worked there was really nice and even though things got a bit overwhelming sometimes, we always managed to do a good job.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
A lot of night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
doing job at coop is fun ...
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 September 2016
best customer service coworker are are great good environment management stick to there goals every one is quite skilled person
Pros
breaks long week end offs in alternative
Cons
wages and they cut too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calgary Co-operative Association Limited. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Calgary Co-operative Association Limited Reviews by Job Title

Calgary Co-operative Association Limited Reviews by Location