Find companies:
Calgary Co-op
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Calgary Co-op Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students
Gas Pump Attendant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 31, 2014
Pros: cheap coffee, flexible scheduling.
Cons: monotony, lack of fulfillment.
Calgary Co-op is the perfect place for a university student to work. They are flexible with schedules, allowing a person to dedicate a proper amount of time for to school, while allowing them to make an income. The culture at the job is made up by the people, and while you won't get along with everyone, Co-op employees are generally very social and – more... friendly. The most difficult part of the job is the monotony of it; daily tasks are the same and very rarely stimulating, making the hardest part of working at Co-op feeling fulfilled in your work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good.
Cashier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 8, 2014
it's a great place to work, people are friendly and it's a relaxed environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), airdrie,albertaJuly 8, 2014
hardest part of job was putting up with the the manager he was just so quiet and watched you while you worked
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Front end service clerk (Former Employee), calgaryMay 13, 2014
Even though it was an entry level job it was frustrating to have so little hours. I was hoping work would be more regular.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pumped Gas
Gas Station Supervisor (Former Employee), calgary, abJanuary 21, 2014
Supervised staff. Learned a lot. Learned how to do payroll.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: smile rewards
Cons: occasionally super busy
Working at the busiest stores in calgary, store number one, is fun most often. I learnt much about time management and customer satisfaction. Managers are great a fun to work with, driven and passionate about their work. Co workers come from all over the world of different age groups and back grounds. The hardest part of the job is during extremely – more... busy days when many items on shelves need filling almost immediately.I like this job very much, keeps me fit and i get the chance to socialize with people from different countries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Full Serve Attendant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 10, 2013
You learn a pretty decent amount about vehicles if you don't know much about them, management is always good and fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Grocery Utility Clerk (Current Employee), Creekside, NWJune 28, 2013
Pros: looks after employees
Cons: a dead end job
It's a paycheck. Good people, safe workplace, great management, an occasional very busy day, helping customers is the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality company
File Maintenance Coordinator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 17, 2013
Pros: flexable hours
Cons: weekend work
Great opportunities available for advancement.
Good company values.
community oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, physically taxing.
Front End Service Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 14, 2013
Pros: free munchies, cheap groceries.
Cons: constantly standing.
Customer-focused work, growing the ability to talk with new people on the fly. Managers are smart and easily accessible when they're needed. When co-workers fail to get along there is a fairly comfortable mutual avoidance, but most are friendly and social. Work is surprisingly physical, you're on your feet for your entire shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
deli survice clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 7, 2013
Pros: make friends that will last a life time
Cons: long hours un balanced schedule
family like environment and very with managers who are open to talk to there staf to make sure that everyone is happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 8, 2013
-Typical day at work was assisting customers (providing customer service) and balance monies at the end of each day.
-I learned to become a better people person, and also the important ways of how money is handled daily.
-Management and co-workers were the best part of the job, everyone got along well and made it a better workplace.
-Hardest part of – more... the job is when you have unhappy customers- need to learn to deal with it in the best way.
-Most enjoyable part of the job is the friendliness and fun interaction we have with co-workers and also customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calgary Co-op Cashier
Customer Service Agent/Cashier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 7, 2013
I currently work at Calgary Co-op as a Cashier. It is a great experience to learn a lot about customer service and handling difficult situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work! Wonderful employees and management!
grocery clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 1, 2013
Pros: afternoons free, friendly employees, team incentives
Cons: very early shifts
I really enjoyed working here and often wish I could go back had I not moved away. I stocked shelves during the early morning hours up to noon. There was strong teamwork and team incentives and everyone was welcoming and friendly. I had many opportunities to explore other areas of the store as well including file maintenance. The hardest part of the – more... job was adjusting to such an extreme schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical job
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 30, 2013
it was a very physically challenging job and most of the times people were really nice and appreciated the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed working for Calgary Co-op for 19+ years.
Cashier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: job security, benefits even for part-time workers
Cons: working varied shifts as opposed to regular shifts.
I have always enjoyed new challenges, interesting new marketing and merchandising strategies over the years, and have found setting up new casms and displays to be most enjoyable. Calgary Co-op is a good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed meeting new people everyday
Cashier/ Fill in Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: fun environment
Cons: inconsistant hours
It was a pretty fun job, and upbeat environment. I enjoyed the people I worked with. I learned how to properly inspect and fill propane tanks. The hardest part of the job would be inconsistant hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was making sure the customer was more than satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Calgary albertaAugust 13, 2012
Pros: the pay was great
Cons: working evenings and weekends
Customer service, stocking shelves, ordering and wrapping meat
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Strathmore, ABJune 21, 2012
I worked at the Co-op Pharmacy for 14 years. Loved people that i worked with and customers. I have all and every knowledge needed for this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Produce Utility Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 30, 2012
Pros: the great work enviroment and friendly peaple
Cons: the retail hours can be demanding.
It has been a very fulfilling work environment. I work with skilled and knowledgeable management and staff.The typical day at Co-op is filled with many challenges and a very fast paced environment. There are many challenges every and all day ,it forces you to be on your toes every day.The day to day challenges are frustrating and fulfilling every day. – more... I am thankful for the experiences at co-op. – less