Cactus Club Cafe Employee Reviews

Found 110 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not impressed
server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 August 2017
worked there quite a while ago,I personally found most of the management great, but very dramatic environment and is very political. The training program is good, the shifting is absolutely terrible and it is not an easy Job to work if you would also like to have a social life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for young people
Barback (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC7 August 2017
Fun for young people. Cactus club was a great place to work and make money. Communications between you and management has no transparency and they will not treat you fairly
Pros
people
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Fun!
HOSTESS/BUSSER (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC1 August 2017
lots of new faces every day
added knowledge to my customer service experience
culture is very inviting, however sexist in some instances
had to wear heels and do makeup everyday, which is unfair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 July 2017
On the paper the management, workplace culture and marvellous team are perfect. However, something doesn't working very well because co worker doesn't help. They just think in your job. they don't think like a team.
Pros
Discount meals
Cons
Long hours stand up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was able to work lots and make good money
Server (Current Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC9 July 2017
Was able to work lots and make good money. Staff was great. Busy fast paced environment. Busiest serving job I've had. Was full time and always had long and plenty of shifts in a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 July 2017
Always a good time at work with the positive energy and lovely people. They always try their best to accomodate your needs. The atmosphere is great to be in and to gain experience.
Pros
50% discount
Cons
not enough hours for summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Canada First Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2017
great place to get some kitchen experience under your belt fast paced and good team amtes.
great compary culture is what kept me around. they only hire good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and good managment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC27 June 2017
Great work environment.Had the opportunity to move up within the company or switch roles. Managers were friendly and easy to approach. Very professional workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place dude
Host, Expo, Server (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC16 June 2017
it was good, good food, great drinks. amazing d├ęcor, just the tables and chairs alone are enough to make you want to work there. and the lighting is amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC15 June 2017
Great team of staff, amazing management with dedication to train each staff individually and bring the best out of you every shift. Fair wages and opportunity to move forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 June 2017
I worked at cactus for almost 2 years as a line cook and while I did love it when i first started i think that you become less appreciated after a while but you get stuck with more and more responsibilities without recognition. Basically if you're considered always good at your job they don't appreciate anything you do for them because that's what is expected from you. Other than being underappreciated, i think it teaches you a lot of life skills like standards and work habits and respect. i have learned so much from the company and their core values i do recommend this as a workplace but the fast paced environment isnt for everyone.
Pros
great people, staff discount and sometimes gift certificates, fun staff parties
Cons
long hours, low pay for what you do, when understaffed you are worked to the bone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cactus Club Management
Junior Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 June 2017
Cactus is a great company to work for if you work under the right senior management. As a manager, the workload is extremely large and exhausting but the pay is good for an entry level position. If you put in a lot of hours, the opportunity to move up is there.
Pros
Great people to work with, room for growth
Cons
Long hours, no flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it my favourite job so far
Prep Cook and line cook (Former Employee) –  Park Royal, BC13 June 2017
Loved the in ironing, the team work, the professionalism. Just the right amount of friends and work, I really learned a lot here. Though the hours are insane.
Pros
Awesome food, great friends, chances to advance
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very fast paced environment
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC13 June 2017
Super awesome place to star your career at the line. They train you well and everyone helps you at the beginning. The line is well organized and the dishes look great. Nice place to get consistency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcuctive and fun place to work.
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver5 June 2017
Great place, this was the first Cactus club so it has alot of history. Great leaders and wonderful regular guests. Management always had time to make me feel welcomed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fast paced, a real fun company to work with
Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 May 2017
Typically the start of the shift is rough as you need to take over from the previous line cooks. Hardest part of the job would be the closing as it takes multiple hours (using leaving around 3-4:30am) but everyone in the kitchen helps each station close which makes it faster and more enjoyable. Cactus has an amazing workplace culture, everyone I've met there I have enjoyed working with.
Pros
Good amount of hours, nice co-workers
Cons
Long hours, sometimes would not get breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Line Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC10 May 2017
the entire Cactus Club cafe team was incredible to work with. The management team was there to help and make you grow without you asking and they had quality at the top of there list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Hostess and Busser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 May 2017
A typical day at work was a positive experience. I learned how to work with other people and communicate effectively. I also learned how to do more than one task at a time and be more efficient. The culture of the workplace feels like going to a club, not like going to work. The hardest part of the job was trying to please customers during busy hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people that I worked with.
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Chef
Kitchen Partner (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC3 May 2017
Cactus Club Cafe is a great place to work, but it really depends on the chef that you have, and the management team that is present. Unfortunately the head chef at the cactus i worked at was an absolute nightmare. He was extremely unprofessional and was never around when you needed him. Overall Cactus was a nice experience and I would recommend it as an entrance into the culinary world, but unless you want to veer away from the culinary side and move towards people management and business management, I would stay away.
Pros
Great people, positive environment
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Hostess (Current Employee) –  West Edmonton Mall, AB1 May 2017
Good hours. Great people to work with. Awesome time. A typical day at work is fast-paced and fun. I learned to move quickly and give customers a quality high-end experience. Management are incredibly helpful and always willing to work through any problems you have, and co-workers are friendly and accommodating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cactus Club Cafe. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 113 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

90%
40 ratings
Add your rating