Find companies:
Cabela's Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Cabela's Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and lack of training
Warehouse outfitter (Current Employee), Tulalip, WaJune 27, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: poor management and no training
Although the majority of employees have a pretty good attitude, everyone is set up for failure. This is due largely to the lack of training for everyone from management on down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours
club booth outfitter (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTJune 19, 2013
Pros: a lot of hours and over time
Cons: management kept changing.
always had extra hours available. alot of cross-training. management was great and friendly, easy to talk too. staff was friendly. learned to use micosoft excel and power point. taught me to sell credit cards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, fun and educational work experience in a warehouse setting
Night Stock Associate (Former Employee), Scarborough, MEJune 11, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: poor management, unreliable hours
- A typical day at work consisted of a few core things. Those are as follows: clock in and grab your RF Unit for inventory management and auto-order adjustments, team up to unload a floor-packed truck, sort freight into palletized crates which would then be worked to the sales floor, merchandise product, backstock excess and use spare time to inventory – more... warehouse backstock.
- I felt that management here was a bit misguided at times. We had two night shift supervisors who were on two completely different pages at all times. On top of that, their manager was on a different page as well which resulted in a lot of confusion as to what tasks we were required to complete, how we were supposed to complete the tasks and in what order they were to be done.
- Considering the store size, we generally operated with a staff of approximately six to eight people at any given time. They were some of the hardest working people I have ever had the opportunity to work with.
- The hardest part of the job was unloading the truck. Everything was floor packed, floor to ceiling, front to back, in a long-bed trailer. Often times close to a solid two hours would be spent simply lifting cases of product and sliding them down the conveyor belt to the front of the truck for others to sort. This was generally accomplished with two or three people moving freight out of the truck.
- The most enjoyable thing about the job was being able to work around a hunting/fishing department store. A lot of what we sold interested me as I am a hunter and fisherman myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Maintenance/Housekeeping (Current Employee), Glendale, Az.June 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: advancement
Great company it is just hard to advance. More work performed by those that are not management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive workforce
Human Resources Representative (Former Employee), Triadelphia, WVJune 10, 2013
Pros: free coffee, tea, purified water and ice available in breakrooms
The corporate culture is far more fabulous than at the site level, however, an overall wonderful place to work. They become family/
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect to work hard and move up
Deli outfitter (Former Employee), East Hartford, CTJune 8, 2013
I worked at the Deli department in the East Hartford store. Most of the time we were understaffed and overwhelmed, borderline slave labor. I would be the only one on the grill line, serving a line of 60 customers by myself. I worked hard, came in early, came in on my free time to prep when we switched to a new menu and there was so much to do. Being – more... a culinary student, I enjoyed my job a lot. I was dedicated and knowledgeable, showed up on time, stayed late. Did any task assigned to me.

In both of my reviews, I was told I had the potential to be a department lead. A lead position finally opened up and they hired outside the company. Go figure. Then Obama Care happened and my hours were cut and then cut down more to compensate for all the extra hours I worked in the past. It's too bad Cabela's does not value hard working individuals. The only reason we're there, is because they haven't figured out a way to run a store without people yet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Lead Sign Shop Coordinator (Former Employee), Reno, NevadaJune 6, 2013
Pros: gave me freedom to move within my position
Cons: i cannot think of any
Learned to provide advanced administrative support in that it was my duty to plan, arrange, assess, manage, and delegate all media images, ads, and signage Cabela’s received for upper management to place, advertise, and relate to their employees and customers.

This position with Cabelas has taught me many qualities including how to effectively manage – more... time, deadlines, how to manage people, work as a team and in doing so has made me confident in my abilities as a responsible employee – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Great place to work
Casual Clothing Lead (Current Employee), Charleston, WVJune 5, 2013
Pros: working with great people and customers.
Cons: distance to drive
Working at cabelas is fun everyday with new skills and knowledge learned everyday. Working in a fun enivorment with great people, I enjoy helping others and learnign of their adventures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Glendale, AZJune 5, 2013
Pros: there are times where there are free lunches, gift cards, free products, the schedules do come out three weeks in advance
Cons: but you have to give five weeks in advance notice if you need time off
Work in the camping department it is fun to help outfit the customers. My co-workers are fun to work with. Management has its moments where they do things that are great then you have more days where you feel like even though you give 100% is not good enough. There is no investing in the good employees to help them grow with the company. Not getting – more... many hours working part time. So don't count it to live off it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work for
firearms (Current Employee), Richfield, WIMay 29, 2013
Cons: too many to list
I experienced very little support from upper management. And don't plan on support from human resources, they are completely incompetent. They are only out for themselves. It's a numbers game. Being employed there you will not be unique or special. Everyone was replaceable. And if you have an opinion you will be replaced before you even see it coming. – more... Beware......this is not a company to build your future with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cabela's
Web Specialist (Former Employee), Sidney, NEMay 6, 2013
Built product presentations for Cabelas.com that mirrored catalog presentations resulting in a consistent and polished look consumers found appealing and intuitive. Prioritized product features based on market conditions, shifts in target audiences and promotional efforts, increasing profits even as retail outlets struggled in 2008. Streamlined practices – more... for business units to push out web content through the main site so revenue opportunities could be captured without delay. Created a style guide for featured products departments and multiple users could reference resulting in a consistent message format acceptable to buyers, marketers and external customers. Collaborated with copywriters to help create accurate and easy to comprehend copy to complement related images, charts, and other information specific to individual product presentations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture and Core Values
Outfitter (Current Employee), Gonzales LouisianaApril 29, 2013
Pros: ease of work, discount, experience
Cons: work every weekend, change of procedures often
Cabelas in Gonzales, LA is a fun place to work. It is always busy with a lot going on. As a company they have a great value system and most of the outfitters (employees) care about where they work. The management staff is very easy going and easy to get along with. As with all retailers they tend to have a lot of short term employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was not bad
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Wheeling, WVApril 20, 2013
Pros: it was a clean job
Cons: it was to far away
I unloaded truck and put away.I learned how to scan and my co-workers very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are nice to work with
Processor (Former Employee), Sidney, NEApril 15, 2013
Pros: free lunch if weekly goals were met
Cons: dirty work place
I learned how to slow down and do the job right.
The hardest part of the job was the physical parts.
the most enjoyable part of the job was that my co-workers were willing to help if It was needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cabela's Inc.
Desktop Support Specialist 1 (Current Employee), Sidney, NeApril 8, 2013
Pros: healthcare, benefits, management, culture
Cabela's is a great place to work because of it huge part in the Outdoors lifestyle. Cabela's is a company made up of many different types of cultures and heritages among it's employees which makes it a very diverse place to work. Employees of Cabela's are great people to work around because they are very involve with Cabela's and they love the Outdoors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Club Booth Outfitter (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILApril 3, 2013
A typical day is when I would open and or close the club booth (where people sign up for credit cards), preparing what was needed for the day. I learned about different types of credit cards and what was optional, for example, life lock and payment assurance. I had a great relationship with both my managers and co-workers. The hardest part of this job, – more... since this is retail was of course black Friday. Having multiple people pulling you in a million ways. I really enjoyed working with everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were great, management, not so great
Retail Outfitter (Former Employee), Rogers, MNApril 3, 2013
I worked weekends their my first 2 years of college and the job was fun, working with hunting/outdoor gear other employees were fun and great people to learn from. Management seemed to not always be on top of things, and some were extremely rude. As far as I know most of the managers that were there when I was there are no longer employed. Overall, – more... the discounts on gear made everything worth while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing, fast-paced environment
Cabela's CLUB Sr. PMO Manager (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEApril 2, 2013
A typical day at work is made up of managing a team of project managers, business analysts, system testers, resource managers and various developers. The facilities are top notch and co-workers are amazing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage merchandise locations in the distribution center
Shelf Assignment (Former Employee), Triadelphia, WVApril 2, 2013
Pros: very challenging job.
Cons: seasonal, no benefits
Using barcode scanner, determine size of item, quantity of items.
Find a location for items using the size and quantity information.
Management was helpful.
Good people to work with.
The hardest part was finding locations that were available or changing an items location if there was little to no items left.
Very challenging
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for the outdoorsman or woman, meet and learn from a lot of people as well as help them too.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Wheeling, WVMarch 23, 2013
Depending on the shift, mostly put away stock in the morning and get everything ready for the day, if you close you come in and help your coworkers service the customers with questions and finding product or explaining techniques to further their endeavors in the outdoors. I learned many things, including merchandising, how to help customers, different – more... company policies and procedures, etc... Management is willing to help if you ask, or they notice something needs done. My co-workers are almost like family to me, the hardest reason to think about moving up or out. – less

About Cabela's Inc.

Cabela’s Incorporated, headquartered in Sidney, Nebraska, is a leading specialty retailer, and the world’s largest – Read more