Find companies:
Cabela's Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Cabela's Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Great values
cashier/ customer service (Former Employee), post falls, idSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: healthcare, insentives, flexable schedual, family values
Cons: lots of he said she said. low raises.
I worked for Cabelas just over a year only leaving to stay home with my newborn. They are a great company. We were given opportunity to earn bonuses and sometimes had daily prizes. The management was good for the most part. The like to play "musical managers" and change departments a lot. They worked well around my schedule. The owners take great pride – more... in the company and woluld even tour the stores and give out prizes and have a party. I loved my coworkers. All in all it was a wonderful place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail: stockying organizing iteams
Customer service (Former Employee), Glendale, AZSeptember 5, 2013
-A typical day at work is everything goes perfect
-I learned how to put in a order on the computer
-Management was every easy
-my co-worker were very friendly
-The most hardest part of the job is when certain things do not get done
- The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful workplace that treats you like family
Credit Card Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boise, IDSeptember 4, 2013
Cabela's is an excellent company to work for, I enjoyed my time there and was sad to leave when I graduated college and moved away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i found it a bad career choice for me one i now regret
Sales Associate/Club Membership Manager (Former Employee), Billings, MTAugust 14, 2013
Pros: great way to spend the day talking about fishing hunting and camping
Cons: see above in the ever changing market cabelas needs to get their heads out of their butts
while the whole basis of Cabelas core values is solid. i found that the store i worked with lacked drive and respect for employees under you. a GM that was disconnected from employees and other managers was a horrible experience. Training was so lacking on a whole scale that often people were just thrown to the wolves. the training that was received – more... was so generic that often people had to do their own research to be better sales personal.in the Midwest district you had regional managers that were so out of touch that they had no clue on what was happening.In a store that is 89,000 square feet the turn over was way to high when employees filled out their employee survey it was perceived that no one in the whole organization cared to change things. the mentality that you are left with is quit or get fired we will replace you anyway . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in order to balance work and personal life
Customer Relations Associate II (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEAugust 13, 2013
The people that work at Cabela's are a great bunch of people to work with. They do a great job at creating a place where their workers can balance family and work life. If you like spending time on the phones talking to customers, then this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cabelas
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee), wheeling, wvAugust 9, 2013
I enjoyed working at Cabela's. It is a fast paced retail store, and you get to enjoy plenty of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably the best job I ever quit.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Kearney, NEAugust 6, 2013
As a college student working part time, this was an excellent opportunity to gain more knowledge of the sports that I enjoy. Most of the management staff that I worked with is no longer employed by this company, and I was dissuaded from exploring further opportunities since my college education would give me better options.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Warehouse
DC Associate (Current Employee), Triadelphia, WVAugust 4, 2013
The job is what it is. It's a warehouse job; fairly low pay, long hours, hot, noisy, no guarantee of getting 40 hours per week, and very little room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work overall
Senior Operations Manager (Current Employee), Hamburg, PAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: strong outdoor-centric culture, great discount for employees
Cons: mixed schedule; long hours
Typrical day at work involves daily openening and closing duties, multiple levels of discipline are needed to succeed. Multi tasking and strong organizational skills are essential. Strong backgroung in personel management are used daily. Understanding of all levels of accounting/finance are essential for position.

Most enjoyable aspect of job is working – more... with the team that exists in the store. Also, working with product that represents the outdoor lifestyle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with flexible schedules.
NICS Outfitter (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 19, 2013
Pros: discounts and flexible work schedules
Cons: part time or seasonal
Cabelas is a great place to work if yo need a prt time or seasonal job. Management is very flexible in helping employees balance work and family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work!
Bargain Cave Outfitter (Current Employee), Tulalip, WAJuly 19, 2013
Cool place to work! I enjoy the people I get to work with! I am learning so much working with this company. Management is great! Hardest part is not knowing when you will be scheduled until the next schedule is posted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company that is MANAGING itself into irrelavance!
Asset Protection (Former Employee), Allen, TXJuly 18, 2013
Management is what is found in the absence of leadership.

The most difficult part of this job was dealing with "policies" that were randomly enforced and changed daily. Policy trumps common sense!

Management is what is found in the absence of leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling Fun
ATF Compliance Officer (Former Employee), Dundee, MIJuly 16, 2013
A good place to work, with a great customer base. Pay is a little lower than average, but the benefits balance this out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, hard to get a full time position though. Unrealistic production rates.
3rd Shift Stocking and Replenishing (Former Employee), Prairie du Chien, WIJuly 15, 2013
Pros: pay.
Cons: negative environment, hazardous. long hours, not much chance for a full time position.
I didn't honestly meet many people working here, but there were people EVERYWHERE. I was a stocker/replenisher and in order to come close to making rate I needed to be rushing around and in a hurry at all times. This made the environment very stressful, negative, and hazardous. I had a florescent light fall out of it's holder and shatter behind me and – more... when I told management about it I was told to just clean it up. Later I was on a ladder and it collapsed. And finally I was in an aisle with a pallet and a pallet jack and a forklift driver tried to move my pallet out of my way with his machine because he didn't see me behind it. He was in too much of a hurry trying to make the rate to even get off his machine or try to yell and see if anyone was behind the pallet. I decided that was enough for me. I was working 12 hour days, 6 days a week. The only really decent thing about this job was the pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work during night shift.
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee), Tulalip, WAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: a place to earn extra money if you have the time.
Cons: short breaks, no overtime
Decent managers. Good place to work if you can drive a forklift and want to stay busy walking all night. The co-workers during the night shift in the warehouse are fun to work with. Best part of the job was operating the forklift and inventory vehicle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard and be rewarded
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Triadelphia, WVJuly 8, 2013
Pros: rewarded for hard work and dedication
Cons: cant leave during the night shift
Work days were fun at Cabela's, you started at 9 and would usually get done around 6 or 7 unless you wanted over-time then you could stay until 9 or 10. I learned how to use scanners to back stock and to stock merchandise onto the floor, also i learned how to unload and reload trucks that were filled with merchandise. The night management crew at Cabela's – more... was amazing they always took care of us as a team, either with breaks, pizza, or rewarded days off. All of the co-workers at Cabela's were hard workers, and would help you any way that they could. The hardest part of my job was learning all of the departments of Cabela's and where merchandise went how much was to be on the floor at one time, what to do if an item was overstocked. The most enjoyable part of the job was finally getting the hang of all the procedures and being able to get merchandise onto the floor as fast and work as hard as the guys that have been there longer then me, and being able to enjoy the meal rewards, and to be a part of that company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
NICS Background Check Inspector (Current Employee), Rapid City, SDJuly 6, 2013
Pros: awesome work environment at the gun counter. my boss kevin is too cool to work for.
Cons: always working weekends and not much time for the family
Overall a great place to work and an AWESOME MANAGEMENT STRUCTURE. I love being there and will work there for a long while.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Customer Inquiry Associate (Former Employee), Sidney, NEJuly 1, 2013
Who hasn't heard of Cabela's?! Must have good people skills to work in this department. Spend a lot of time on the phone placing orders, tracking orders, or dealing with angry people. Responsible for creating purchase orders, invoices, and receiving payments. Also partook in several administrative duties. Management was not my favorite, but I learned – more... about the kind of person I DON'T want to be. Every job is a learning experience. Cabela's is still a great company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good olace to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Rogers,ArkJune 30, 2013
I have learned a lot about my self and other people.
Cabelas has a very good Management team.
The thing a like best is working with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, friendly staff, great management
ATF COMPLIANCE FIREARMS (Former Employee), Hamburg, PAJune 29, 2013
Pros: food catered in for our department during very big sales, incentives if for every week we were error free.
Cons: long hours, not many weekends off
I loved this job but unfortunately it was 4 hours from my home where I still have my children, family, house. With my daughter in her last year of high school I had to be home for this crucial year. I have never had a job that I just loved everyone from management to my co-workers. The hardest part was working some evenings until closing then having – more... to open the next morning. A typical day would involve, sales of firearms to customers, calling Pennsylvania Instant Check System/ state police for clearance to make these purchases, shipping firearms to other states for customers. This job was fun and enjoyable. I hated to quit. – less

About Cabela's Inc.

Cabela’s Incorporated, headquartered in Sidney, Nebraska, is a leading specialty retailer, and the world’s largest – Read more