Find companies:
Cabela's Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
208 reviews

Cabela's Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reduced my hours at the end
Club Booth Outfitter (Former Employee), Mitchell, SDMarch 4, 2014
The manager informed me that my hours would be reducing to personal reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Store Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Rogers, MNMarch 2, 2014
Cabela's has excellent employees and it is a great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very corporate with little innovation
Software Engineer (Current Employee), Westminster COFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: stagnant workplace, no innovation, heavy micro management
This is a waterfall development shop and as such, developers will spend the majority of their time in meetings rather than writing code. They are very set in their ways, and make a point to dumb down their website for non-technical users. Supporting browsers such as IE7 and AOL Explorer make the use of any modern web technologies very difficult. The – more... use of new technologies and practices are actually discouraged as most of the developers and management have never used anything other than Java EE. Developers have no say in implementations or architectures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, friendly, and welcoming environment.
Task Team Operations (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: incentives to earn extra money. positive environment.
Cons: aren't too many of these, 2 yrs and i love it here!
A typical day at work would include us coming into our scheduled departments for the day, and looking for red tags or scanning products that we should have up on the floor and either finding where it's hiding at and place it in it's set location, or checking the history on the product and making sure inventory count is not off, if it is then we being – more... the process of rack verifying the product.

I've learned a lot, from dabbling a bit with AS400, JDA, learning a little bit about inventory control, and learning more about the products we have in the store, since I spend all this time in each department everyday and am physically handling them myself.

Management there was wonderful. I didn't have an issue with any of the leads, managers, or senior managers, but then again I honestly don't like having any issues with anyone as I prefer to work in a positive and uplifting environment and strongly believe in showing others respect in order to receive it and can vouch myself that, that's truth.

I love my coworkers, I love that everybody has different personalities. Never a dull moment, love having that "work family" type of bond.

The hardest part of the job pretty would seeing that we are supposed to have a certain amount of a particular item, that we are supposed to have on the floor, that we did receive and has been made active for customer purchase for quite some time.

The part I enjoy most about my job, is putting the department and products in order. That and being able to use my knowledge of the departments to help customers, although I do not work there and it may not be my strong suit, but I at least have some sort of knowledge to feed the customers needs either until I am able to help him with his questions and search, or I can get an employee that works the department to take over and gladly assist the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented company.
Receiving Outfitter (Former Employee), WarehouseFebruary 23, 2014
Wealth of good, hard working employees.
Management cares about the employee and customers.
Learned if you treat people well you will receive much in return.
Enjoyed most every aspect of my job.
Hardest part was leaving Cabela's to pursue my dream of living in Florida.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semi-productive employer
Customer Service (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: decent discount
Cons: poorly managed
Each day is different. I have learned a lot of different aspects of the business that I will take with me onto the next adventure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Freight
Outfitter (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: always busy, healthcare for part time
Cons: short shifts, not enough hours
Start work at 4am unload the truck full of freight scan all the product to receive it in to our system. Break down all the freight and then put it in carts and work it out to the floor. What ever that does not go out to the floor take back to the warehouse and back stock the freight. I love working early shifts so I can get out at a decent time. I love – more... working with other people in the morning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cabelas
Cashier, Customer Service (Former Employee), Marysville, WAFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: the pay rate
I would handle returns and exchanges. I also handled customer complaints and helped made them right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This turned out to be seasonal, but it was okay for the time that it lasted.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Triadelphia, WVFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: sales accomplishments
Cons: no job security
A typical day was assisting customers with their choices, restocking shelves, putting new stock on display, straightening displays, pricing and discounting pricing.

I learned about people who steal things and the different ways that they go about it. The additional sales experience was a good thing.

My coworkers were fine. We all got along.

The hardest – more... part of the job was lengthy inventories after hours. The most enjoyable part was making a lot of sales, having my advice respected, and the store discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace at Cabela's
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee), Grandville, MIFebruary 10, 2014
I was a seasonal cashier at Cabela's. It's definitely a family-type environment where everyone is very respectful. I got along with everyone including my managers. My job as a cashier mostly consisted of just staying on task and working well with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for something part-time
Cabela's Sales Associate (Current Employee), Dundee, MIFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: store has great vibe and subject mater
Cons: lower wages for general sales outfitters
If you like the outdoors, it is a great place to work but the amount of income is not enough to support living on your own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace with museums and fish aquariums.
Cash Office Accounting Outfitter (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: multiple employee incentives(gift cards, lunches, ice cream)
Cons: full time positions are only available to management or leads.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being part of such a great team. We are encouraged by management to have fun, smile and enjoy our jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Marysville, WAFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: friendly workers, employee restrooms
Cons: hard to get to your lunch on time
A typical day at work would be, steady paced, and always provided customer service. I learned how to use RPI and other websites that were needed, on the cash register, in-case a customer brought up an item that didn't have a tag. I could look up the item, rather then calling & waiting for another employee to bring up the same item. The management & – more... co workers were extremely helpful and friendly. they help you every step of the way, to get you prepared for what you need to do, and get done. The hardest part of this job was keeping up with the customers and making sure everyone is helped and satisfied. The most enjoyable part of this job was talking to customers and learning about their road trips or talking about past hunting trips. Some regular customers would even bring in pictures after their trip to show and share. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disconnected Management
Outfitter-Sales (Former Employee), Hamburg, PennsylvaniaJanuary 26, 2014
Cons: disconnected management, low wage and high benefit costs.
The GM and management team is very disconnected. Training was, by far, the worst I received at any company I worked for. The trainer talks to you like you are a two year old. New HR is nothing more than a yes man and does not support the employees when they approach with a concern/issue.

Hours are being cut due to lack of sales so this tells you the – more... direction the company is headed. Rapid expansion, adding layers of additional regional managers and no direction at the store level is a recipe for disaster.

Now the company comes up with a Cabela's arbitration policy. Why not employ managers that are true managers. Then you would not be asking your employees to sign an arbitrtion agreement if they truly knew how to manage people.

If you aren't in the 30 year old club than you don't fit with this group of what they call managers.

Consider all options before working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fluid management situation with lack of focus
Manager (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: good associates. benefits. always busy.
Cons: bad senior management. over the top politically correctness. very fluid management situation.
Senior management team lacks focus on day to day business items. The focus is more on a high school pep rally mentality rather than on managing key items and initiatives. Often seem out of touch with basic principles of business operation. Operations side, which includes warehouse, front end, and deli has lost 4 out the 5 managers under the direction – more... of its' senior manager. Promotions are handled through a system of being part of the "good ol' boys club". Extremely politically correct atmosphere; no minor infractions allowed or tolerated unless done by senior management. Constant changes to existing procedures even those that are working very well. A lot of unnecessary daily items that take away from pressing issues and concerns. They love to walk departments everyday, but are more focused on pet projects than major or obvious concerns. Lots of long hours and the compensation is below average. Benefits are decent, but expensive. The associates are hard working and a lot of fun. They make it enjoyable, but fluid management situation is a cause for concern. Retail is a tough area, but Cabela's makes it even tougher. Great company, trained at other stores, but this particular store's senior management team gives the rest of the company a bad name. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs a lot of work
Fraud Analyst III (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, good pay and fun employees to work with.
Cons: management. see my review.
I worked in the call center in Lincoln, NE for two years. I started out really enjoying the job. It was a comfortable, family oriented work environment. If you had questions you felt comfortable asking your manager for help. If you needed days off they were very flexible working with you, weather it be for school or personal reasons. After the manager – more... quit and they brought on 3 new managers about a year later is where it went down hill. The managers were power hungry. If they felt an employee was not doing things the correct way, they would have you move your seat right next to their office for 3 weeks so they could observe you. They did not coach you and tell you how to correct the mistake, instead they made an example out of you. They treated the whole department like a 2nd grade classroom. We were not allowed to leave our seats to ask questions to other employees. If we were away from our desk a manger was quick to tell us to get back on the phones (even if we were in a personal idle). Whenever employees had questions for the mangers they were no where to be found. Or if you did find one they would more often then not tell you to come back at a later time or they would not give you an answer to your question. Managers also had multiple complaints brought against them for how they were treating employees. One key complaint that kept arising was race. Supervisors were quick to overlook these complaints brought up and told employees “We will have a talk with them, but right now its best to move on”. I’ve never been a manager with any company, but in my eyes this was handled about as poorly as one could think. At least 13 people I knew that worked at Cabeals Call Center quit due to management. I do hope Cabelas corrects this. I wish them the best. But if you are looking at this job, please take this review to heart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Sales Outfitter (Former Employee), Verdi, NVJanuary 21, 2014
Great company but lacking on hours to give employees. tends to hire temps to take the extra hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great environment
CLUB Booth Outfitter (Former Employee), Thornton, COJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: great hours, pay, team-building activities
Cons: sometimes communication between department members was lacking
Cabela's is a wonderful, family-oriented company that was a lot of fun to work for. My coworkers were fantastic and we always had a great time while working together. Management was supportive, and always readily available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJanuary 9, 2014
A typical workday would involve handling phone calls from typically aggravated customers for at least a 5 hours a shift. Although the pay was decent and the immediate management were very kind, overall the job was monotonous. I learned a lot about patience and biting my tongue from this job. It is in an office setting where you will be required to sit – more... still in one spot, typing and talking for hours at a time – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team
Firearms Lead Outfitter (Current Employee), Allen, TXJanuary 9, 2014
Loved working with the people at the gun counter and ATF compliance.

About Cabela's Inc.

Cabela’s Incorporated, headquartered in Sidney, Nebraska, is a leading specialty retailer, and the world’s largest – Read more