Cabela's Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has favoritism
Fudge Shop Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
Overall a fun place to work making fudge however policies and standards are not followed and therefore staff stand around and do nothing while other staff work very hard. Very hard to deal with management due to favoritism.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
no consistency
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience as a first job.
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2017
Cabela's was my first job, so the environment it offered almost instantly was a very friendly and helpful area for me to be myself and actually get the job done and still be smiling by the end of the day. The Cabela's name is one that they take pride in and take care of the employees as well, like for Christmas everyday they had something new and fun going on for those who were working.
Pros
Great work environment, employees are all very enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK1 February 2017
Fun place to work out. Hours are great, people are fun to work with. Great customers it's a want store not a need store. Not sure what else to say it's a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it.
Outfitter (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 January 2017
its a really fun place to work. They reword good work and have really great courses where you learn allot. I sadly could only stay on for my three month term, i missed to many shift and they let me go. but i still really liked it, and respect them. I was young. live and learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products, bad management.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 January 2017
during my stay I had the pleasure to work with some amazing people, we had great events for employees which was much appreciated but some supervisors showed favoritism. at some point I witnessed people being discriminated and terminated for no real reason which labor laws were definitely violated.
Pros
great employee discounts, amazing coworkers
Cons
favoritism, some managers are bad for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Warehouse Reciever (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 January 2017
Was good until they shut down the warehouse. I heard the call center sucked though. Everyone there was pretty unhappy. I'm just happy they got sold by bass pro
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Hunting Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 December 2016
The work hours did not meet the work and home balance as the regular full time hours were not consistant. Enjoyed working with other employees. But found some management clicky.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people , poor management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2016
Everyone is very friendly expect for management, they don't know what they are doing nor will help you in time of need, they like to pin jobs on everyone else so they can hang out in the office, if they don't like you your pretty much not getting any shifts and they will push you out regardless of a good job you do.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productinve
Call center Representative (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 November 2016
good to start but not breaks are not enough plus training session is too short and no mocking calls. you are on you're own. and error are zero tolerated
Pros
Brand Name
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC3 November 2016
This job was really different and fun i learned new things and met new people. It was an fun atmosphere and i have never done footwear before so it was new to me,
Pros
salary was more than minium wage
Cons
only 8 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Gun Counter Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2016
I was impressed as a customer prior to working there and I am equally as impressed now having worked there month 6 months so far. Management is accommodating and they work to make sure their employees work in a healthy, happy environment.
Pros
discounts on merchandise
Cons
can't pay enough to keep quality staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally good Job with bad components
Firearms product specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 September 2016
Working for Cabela's had many great benefits. There are some gaps in the way the business is run as the brand is being built up in Canada. I relished the opportunity to learn and work within a great growing company.
Ultimately the job wasn't for me under the circumstances in which I was working
Pros
Lot of great benefits, generally good atmosphere around the office
Cons
bad scheduling/playing favorites, no leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with many good employees
Sales Associate and Task Team (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 September 2016
Great place to work! has a very strong corporate structure and many knowledgable employees.
Hardest part of the job can be the amount of knowledge thats required to work in certain departments. Although many employees will help you with any information, they also provide vendor training to keep you updated with all the new products.
Pros
Great work atomsphere
Cons
Some seasonal struggles or slow times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 September 2016
Overall, not a bad place to work. People are friendly. Management could use a few courses on respect,integrity and professionalism.
I was an administrative assistant in the warehouse(the one that they shut down in march of 2015). You really cant apply at the warehouse anymore but can apply at the call center/headoffice on DeBeates. Some people from the warehouse now work there so beware.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Customer Service Lead (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 August 2016
Cabeles is a great company! It has done me well enjoyed working there for the time being now it's time to move onto better things for myself. Awesome environment to work, very calming & the customers are very kind
Pros
Great coworkers .
Cons
The hours, not very many given to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Reliable
Casheir (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK16 August 2016
wonderful place to work, they clearly care very much for their employees. Customers on average we not that terrible. wonderful environment in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cabelas
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 August 2016
Cabelas treats the employees horrible but pay ok. I hate the manager shes not a very nice women. I want a job where they treat you like adults not like little babies
Pros
free food
Cons
brenda
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great people
Replenishment Outfitter (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC8 August 2016
Enjoyed working here, made some great friends, and had a blast learning new skill's and making new relationships with those people around me. Would highly reccomend
Pros
Free popcorn
Cons
Tough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 July 2016
Oriented Warehouse Associate With Over 3 Years Experience In All Warehouse Departments. Proficient In Machine Operation And Efficiently Complete All Tasks
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Workplace, amazing supervisors, learned new things, very clean environment, culture friendly
Merchandizer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 June 2016
I enjoyed every single day at cabelas and leaned warehouse work. I got forklift training too which was super fun and very useful because i could bring down big boxes myself without calling anyone else to bring it down for me. Very friendly co-workers. My supervisors made it so easy for me that i could not find anything hard. Most enjoyable and fun part when we got pizzas and drinks once a month.
Pros
Free meals once a month
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cabela's Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,199 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.6