Find companies:
Cabela's Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
193 reviews

Cabela's Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for second job
Firearms inspector/switchboard (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 23, 2014
Pros: staff days with great food
Cons: long hours and breaks few a far between
Typical day at work was always changing never staying the same something new happening each hour. Learn lots from moving into different departments and new job postings. The co-workers are great to work with and the hardest part of the job crazy with it was busy in the store and stress management with the managers always looking over your shoulder. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was the customers never a dull moment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Inventory Analyst (Current Employee), SaskatoonJanuary 2, 2014
My work includes reporting/solving errors/working on cycle counts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cabelas' Edmonton
outfitter (Former Employee), EdmontonOctober 16, 2012
Pros: great merchandise, good discounts
Cons: long hard days, caddy co workers, management that plays favorites. poor pay and raises
It starts out as though they are very family oriented and as though they are very flexible...well they are if you are "one of the guy" or until you say no to being over worked and severly underpaid for the expectations placed on you. Don't ever think you will be hired for the position you applied for because in the end you are expected to work everywhere – more... and be able to do everything. The promise to have every weekend off is a HUGE lie. There is not enough staff because they keep quiting. Management is a joke and and look forward to a 10 to max 50 cent raise/hr after a year of working your tail off if you do as you are told. Most staff are ok but the gossip and talking behind backs is over the top especially in the customer service area. This company makes a HUGE HUGE profit and will not pay accordingly and will not hire staff to help all of us who are severly overworked. This company does not care about it's employees one bit. Someone said it in another comment.. The owners of Cabelas' should be sad and ashamed that they allow this to happen. You want quality workers then treat ALL of them the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everybody works as a team
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILJuly 7, 2014
Pros: fun and friendly work place
Cons: working there during black friday
Store is kept clean and tidy. All employees I've talked with were always friendly and very helpful if i got stuck on something.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Customer Service Lead (Current Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: ability to make commission
Cons: inconsistant schedule
I love working with our customers and enjoy my coworkers. I have learned some new job skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company that gave me fantastic experience
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, ORJune 27, 2014
Cabela's was an experience I will never forget. I loved the people I worked with. The experience and adventures that I had there were invaluable!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Thornton, COJune 19, 2014
Pros: most coworkers are nice and friendly.
Cons: poor pay, short staffed, very poor management.
Cabela's is way too top heavy with management. You have to deal with too many bosses with differing ideas so you do not know who to listen to. They claim to care about their employees but never seem to deliver. The store is most always short staffed so you end up covering numerous departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The love of the outdoors is a must.
Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSJune 9, 2014
Pros: can hunt or fish anytime you want.
Cons: work on weekends and holidays.
Great people to work with. Typical day is 8-5. The hardest part of the job is working weekends and holidays. However, the best part is you talk about the outdoors everyday and sell fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Service Outfitter (Current Employee), Rapid City, SDJune 7, 2014
Pros: lots of incentives and chances to earn extra money off commissions, great employee discounts on products
Cons: short manned
I love working for Cabela's! Not only are the customers amazing but so is management. I like how professional they are but very laid back at the same time. Never once have I had issues with any of my co-workers. Cabela's offers lots of incentives during a regular work day and if you are good at what you do, there are tons of ways to make extra money – more... off commissions when processing online orders for customers, selling product protection plans and signing customers up for the Cabela's Club Card. I really enjoy helping our customers find solutions to their (sometimes complex) issues and seeing a smile on their face when they leave the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
NICS - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Rogers, MNJune 3, 2014
Pros: contests
Cons: low pay
It is a fun place to work.The hours are flexible.There is a lot of customer interaction which is interesting and makes the day go fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Box retail
Gun Library Manager (Former Employee), retail, usaMay 29, 2014
Pros: lots of work
Cons: more work
Excellent learning environment Q3&4 are busy and very tollling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Warehouse? inventory (Former Employee), Reno, NVMay 29, 2014
Easy work
Interesting customers
Good management
Glad for the opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and Place to Work!
Cabela's Club VISA Representative (Former Employee), Lehi, UTMay 27, 2014
The people and environment were Great!
I loved working with the public and providing them assistance with a great product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store, great environment.
Inventory Manager / Operations Manager (Former Employee), Allen, TXMay 27, 2014
The staff was great, for the most part. People really wanted to do a good job and really enjoyed what they were doing. Store management needed to get more creative with motivating the staff and keeping up morale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor attitude toward employees, low respect and ignorant attitude.
RTL Outfitter (Former Employee), Dundee, MIMay 24, 2014
Pros: enjoyed sales and interaction with customers. excellent training program.
Cons: lack of employee respect.
Spent four months with micromanagement supervisor having poor sales skills. She spent most of the time on the computer trying to understand the system. Did every job including stocking and selling merchandise. Was the best sales person they ever had. Rude and ignorant supervisor with poor management skills; got tired of her yelling at me in front of – more... customers when I took my scheduled breaks. The management needs stress management training. Upper management attitude does not filter down to lower management. Too much price changing for friends and favorite employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced corporate environment within the Strategic Projects Department
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Sidney, NEMay 20, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: same routine
I am an Executive Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of Corporate and Marketing Strategies. I am not just his assistant but the office manager of our department. I keep regular tabs on supplies, budgets, vacations, meetings, conference room bookings, notes within meetings, organization of Quarterly Reviews and the Executive Yearly Retreat. – more... I am the face of our department and give my high energy and pleasant personality to all I come into contact with. Interacting with people is the best part of my job because I have incredible communication and interpersonal skills. The hardest part of my job is the same routine of the tasks; I am a perpetual learner and desire learning new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very energitic and fun place to work
Sales Associate, Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Ft Worth, TxMay 14, 2014
Greeting all customers, selling the Cabela's credir card. Working the sales floor and the registers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good, some not-so good
Outfitter (Former Employee), Allen, TxMay 7, 2014
Pros: upper management, 5.01, morning meetings
Cons: short work weeks and manager changed time sheets w/o telling you!
I really liked working for Cabela's. I worked in a field I likes and knew a lot about. However the internal politics were awful. We had one Outfitter who enjoyed making people mad and thought it was fun to see how mad he could make them,,,because he was friends with the department manager and had 'job security'.
The company sold quality products and – more... i was proud of that. But that one bozo made it hard to take pride in my department.
Often the department manager would alter the work schedule - but would never tell you - then complain that you missed work, or came in when you weren't suppose to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!
Office/PICS Associate (Former Employee), Hamburg, PAMay 7, 2014
THIS COMPANY SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT EVER WORK FOR THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE A NUMBER, NOT A NAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buda is fantastic
Store Admin (Former Employee), BudaMay 2, 2014
Pros: people and culture at the store level
Cons: compensation, corporate leaders
The in store Senior Management team is fantastic. Fun and exciting culture. Opportunity for advancement. However they are getting too big for their perceived internal culture. From the corporate standpoint, the Outfitters used to be top priority. Not anymore. Corporate directors no longer care about the quality of people the company employs. They quality – more... of people that work the floor and at store level are what keep the customers coming back again and again; the exceptional customer service. They are doing away with knowledgeable employees and taking warm bodies instead. They will become Walmart before you know it. It's very sad to watch. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Cabela's Inc.

Cabela’s Incorporated, headquartered in Sidney, Nebraska, is a leading specialty retailer, and the world’s largest – Read more