Cabela's Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Hunting Outfitter / Task Outfitter (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 March 2017
Its Retail.... what do you want, Under paid and over worked is the story from anyone that has ever worked in retail. The management at the Kanata Store are a little clueless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary
Outfitter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 March 2017
Salary is not good, but it is the same across Retail.
Job Security is an interesting topic, however it is a very diverse and multicultural group of people. Management is good, it is a passionate people who enjoys nature and outdoors. Great job culture, from very passionate coworkers to people that just want to be busy.
Pros
Job Culture
Cons
reduced hours of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all good place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 March 2017
Over all Cabela's is a good place to work, you can get a lot of hours if you ask. Easy and fun. Can learn a lot while working on your customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
outfitter (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC8 March 2017
great place to work but very unorganized there are favorites and its very obvious to see it. the management is very disorganized and often struggle to schedule.
Pros
great people
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company
Warehouse Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 March 2017
This company acts like there employees are there best friends and that they are so important but they do nothing for them. The pay in very low and the benefits are a joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities abound... for the right person
ASSOCIATE CATEGORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 March 2017
While I am fine with a fast pace and a changing environment, too often there is weak leadership from above resulting in change just for the sake of change before figuring out the causes and possible fixes for issues. This results in redoing work or doing work that then is shelved so you end up wasting time. There is NO TIME to be wasting time. Having said that, there are many MANY coworkers so you are assured to find people you like and enjoy working with.
Pros
workplace culture
Cons
long hours and only constant is change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to start with, but dont stay too long.
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 March 2017
great co-workers but horrible management, favoritism was clearly shown. The workload itself was good, had opportunities for overtime that seemed to be not offered to everyone. limited opportunity for growth.
Pros
discounts, co-worker
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with great co-workers.
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 February 2017
Cabala's was great because most days had variation. The workplace culture was fantastic as there was an events team dedicated to getting employees and customers excited about products.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has favoritism
Fudge Shop Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
Overall a fun place to work making fudge however policies and standards are not followed and therefore staff stand around and do nothing while other staff work very hard. Very hard to deal with management due to favoritism.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
no consistency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience as a first job.
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2017
Cabela's was my first job, so the environment it offered almost instantly was a very friendly and helpful area for me to be myself and actually get the job done and still be smiling by the end of the day. The Cabela's name is one that they take pride in and take care of the employees as well, like for Christmas everyday they had something new and fun going on for those who were working.
Pros
Great work environment, employees are all very enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK1 February 2017
Fun place to work out. Hours are great, people are fun to work with. Great customers it's a want store not a need store. Not sure what else to say it's a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it.
Outfitter (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 January 2017
its a really fun place to work. They reword good work and have really great courses where you learn allot. I sadly could only stay on for my three month term, i missed to many shift and they let me go. but i still really liked it, and respect them. I was young. live and learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products, bad management.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 January 2017
during my stay I had the pleasure to work with some amazing people, we had great events for employees which was much appreciated but some supervisors showed favoritism. at some point I witnessed people being discriminated and terminated for no real reason which labor laws were definitely violated.
Pros
great employee discounts, amazing coworkers
Cons
favoritism, some managers are bad for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Warehouse Reciever (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 January 2017
Was good until they shut down the warehouse. I heard the call center sucked though. Everyone there was pretty unhappy. I'm just happy they got sold by bass pro
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Hunting Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 December 2016
The work hours did not meet the work and home balance as the regular full time hours were not consistant. Enjoyed working with other employees. But found some management clicky.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people , poor management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2016
Everyone is very friendly expect for management, they don't know what they are doing nor will help you in time of need, they like to pin jobs on everyone else so they can hang out in the office, if they don't like you your pretty much not getting any shifts and they will push you out regardless of a good job you do.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productinve
Call center Representative (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 November 2016
good to start but not breaks are not enough plus training session is too short and no mocking calls. you are on you're own. and error are zero tolerated
Pros
Brand Name
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC3 November 2016
This job was really different and fun i learned new things and met new people. It was an fun atmosphere and i have never done footwear before so it was new to me,
Pros
salary was more than minium wage
Cons
only 8 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Gun Counter Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2016
I was impressed as a customer prior to working there and I am equally as impressed now having worked there month 6 months so far. Management is accommodating and they work to make sure their employees work in a healthy, happy environment.
Pros
discounts on merchandise
Cons
can't pay enough to keep quality staff
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally good Job with bad components
Firearms product specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 September 2016
Working for Cabela's had many great benefits. There are some gaps in the way the business is run as the brand is being built up in Canada. I relished the opportunity to learn and work within a great growing company.
Ultimately the job wasn't for me under the circumstances in which I was working
Pros
Lot of great benefits, generally good atmosphere around the office
Cons
bad scheduling/playing favorites, no leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 972 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7