CAA South Central Ontario

CAA South Central Ontario Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic department - NCC Operations.
CONTRACT NETWORK ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON24 October 2016
This is a good company to work for other than their Operations department. There is a 1 year learning curb, however there is no formal training. For example, they will ask you to conduct criminal back round checks for their drivers but never show you what the form looks like, what type of information you should be looking for etc. They will ask you to settle damage disputes between members and their service providers but never train you to properly assess or inspect a damaged vehicle. The list goes on. The operations department is constantly in panic mode due to having a new director that simply does not grasp the concept of the industry. He over works his staff, and as a result their team is always understaffed. They have been about 10 dispatchers and 5 adviser's short over the span of 2 years. The management team lacks leadership skills and are very reactive in the way they run the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's alright
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  rather not say6 August 2016
Working for Service Ontario was a great learning experience. Great coworkers. Great customers but it definitely had its down falls.


Being spat on. Stuff thrown at you. If you can't handle stress then this is not the place for you. Long line ups. Irritated customer especially when you have to turn them away. You are under paid. You have to do government work but get paid close to minimum wage. That's what made it not worth it for me. $14 an hour to have to deal with the amount of information and people on a day to day basis. There is lots to remember and no room for mistakes. You make too many mistakes, you don't get a raise which by the way isn't much anyway. I felt as if being a part time employee meant that you had to cater to all the full time employees. You have to make sure that they're stations are fully stocked. And not to mention getting a full time position can take years to get. Your either have to wait for someone to be fired, quit or retire.

With that being said, the amount of stuff you have to deal with and remember is not worth the money they pay you.
Pros
great coworkers, great customers sometimes
Cons
not enough pay, irate customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A real gem
Prefer not to say (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON25 July 2016
I've had the pleasure of being employed here for the past 10 years. In the past decade, I've been given the opportunity to take part in projects that help challenge me and grow in my career.

My manager has given me plenty of room to spread my wings and work on things which interest me.

The culture here is fantastic. I love the people I work with.

I am quite happy with my compensation. Sure, everyone always wants to earn more, but there is more to work than just money. For me, CAA has all the boxes checked.
Pros
Great teams, interesting work, LOTS of opportunity for advancement
Cons
There are small pockets of negativity in the organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We make bad days good and good days better
Human Resources Consultant (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON21 April 2014
A 100 year old company that focuses on the safety and happiness of our members.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No43Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place!
Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON20 March 2014
Excellent experience! I have enjoyed my time spent at CAA but I am looking forward and feel ready to take up more challenges now.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Nothing much!
Was this review helpful?Yes8No25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Member Care Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 September 2013
not suitable for anyone who does not want to feel no appreciation and stuck to your desk
Was this review helpful?Yes33No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work and kept you busy all day!
MSC (Former Employee) –  Scarborough12 September 2013
No communication with management and employee's. Was let go for no reason even though I was told my sales numbers and learning curve was excellent!
Manager lied to me on a few occasions. Mostly minor things but I don't need to be deceived just the same.
Customers told me personally that I was very helpful and personable to them and that they would ask for me again!
Staff was great and very helpful!
Pros
Working with the public. Also the other staff were great to work with.
Cons
Commission split unfairly, only made $62 dollars in 3 months, misleading manager, and was not given a reason for dismissal.
Was this review helpful?Yes41No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employees management sucks!
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Kitchener / waterloo14 January 2013
Worked for CAA car care for 18 months. Very little work in a busy town, they offered bonus' based on sales instead of flat rate which is fine however when the sales are so cheap the mechanics are LOSING money it's not a very productive work environment! No job security and they are constantly changing local management and roaming managers. Mass firings and lay offs are a daily deal with this company. Pays the bills I guess.... But both worth banging up your own tools over!
Pros
free roadside assistance membership
Cons
working for them...
Was this review helpful?Yes31No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great work experience
Member Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON10 December 2012
Great experience working as part of the summer student program. Very good training program, friendly and helpful staff and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place needs a union to protect employees from mgt
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON23 November 2012
A good company that is slowly deteriorating due to the upper managements total disregard for it's people.

For a company that reports themselves as being socially responsible they are anything but.

Mass firings of people with no reasons, only to be replaced by friends of those in management positions.
Pros
very few and becoming less
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes60No10Report

Comment – July 31, 2015

very true, comment here, once a good place to work, but yes now, not so, new management promotes unskilled former co-workers, and others being let go with no reason, people that were doing their jobs. Others being covered for their inadequacies or personal problems, why, because of who they know. Place is horrible for the politics she has brought.

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.5
Culture
2.8