Find companies:
CVS Caremark
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,717 reviews

CVS Caremark Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment where you can meet many different people
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: no advancement within the company
Typical day at work would be interacting with customers, specially the ones who are unsatisfied with the products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervise store and employees
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Middleton, WIAugust 27, 2014
Great company. Loved the customers and the way the company helped them save money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work and little pay
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: fast environment
Cons: if pharmacist makes a mistake, then it is on you
I have never worked so hard for such little pay. Horrible managers and co-workers seem like they don't want to be there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
SHIFT SUPERVISOR/PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Spotsylvania, VirginiaAugust 27, 2014
¨ Managed a team of 12 employees by prioritizing and assigning tasks, scheduling staff to ensure appropriate coverage and providing customer service support.
¨ Developed a new stocking procedure that increased productivity by reducing inventory unloading time to less than three hours.
¨ Completed closing procedures including balancing cash drawers, – more... cash handling and preparing and filing deposits.
¨ Oversaw employee payroll which included checking daily timesheets, reviewing and approving submitted hours per week and submitting timesheets to corporate office.
¨ Prepared and submitted paperwork on loss prevention, vacation hours, payroll and inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVAugust 27, 2014
Customers are disrespectful and so are the coworkers. Not a good place to work if you are a nice person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers make the job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Emerald Isle, NCAugust 27, 2014
Pros: the customers you meet
Cons: long shifts back to back with only one break
I liked that you are'nt just a cashier at this job, they definitely keep you busy with different store tasks, however they do not provide the breaks that are posted as a requirement for CVS employees, when you do ask for a break you are treated like you are not a hard worker because you want a break, everyone I worked with were very hard workers at – more... a very busy store however it will take you years to make 9.00 an hour working here. The store management was great with customers and running the store in general but had a tendency to be rude and condescending to its hard working employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an ok company to work for!
Pharmacy Clerk II (Former Employee), Miramar, FLAugust 27, 2014
Very demanding and numbers driven! I learned a lot about the mail order business!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work environment
Pharmacy Specialty Rep (Former Employee), Fairfield, NJAugust 27, 2014
Pros: compensation was moderate
Cons: not organized
The job was okay, very confusing when just getting on board...hours very messy and not steady, constant moving around the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really hated working there!
Clerk I (Former Employee), Mount Prospect, ILAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great 401k match, good benefits, nice pto program. horrible management that's promoted from within that has no leaderships skills.
Cons: mandatory 25-30 hour a week overtime for 3 months a year when new insurance kicks in around january.
The benefits are really good there at the company, but the compensation was not.... pay raises sometimes were less than a nickle a year despite working at 200% of quotas and excelling. They laid people off regularly and "found" and "fabricated" reasons to get rid of older employees that made money for their savings to promote stock growth. They have – more... a hire from within policy that promotes growth and gives employees opportunity... unfortunately they provide little to no training and require no further skills from an entry level position to become management, often their management felt entitled and executed their power in ways that was degrading. Getting promoted is often a game of favoritism and having family or friends that can have some pull for you, saw this often. Many of those in management were clueless on how to treat people, did little work, and wanted to place blame on others for their shortcomings. My department had something like 8 managers, 3 trainers, and approx. 10 team leads (at different points in time), we probably went through about another 20 or so that moved up or moved on... all of which bumped heads and would write you up if you did something wrong by their standards, but was told to you to be right by one of the other 20 people there. Lots of right ups, lots of bickering, horrible working environment where everyone was always paranoid and upset with each other... one of the worst jobs I ever had as far as how I felt while there. Padded my 401k really nice before they let me go for a "fabricated" reason... wasn't upset at all as I was miserable for far too long despite being a great employee and putting in a ton of OT and excelling at my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 26, 2014
Pros: good benefits, working and learning about new medications
Cons: lack of hours, lot of language barrier patients
The store and staff are an excellent place to work. The staff is helpful and respectful to each other thus creating a good working environment. The managers work with the staff to get the daily duties done quick and correct. I can come to work and be assigned to a specific section of the pharmacy so the process is ran smoothly. The toughest part is – more... trying to communicate with the older clients who has a language barrier. The most enjoyable part for me is helping the patients with their prescriptions while still learning about all the different medications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great low key job where you meet a lot of good people.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Lexington Park, MDAugust 26, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: unloading trucks by my self most morning a managers that requires two people, placed on a supervisour to do alone
opening the store to meet the delivery man unloading the truck, setting up the delivery, opening the store for customers, putting away merchandise, counting out cash drawers ,bank drop off, relabeling merchandise . I really liked all my co workers they maid it even more fun to come to work,the hardest part of the job was truck day during seasonal changes – more... ,the most enjoyable part was to help satisfying customers . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Paulsboro, NJAugust 26, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of running the register, checking I.D. for cigarette sales, restocking shelves, providing customer service, checking inventory using a scanner, and cleaning before the end of my shift.

During my time at CVS, I learned mostly about customer service. I was taught how to work with customers and offer my help whenever I – more... could.

I felt that the management was a little unprofessional. For instance, I was told that CVS policy is to drug test prior to being guaranteed the job, but I was not. Also, the manager never physically saw my license or social security card. There were instances where there would be a theft in the store and I would need to react quickly, and it was hard to get in touch with a manger when needed.

My co-workers made the place a fun, friendly environment to work in.

The hardest part of my job was dealing with the people around the location. The store was located in the "ghetto." High crime rate. Constant theft from our store.

The most enjoyable part of the job was helping others. Helping others makes me feel good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Conyers, GAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: you get a paycheck
Cons: people, short lunch break, no lunch break
Disorganized, chaotic, irate employees and customers. One thing I took from my experience here is how to multi task rapidly while keeping everyone happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and learning experience.
Claim Benefits Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 25, 2014
Cons: healthcare changed to hsa only
Need to be consistent in all departments with company policies no exceptions and no favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management easy to work with
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Lemont, ILAugust 25, 2014
Cons: short breaks
I have worked in retail most of my life. Gotta say that CVS is much better to work with vs. their competitor (which I've worked for 5 yrs).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), West Windsor, NJAugust 25, 2014
The most enjoyable part is doing something different each day.

The hardest part is not enough hours are given to finish all task while delivering a high level of customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking and engaged employer
MBA Medicare D Sr Account Manager (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZAugust 25, 2014
Pros: growth opportunities due to expanded medicare population base.
Cons: declining health care coverage regarding financial contributions by the employer
This company has expanded it's client base in the employer retirement relationship for their employees with Medicare D, The advantages extend to the client on both cost saving coverage for the employer/client and enhanced benefits to the retiree themselves.
Our management has allow for expansion of and incorporation of successful implementations and – more... confidence building for new business.

My co workers have excellent record of history in previous employment, education and prior experience. They participate in the work model of a supportive and collaborative staff to improve various areas and expand knowledge between other managers. Our administration is geared to encouragement of this group function, supported continually through process improvement opportunities, recognition forums and manager-based education program geared to professional and productive on-hands managers.

The hardest part of any job is in bringing a collaborative spirit not just in specific departments, but in an overall reach to all internal partners. This is not an issue for this employer, as the opposite is quite true, it becomes the most enjoyable part of the job. It certain shows in our growth and perception to the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed it!
Market Investigator (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 25, 2014
Great place to work. Would love to stay much longer but after earning my degree it is time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company lacks structure
Store Manager Trainee/Shift A Manager (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 25, 2014
Company lacks structure across the board. Not consistent. Good point is that you meet and come across many people that you are able to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive busy place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Grovetown, GAAugust 25, 2014
Overall I like working with the public and seeing new faces each day.

1 2 3 4 5

About CVS Caremark

CVS Caremark Corporation (CVS Caremark) is a provider of prescriptions and related healthcare services in the United States. It – Read more