Find companies:
CVS Caremark
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,725 reviews

CVS Caremark Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment where you can meet many different people
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: no advancement within the company
Typical day at work would be interacting with customers, specially the ones who are unsatisfied with the products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Staff Pharmacist (Current Employee), Montgomery Village, MDAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free flu shot, cpr classes, immunization classes, free ces
Cons: forget about a lunch, they don't exist.
Have to not only do my job (verifying, patient counselling) but also the technicians job (work drop off for 10 hours +, All PCQ calls (RPh and techs), etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day to day
CVS Shift Supervisor B (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 28, 2014
dealing with customers money counting dealing with stressful situations, some u can get past and some you cant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding environment
CLERK/SALES ASSOCIATE/AMERICAN GREETINGS ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Long BeachAugust 28, 2014
Coworkers are always great. Many opportunities to learn. Management is always willing to teach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People go unrecongized
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), 6950 Alamo Down PkwyAugust 28, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: unskilled supvisors
In the time I spent with call center, I managed to better understand Rx benefits. Handle irate calls. However, accomplished this challenge by trial & error. No sup support. Also, sup knowledge was below standard. This would explain why sups, when asked for proper talk-offs, would hide in their offices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Robertsdale, ALAugust 28, 2014
Enjoyed being every the fast past retail environment. Great co-workers and customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic clients
Care/Support worker (Current Employee), HalifaxAugust 28, 2014
Pros: the clients
Cons: long hours
The days are so different combines with happiness sadness and sometimes stressful but you learn to cope with all aspects of what the day brings. Management do try hard but does lack organisation. We have some fantastic workers but like most places a few that let the company down.The hardest part of the job is when you just don't have much time at a – more... clients home and you know they need you , maybe just for a chat or a problem they would like to share with you, but worst of all when they have had a fall and hurt themselves just that little extra time would be wonderful just to be there for them.the best part of the job is when you know you give your 110% to every client and they so much appreciate it. Just to see them smile is all it takes to have a good day . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and productive place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Knox, INAugust 28, 2014
Arrive in the mornings and get computers set up and start going through the queue and fill prescriptions. I learned a lot about insurance companies and prior authorzations working here. not to mention drug names,generic names and what most of these drugs were used for. I would have to say the most enjoyable part of this job was the customers, the good – more... and the bad ones. They all taught me something. The hardest part, at first, was memorizing or learning all the calculations and measurements for dispensing liquid drugs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing much to say about this company
General Manager (Former Employee), Torrance, CAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: its a good training ground fore managing a pharmacy
Cons: rarely has weekends off
*Planning out the days tasks for a productive work day.
*I learned basic skills in management.
*The hardest part is dealing with difficult customers.
*Its is a great deal for me to satisfy my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervise store and employees
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Middleton, WIAugust 27, 2014
Great company. Loved the customers and the way the company helped them save money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work and little pay
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: fast environment
Cons: if pharmacist makes a mistake, then it is on you
I have never worked so hard for such little pay. Horrible managers and co-workers seem like they don't want to be there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
SHIFT SUPERVISOR/PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Spotsylvania, VirginiaAugust 27, 2014
¨ Managed a team of 12 employees by prioritizing and assigning tasks, scheduling staff to ensure appropriate coverage and providing customer service support.
¨ Developed a new stocking procedure that increased productivity by reducing inventory unloading time to less than three hours.
¨ Completed closing procedures including balancing cash drawers, – more... cash handling and preparing and filing deposits.
¨ Oversaw employee payroll which included checking daily timesheets, reviewing and approving submitted hours per week and submitting timesheets to corporate office.
¨ Prepared and submitted paperwork on loss prevention, vacation hours, payroll and inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVAugust 27, 2014
Customers are disrespectful and so are the coworkers. Not a good place to work if you are a nice person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers make the job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Emerald Isle, NCAugust 27, 2014
Pros: the customers you meet
Cons: long shifts back to back with only one break
I liked that you are'nt just a cashier at this job, they definitely keep you busy with different store tasks, however they do not provide the breaks that are posted as a requirement for CVS employees, when you do ask for a break you are treated like you are not a hard worker because you want a break, everyone I worked with were very hard workers at – more... a very busy store however it will take you years to make 9.00 an hour working here. The store management was great with customers and running the store in general but had a tendency to be rude and condescending to its hard working employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an ok company to work for!
Pharmacy Clerk II (Former Employee), Miramar, FLAugust 27, 2014
Very demanding and numbers driven! I learned a lot about the mail order business!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work environment
Pharmacy Specialty Rep (Former Employee), Fairfield, NJAugust 27, 2014
Pros: compensation was moderate
Cons: not organized
The job was okay, very confusing when just getting on board...hours very messy and not steady, constant moving around the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really hated working there!
Clerk I (Former Employee), Mount Prospect, ILAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great 401k match, good benefits, nice pto program. horrible management that's promoted from within that has no leaderships skills.
Cons: mandatory 25-30 hour a week overtime for 3 months a year when new insurance kicks in around january.
The benefits are really good there at the company, but the compensation was not.... pay raises sometimes were less than a nickle a year despite working at 200% of quotas and excelling. They laid people off regularly and "found" and "fabricated" reasons to get rid of older employees that made money for their savings to promote stock growth. They have – more... a hire from within policy that promotes growth and gives employees opportunity... unfortunately they provide little to no training and require no further skills from an entry level position to become management, often their management felt entitled and executed their power in ways that was degrading. Getting promoted is often a game of favoritism and having family or friends that can have some pull for you, saw this often. Many of those in management were clueless on how to treat people, did little work, and wanted to place blame on others for their shortcomings. My department had something like 8 managers, 3 trainers, and approx. 10 team leads (at different points in time), we probably went through about another 20 or so that moved up or moved on... all of which bumped heads and would write you up if you did something wrong by their standards, but was told to you to be right by one of the other 20 people there. Lots of right ups, lots of bickering, horrible working environment where everyone was always paranoid and upset with each other... one of the worst jobs I ever had as far as how I felt while there. Padded my 401k really nice before they let me go for a "fabricated" reason... wasn't upset at all as I was miserable for far too long despite being a great employee and putting in a ton of OT and excelling at my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 26, 2014
Pros: good benefits, working and learning about new medications
Cons: lack of hours, lot of language barrier patients
The store and staff are an excellent place to work. The staff is helpful and respectful to each other thus creating a good working environment. The managers work with the staff to get the daily duties done quick and correct. I can come to work and be assigned to a specific section of the pharmacy so the process is ran smoothly. The toughest part is – more... trying to communicate with the older clients who has a language barrier. The most enjoyable part for me is helping the patients with their prescriptions while still learning about all the different medications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great low key job where you meet a lot of good people.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Lexington Park, MDAugust 26, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: unloading trucks by my self most morning a managers that requires two people, placed on a supervisour to do alone
opening the store to meet the delivery man unloading the truck, setting up the delivery, opening the store for customers, putting away merchandise, counting out cash drawers ,bank drop off, relabeling merchandise . I really liked all my co workers they maid it even more fun to come to work,the hardest part of the job was truck day during seasonal changes – more... ,the most enjoyable part was to help satisfying customers . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Paulsboro, NJAugust 26, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of running the register, checking I.D. for cigarette sales, restocking shelves, providing customer service, checking inventory using a scanner, and cleaning before the end of my shift.

During my time at CVS, I learned mostly about customer service. I was taught how to work with customers and offer my help whenever I – more... could.

I felt that the management was a little unprofessional. For instance, I was told that CVS policy is to drug test prior to being guaranteed the job, but I was not. Also, the manager never physically saw my license or social security card. There were instances where there would be a theft in the store and I would need to react quickly, and it was hard to get in touch with a manger when needed.

My co-workers made the place a fun, friendly environment to work in.

The hardest part of my job was dealing with the people around the location. The store was located in the "ghetto." High crime rate. Constant theft from our store.

The most enjoyable part of the job was helping others. Helping others makes me feel good. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About CVS Caremark

CVS Caremark Corporation (CVS Caremark) is a provider of prescriptions and related healthcare services in the United States. It – Read more