CGI Group Employee Reviews

Found 104 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Organisation Ever!
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Scarborough3 February 2014
Stands out in the multi. Best ever! Again they stand out! The best organisation anyone will desire to be part of. Great job!
Was this review helpful?Yes10No38Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with room for advancement
Administrative Assistant - E-Business (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 January 2014
A typical work day for me varied greatly. I supported the VP of Marketing but I also assisted in getting new US clients in the company. I attempted the liaison between two groups that were merged into our very own 5 team members.
I learned how to look at challenges and tackle them. I learned how to deal with different types of individuals and deal with discretion as well as creating a team.
I truly had a difficult time leaving this workplace and most likely would not have had I not met my husband at this time.
The most enjoyable part of the job was to be respected by my peers and being able to help and do a good job.
Pros
Working with professionals
Cons
Leaving to get married
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manned the ENOC
Veritas Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 November 2013
ran the monitoring for thier DMZ.
the DMZ was set up for government customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning experience
Senior Technical Team Leader assisting Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 August 2013
A typical day at work for me consists of emails, conference calls, projects, managing sla's, KPI's, and managing my employees.
CGI has an excellent structure and was a terrific learning experience for me in many aspects.
To me communication is a very important aspect to succeed as a manager and i am very keen on this with my employees on a daily basis.
Pros
Great stability and great core values.
Cons
Low salaries, outsoursing, no advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I ever worked for.
Senior system analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto16 August 2013
I have been IT professional for the last 18 years.
CGI was the worst employer I ever worked for.
Pay was good, but the communications and management were extremely poor.
I wanted to leave the company after the first few weeks.
It may be good place to start with, but If you are experienced IT professional, do not waste your time there,
Pros
Pay
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes53No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Consulting company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 August 2013
Depending on the team and client you work for, you may have to slog or work 9 am - 5 pm. Co-workers are good, immediate management is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work with
Java Developer (Former Employee) –  Markham23 July 2013
The position and work environment is very good, but the upper managements are not doing so well, they like play politics, compete with each other and as a result, messed up some of the big ongoing project. Project went bad, the department lost the project, lost the client, project got scrapped, upper managements resigned, then a new guy come in to take over, and he just let half the people in the floor just so he could make the net income look nicer on the quarterly report, only to prove to the higher bosses that he can fit into the new shoes.
Pros
Good for work and learning
Cons
Politics and other uncontrollable factors
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So Happy to work with CGI
Sr. Consultant (Current Employee) –  Markham, York11 July 2013
Good Contracts and Nice openings, New technology projects, easy going Managers
Pros
Social Club
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes7No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An employer
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 May 2013
Great co-workers but the company does not know how to benefit from its employees. If you are marketable then you are good to them, otherwise, they do not invest in the employee.
Pros
It pays me a salary
Cons
It has no clue how to deal with its employees
Was this review helpful?Yes18No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a decent place to work
Account Manager - Business Development (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 May 2013
Managed Sales Cycle from Opportunity Identification to contract signature. Responsible for Technology Planning and Planning Strategic Initiatives with Senior Client Management.
Managed sales for infrastructure projects for Desktop, Help Desk and Messaging Sales Funnels (Generated $3.62M in revenue in 2005) (Generated $7.33M in revenue in 2006) (Generated $8.9M in revenue in 2007) (Generated $12.5M in revenue in 2008)
Sought new sales opportunities for outsourcing services
Managed client relationship and Developed Strategy and Business Plan for the team
Was this review helpful?YesNo13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent reviews
Software Consultant - Contract to Permanent (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC1 May 2013
Working for CGI is like working for a company which makes it living on entrepreneur spirit that runs high at this company however unattainable because of its standardize software platform.
Pros
working your on your own following rules and regulations
Cons
poor quality coding
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS24 April 2013
Great place to work, very helpful colleagues .
Nicely managed project by Team Leads and manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great company
Conseiller (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 April 2013
overall great company
Learned a lot in it business. Escalation service levels and all.
Met great people at Bell
Pros
company got big fast
Cons
got licenced
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Poor Management
Developer (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, New Brunswick21 March 2013
If you do not know or have:
- How to play politics
- Have a skill no one else does (don't share it)
- Power over someone
You're not safe. Do not count getting raises, advances or keeping your job.
Pros
some great co-workers
Cons
the worst mgmt, no training, bad orientation, cultural differences, no job security, not much bench period and fake reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes44No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employer if you are consulting / client sites
Process Improvement (Former Employee) –  Toronto6 March 2013
Overall, your work day is your average work day.
Management is always changing, and overall have little contact with anyone. Relationships are a secondary aspect in my view.
Co workers are fine, but can tell they too are unsure about CGI.
Very little room for aggressive movement and promotion. Status quo. Management does lead people on (destroys morale).
No progressive increases (actually they manipulated the time/numbers so people earned LESS)
Pros
good if you like working for a large entity that moves you to different locations.
Cons
no increases, management dubious, no assistance to move ahead in career.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team to work
Analyst, Wintel Server (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 March 2013
Excellent team players and co-workers are willing to share technical know-how.
Pros
flexible work hours, depends on the clients you support
Cons
long work hours, on-call is required
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and diverse IT consulting firm
Project Delivery Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 February 2013
4 months as a PDO reporting to Program Manager providing project support tasks for 2 accounts.

Typical tasks:
- Creating weekly defect reports that illustrated the progress of the testing stage and identified areas of risk that required immediate attention.
- Preparing client presentation packages on a daily basis; updating project statuses, creating reports as requested by client or manager, communicating with client about project issues
- Attend meetings with internal and external executives, preparing and distributing meetings minutes to participants
- Providing daily project support to my team as well as other tiers

My prject team at CGI consisted of friendly and hard working managers, often worked along other tiers and managers.

Hardest part of the job was also the most enjoyable and rewarding which was that it was often times unpredictable, client-centric and overall, required results-driven attitude to get things done on short-notice.
Pros
dynamic, friendly co-workers
Cons
did not have a permanent desk
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surrounded by good people looking to exchange fresh ideas.
Procurement Specialist - Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON10 December 2012
I enjoyed the collaboration of ideas at CGI. Everyone was very willing to assist and share ideas. Lots of good people who made the day fun and productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first employer
Software Analyst/Programmer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 November 2012
I got a lot training and coaching there. Learned a lot. Great company to work for. Hope I can go back to it one day.
Pros
lots of support from managers and colleagues
Cons
i had to leave it to move to the states.
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CGI Review
DRUPAL DEVELOPER / HTML DEVELOPER (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 November 2012
Not extremely satisfied.They make you work a lot of overtime. Sometimes they don't even care to pay the overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 788 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5