CGI Group Employee Reviews

Found 138 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunites and challege environment
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 March 2016
A lot of opportunities in CGI which you can grow your career. I have learned a lot and gained very good experience in CGI. But the job is not secure since you have to look for the job all the time from one project to the next project.
Pros
challege and good opportunites
Cons
job is not secure
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace with lots of outdoor work which i enjoyed
Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON24 February 2016
Had to quit after contract over.CGI was handling AVIVA claims as independent co and AVIVA got his own team and hence co out of business.
Pros
perks like new co leased car and free car wash
Cons
Road traffic will slower the speed of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multinational company that sometimes forget the littlle people
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 February 2016
The company has a great concept on success. Many process and option to ensure greatness. The breakdown happens on the lower echelons when some of the teams lose sight of these and forget that a company is built on the shoulders of 3 things (Clients, shareholders and members) not only 1 (clients).
Pros
Large company that has a well defined company goal
Cons
Management sometimes forget that we are all human
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cgi
it project manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 January 2016
Not a bad company to work for when you start off. However advancement is slow and management direction is poor. The organisation need little more maturity in terms of process and integration between various business units.
Pros
Many offices to choose from, with many different types of job paths.
Cons
Directors are basically empty suits.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good place to stay but not to grow.
Senior Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 January 2016
Job security.
Life and work balance.
No raise in salary for anyone.
Flexible working hours.
Have at least one training per year.
Very friendly environment.
Pros
Balancing work and life
Cons
Not a good place to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2016
Salary increments will be less, but good place to work
work from home option is available. very big company so lot of opportunities to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many challenging responsibilities
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta, Canada15 December 2015
A good work environment with many opportunities to develop new skills using leading edge technology. Helping clients meet reporting requirements was very rewarding.
Pros
Software development
Cons
Government deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 December 2015
Pros:
Flexible with work hours
Good options for personal development

Cons
Career is self managed
Client and project circumstances determine the career advancement. You may not get to work on the projects that you want to work due to the client demands.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer needs Matter most
Senior Helpdesk technician (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 November 2015
CGI is a huge company with lots of rules to follow. for a big company to run smoothly, you will expect that.
the company is really focus on customer satisfaction so the emphasis is stress on that.
the hardest part of the job are for those dealing directly with costumers via phone calls. the costumers are quite exigent
but when you work as a back office is much fun, less stress, and lots of encouragements from the managing team.
employee training is at the heart of the company. so lots of training either personal and collective are available
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
QA Analyst/Senior QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON13 November 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues, everybody helped each other and always traded information
Pros
Treats Fridays
Cons
Long hours at certain times
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 November 2015
Fun workplace with supportive management
lots of resources, material & supportive groups to help in the day to day job.
The environment will help in the personal grow and development of the resources.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Leader in IT Consulting
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 November 2015
CGI is a top provider of IT consulting. Focus on larger contract work around the world. Also offers in-house solutions to clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i have learned
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 October 2015
After having 3 1/2 years experience in IT industry including my stage at CGI and obtaining a college certificate in Network Administration, I am still learning, but form day to day i fell more secure. Since that period i have learned a lot and from the first day till today i become more confident and efficient doing any task to meet the requirements demanded by my unit and the clients.

In the same time i have started to use various techniques and methods with they helped me to finish my tasks and increase my experience in the IT domain.I have also visited some clients on site to do the necessary job ,and in the same time i have started to be more efficient in testing applications and software for the client using different platforms and techniques.
In the last few months I've started to prepare documents and templates to describe the procedure of QA testing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
progammer
Ontario, Canada, Software Analyst, Programmer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 October 2015
It was my first job to work with CGI when it was very small, a startup kind of thing from Montreal.

Now it is a giant company and in several different countries.

great management, worked in Ottawa Canada not in the states.
Pros
lot of learning opportunities
Cons
it was not in the states when i had to leave that compnay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON6 October 2015
Too much politics and favoritism. There is no chance of advancement. No chance of a long stay either.

Poorly organized and poorly qualified management.

Management do not like people who are innovative or think out side of the box even though the company claims they want people like this in their company.
Pros
Health Spending Account, Share Purchase Plan
Cons
Severe micro-management, unqualified management and leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has not changed here in awhile. It's a good learning ground if you aren't expecting work/life balance
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, Ontario5 October 2015
There is a lot to do, but it is difficult to advance if you do not match a specific mold. You can get stuck without advancement for awhile
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro-Managed!
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 September 2015
At CGI there is no balance between life and work. Management is non-existent, except micro-management. Co-workers for the most part are good to work with, there are some bad apples as with any place of employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Director Consulting Services (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 August 2015
Good place to work, the organisation need little more maturity in terms of process and integration between various business units.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management workplace
IT consultant (Former Employee) –  Montreal quebec24 July 2015
I worked 4 years in CGI Montreal IT department
Poorly managed from an employee perspective, compensation below market, no room for advancement. Duties increase, salary does not. No concrete training accepting every job anytime from clients, but not time to properly train the employees, only eyes on money and save costs.
And every good politics to save money, overtime not paid, yes they said it is their politic to save it (bank it ) up to 40h then your manager will ask you to take time off, you will be force to work statutory holidays and never get paid all you will get is a random day off. The salary is way below the industry standard, 16$/h while Desjardin, TD, Deloitte employees doing the same job were 25$/h
No carrier advancement for non-white, yes I said, if you are real Quebecois you get your way easily, and all the good comments are from them because they advance and get everything for less effort. From My VP, director, manager none of them had an university degree, but the employees had a Bsc to Msc. You have to know someone there to advance, a lot of family member of the VP were working there with no IT degree but were advancing at the speed of light.
After 3 years most of my colleagues got depress and were on medical leave, including me.

Team environment was very good (among colleagues, and my last manager was good too, the previous was horrible)
I hope this will help you
Pros
CGI as a whole is a good company, nice team environment
Cons
Low wage, poor management in my department
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Senior ETL Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2015
I like to work in CGI project CIBC. The only unsatisfied thing is the salary is not increase 5% a year. Most time it just increase 1%.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CGI Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,195 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5