CGI Group Employee Reviews

Found 133 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start the career
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chicoutimi, QC21 December 2016
Saguenay Office.

Great place, great management team, great growing place.

The team leader, directors will consider the employees' need, very nice experience working in this place.
Pros
Benifits, Care, Career development, Team work
Cons
Pity salary, but worth a good period, also houses in Saguenay are cheap enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn new technology
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 March 2017
Pros: Great people, challenging work, good salary/benefits, stable work environment.

Cons: No work-life balance, a lot of weekend work/OT, lack of training.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work at
Intern (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 February 2017
Good company culture, and great company leaders. The benefits that come with the job are second to none, and the experience is also very valuable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large organisation with small groups
Analyst Programmer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 December 2016
It is a large organisation with many benefits and potential to grow if you are in the right group that is not targeting your race or religion.
Pros
Lots of work
Cons
Lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moral is low.
Senior Consultant Incident management center (IMC) (Current Employee) –  Chicoutimi, QC15 February 2017
I enjoy my job, I enjoy the related tasks and the team I am working for.

But the moral is very low, there is too much politics internal politics ongoing and consultants feel like numbers. Depending on the management, there is not much implication model ongoing, feeling like a consultant is far from the manager.


I am fortunate to have a job where I can work from home some times and it is positive, and a relief from the heavy air at the office.
Pros
Possibility of a work from home post. Workload is ok
Cons
Painful days at the office. Feel like a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The member satisfaction program which is not
Senior Consultant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 March 2017
it is a better company to work for people who does not worry about spending time with the family.The employees are shown to the client like warriors but in reality the employees are slaves who does not have other choice than work work work finally get half a peanut as yearly increment or do 40 hours of overtime a week and not get paid or time off. All the
Pros
you have a job
Cons
Employees are treated as slaves, Management need to go back to school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team - friendly work culture
Human Resources Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON30 November 2016
Daily Duties - always changing and revolving

Growth- Limited in my role

Work Culture - respectable staff members

Team Culture - Great team environment

Cons- at times lack of direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally disconnected organization
Account Delivery Executive (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 February 2017
There is no customer accountability and an employee is used as an escape goat. The MSS organization is starved for resources and is not able to live up to contracted deliverables
Pros
a nice name
Cons
hollow inside
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good place to stay but not to grow.
Senior Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 January 2016
Job security.
Life and work balance.
No raise in salary for anyone.
Flexible working hours.
Have at least one training per year.
Very friendly environment.
Pros
Balancing work and life
Cons
Not a good place to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, but with a few downfalls
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 May 2015
It is a great place to get a start in your career, just don't get stuck in the service desk analyst job. It can be high stress and the amount they pay for you to do that job isn't great, but it's suppose to be a stepping stone into what you really want to do.

The benefits they offer are quite good though. almost healthcare (including dental), investment matching, retirement, etc. It honestly made working there a lot better.

The people I worked with were quite good, even if it was quite transient at the service desk side.
Pros
great benefits, lots of training
Cons
transient, lower pay, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were great
Computer Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2014
Our company was taken over by CGI Group and the pay and benefits were on par with other companies at the time. They were very flexible on what time you arrived as long as you put in a full day which was nice on those days that you just wanted to sleep in. The corporate culture was difficult to navigate as they expected the employees to make up any work time missed during natural disasters or take it as unpaid or vacation. Overall I had a good experience due to the quality of the co-workers I was able to work with every day.
Pros
Great co-workers, flexible times, possible work from home
Cons
Corporate culture
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2016
Salary increments will be less, but good place to work
work from home option is available. very big company so lot of opportunities to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Event coordinator
Administrative Coordinator, Global Communications (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 September 2014
A typical day at work would be to begin the day with team meetings to discuss upcoming events, communications, presentations, etc. for the President that had to be addressed and coordinated.

I learned to become a team player and developed leadership skills during the time I was there. I was given the opportunity to share my ideas and intentions to improve the company development.

I worked with fantastic, dynamic colleagues that made my work environment very pleasant.
Pros
Shareholder of company and great benefits
Cons
Large teams that prevented Mgmt to meet with employees
Was this review helpful?Yes4No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new things and handling a lot of huge task to make me a better person.
Chef D'équipe Réseau (Current Employee) –  Montreal20 May 2015
Arrive at Office, Review any new work (or help request) tickets and emails and escalations
Follow-up on any unfinished tickets from the day before.
Team Meetings with various departments.
Client Meeting
Hardest part of the job was satisfying everyone in a timely fashion.
Required status reporting on multiple levels.
Pros
Work from home if you can
Cons
Health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heard its fun place to work
SAP SRM Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2016
Would be grateful to have a chance working with CGI
I work with Deloitte current,its a wonderful place to be and specially the leadership is very humble and helps mentoring
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management workplace
IT consultant (Former Employee) –  Montreal quebec24 July 2015
I worked 4 years in CGI Montreal IT department
Poorly managed from an employee perspective, compensation below market, no room for advancement. Duties increase, salary does not. No concrete training accepting every job anytime from clients, but not time to properly train the employees, only eyes on money and save costs.
And every good politics to save money, overtime not paid, yes they said it is their politic to save it (bank it ) up to 40h then your manager will ask you to take time off, you will be force to work statutory holidays and never get paid all you will get is a random day off. The salary is way below the industry standard, 16$/h while Desjardin, TD, Deloitte employees doing the same job were 25$/h
No carrier advancement for non-white, yes I said, if you are real Quebecois you get your way easily, and all the good comments are from them because they advance and get everything for less effort. From My VP, director, manager none of them had an university degree, but the employees had a Bsc to Msc. You have to know someone there to advance, a lot of family member of the VP were working there with no IT degree but were advancing at the speed of light.
After 3 years most of my colleagues got depress and were on medical leave, including me.

Team environment was very good (among colleagues, and my last manager was good too, the previous was horrible)
I hope this will help you
Pros
CGI as a whole is a good company, nice team environment
Cons
Low wage, poor management in my department
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is not that good
Financial Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS5 April 2016
Management is not that happy with your progress until they are progressing .
There is favoritism not on the basis of performance, but on the basis of buttering
Pros
Good to start your career with IT
Cons
Not good for long term, no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes23No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Comnpany
Sr. SAP HCM Consultant (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK9 August 2016
Good Company to grow as Individual as well as professional.
Believe in Team Work. Reporting Managers are not biased and listens everyone. Over all work environment is healthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're treated like a number.
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 August 2016
Not a place I would recommend. I don't feel valued, and it's often reiterated that you're lucky to have a job. I often go above and beyond, and am not recognized for it. The pay hasn't gone up in several years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Poor Management
Developer (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, New Brunswick21 March 2013
If you do not know or have:
- How to play politics
- Have a skill no one else does (don't share it)
- Power over someone
You're not safe. Do not count getting raises, advances or keeping your job.
Pros
some great co-workers
Cons
the worst mgmt, no training, bad orientation, cultural differences, no job security, not much bench period and fake reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes44No3Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,020 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5
81%

CEO Approval

Based on 228 ratings
Add your rating