CGI Group Employee Reviews

Found 104 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start the career
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chicoutimi, QC21 December 2016
Saguenay Office.

Great place, great management team, great growing place.

The team leader, directors will consider the employees' need, very nice experience working in this place.
Pros
Benifits, Care, Career development, Team work
Cons
Pity salary, but worth a good period, also houses in Saguenay are cheap enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large organisation with small groups
Analyst Programmer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 December 2016
It is a large organisation with many benefits and potential to grow if you are in the right group that is not targeting your race or religion.
Pros
Lots of work
Cons
Lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work at
Intern (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 February 2017
Good company culture, and great company leaders. The benefits that come with the job are second to none, and the experience is also very valuable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good place to stay but not to grow.
Senior Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 January 2016
Job security.
Life and work balance.
No raise in salary for anyone.
Flexible working hours.
Have at least one training per year.
Very friendly environment.
Pros
Balancing work and life
Cons
Not a good place to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, but with a few downfalls
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 May 2015
It is a great place to get a start in your career, just don't get stuck in the service desk analyst job. It can be high stress and the amount they pay for you to do that job isn't great, but it's suppose to be a stepping stone into what you really want to do.

The benefits they offer are quite good though. almost healthcare (including dental), investment matching, retirement, etc. It honestly made working there a lot better.

The people I worked with were quite good, even if it was quite transient at the service desk side.
Pros
great benefits, lots of training
Cons
transient, lower pay, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2016
Salary increments will be less, but good place to work
work from home option is available. very big company so lot of opportunities to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were great
Computer Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2014
Our company was taken over by CGI Group and the pay and benefits were on par with other companies at the time. They were very flexible on what time you arrived as long as you put in a full day which was nice on those days that you just wanted to sleep in. The corporate culture was difficult to navigate as they expected the employees to make up any work time missed during natural disasters or take it as unpaid or vacation. Overall I had a good experience due to the quality of the co-workers I was able to work with every day.
Pros
Great co-workers, flexible times, possible work from home
Cons
Corporate culture
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heard its fun place to work
SAP SRM Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2016
Would be grateful to have a chance working with CGI
I work with Deloitte current,its a wonderful place to be and specially the leadership is very humble and helps mentoring
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is not that good
Financial Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS5 April 2016
Management is not that happy with your progress until they are progressing .
There is favoritism not on the basis of performance, but on the basis of buttering
Pros
Good to start your career with IT
Cons
Not good for long term, no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes22No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Event coordinator
Administrative Coordinator, Global Communications (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 September 2014
A typical day at work would be to begin the day with team meetings to discuss upcoming events, communications, presentations, etc. for the President that had to be addressed and coordinated.

I learned to become a team player and developed leadership skills during the time I was there. I was given the opportunity to share my ideas and intentions to improve the company development.

I worked with fantastic, dynamic colleagues that made my work environment very pleasant.
Pros
Shareholder of company and great benefits
Cons
Large teams that prevented Mgmt to meet with employees
Was this review helpful?Yes4No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't treat employees very well
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC25 May 2016
You get the general feeling that you are only a number rather than an employee. I have run into many former employees from CGI throughout my employment career, and they all seem to share stories of the same unpleasant employment experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management workplace
IT consultant (Former Employee) –  Montreal quebec24 July 2015
I worked 4 years in CGI Montreal IT department
Poorly managed from an employee perspective, compensation below market, no room for advancement. Duties increase, salary does not. No concrete training accepting every job anytime from clients, but not time to properly train the employees, only eyes on money and save costs.
And every good politics to save money, overtime not paid, yes they said it is their politic to save it (bank it ) up to 40h then your manager will ask you to take time off, you will be force to work statutory holidays and never get paid all you will get is a random day off. The salary is way below the industry standard, 16$/h while Desjardin, TD, Deloitte employees doing the same job were 25$/h
No carrier advancement for non-white, yes I said, if you are real Quebecois you get your way easily, and all the good comments are from them because they advance and get everything for less effort. From My VP, director, manager none of them had an university degree, but the employees had a Bsc to Msc. You have to know someone there to advance, a lot of family member of the VP were working there with no IT degree but were advancing at the speed of light.
After 3 years most of my colleagues got depress and were on medical leave, including me.

Team environment was very good (among colleagues, and my last manager was good too, the previous was horrible)
I hope this will help you
Pros
CGI as a whole is a good company, nice team environment
Cons
Low wage, poor management in my department
Was this review helpful?Yes29No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new things and handling a lot of huge task to make me a better person.
Chef D'équipe Réseau (Current Employee) –  Montreal20 May 2015
Arrive at Office, Review any new work (or help request) tickets and emails and escalations
Follow-up on any unfinished tickets from the day before.
Team Meetings with various departments.
Client Meeting
Hardest part of the job was satisfying everyone in a timely fashion.
Required status reporting on multiple levels.
Pros
Work from home if you can
Cons
Health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level and students
Consultant (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 March 2016
Great company to get industry experience. Hard to grow your career, and the management is not good. Work environment is friendly for the most part.
Pros
It's a job
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 May 2015
I found the culture and moral was very low. I was never excited to go to work. I did enjoy working for my boss and the team. There always seemed to be a lot of politics.
Pros
Employees
Cons
Long hours with no compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Poor Management
Developer (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, New Brunswick21 March 2013
If you do not know or have:
- How to play politics
- Have a skill no one else does (don't share it)
- Power over someone
You're not safe. Do not count getting raises, advances or keeping your job.
Pros
some great co-workers
Cons
the worst mgmt, no training, bad orientation, cultural differences, no job security, not much bench period and fake reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes44No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Salary
JAVA/ATG web commerce developer (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC18 March 2015
Good place to work when starting a career.
But Salary is low and does not grow even if you work hard.
Too much stress.
C0-workers have a good team culture
Pros
Some good project
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cgi
it project manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 January 2016
Not a bad company to work for when you start off. However advancement is slow and management direction is poor. The organisation need little more maturity in terms of process and integration between various business units.
Pros
Many offices to choose from, with many different types of job paths.
Cons
Directors are basically empty suits.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Consultant -Full (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS25 May 2015
Poorly managed from an employee perspective, compensation below market, no room for advancement. Duties increase, salary does not.
Pros
Secure position
Cons
Salary, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Analyst/Programmer (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC26 January 2015
CGI is a worldwide leader in IT. They offer good compensation and benefit and they care about the employees.

Overall they offer a nice place to work and possibilities for advancement.
Pros
Personal life is important.
Cons
Big. You feel alone at time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 788 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5