Find companies:
CDI College
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

CDI College Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
education is what leads us top greatness
student (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 16, 2014
I loved the atmosphere and the new and exciting things I've learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intimate work environment, friendly, close to home.
Business and Soft Skills Instructor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: location is close to home so the commute is minimal.
Cons: no opportunity for growth
Typically the work day consists of delivering required curriculum to various sized classes. The small class size provides the opportunity to provide students one-on-one training when required. The direct contact with the diverse student body provides experience with communication on a variety of levels. Management is relaxed and offers an open door – more... policy which makes it easy to address any situations that arise. The campus employs a dozen or so other staff so it is very easy to get to know and work with co-workers. The hardest part of the job is delivering the course content in the short time frame allowed. Some courses are only 1 week in length and others only 2. Maintaining a level of student success during that period of time is difficult. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning from the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, stressfull but fulfilling.
Education Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: students awards day
Cons: very long hours
A work place that ensembles everyone is working on their family business.

Stressor is not strong enough to make one to call in sick.

CDI College do stand on their mission. . . . "changing lives through education". . . . not only for the students but to their employees as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment; supportive team.
Medical Office Administration Instructor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 16, 2014
Very friendly atmosphere; encourages students to learn and reach their career goals.
Career oriented place.
Management is very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pressure sales
SALES REP/CAREER ADVISOR (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: dealing with clients who have real needs
Cons: pressure to sell overshadows the needs of a client
Unfortunately the pressure for sales overshadows proper customer service and the needs of a potential client, consequently service becomes very self centered as opposed to client centered, leaving client feeling like they are pressured to make a decision right there and then. No one wants to be pressured into buying, it takes finesse and empathy in – more... this field to make it work for both company and the client, unfortunately most adviors/reps do not have proper skills to build trust and rapport, which is the FIRST step to any sales transaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect balance of work and life
Financial Planner/Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 30, 2014
I truly enjoyed my time at CDI and will miss the atmosphere of such an easy going environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private industry. No job validation, no support from management,
Practical Nursing Instructor (Former Employee), CDI College WinnipegJuly 4, 2014
My co-workers and the students were the only reasons I would force myself to come to work each day. Yet in the end the work environment became so toxic that coming to work became a challenge. I would not recommend CDI College as a healthy work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Instructor (Current Employee), CalgaryJune 25, 2014
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: low salary & micro-management
Great co-workers make this job pleasurable. The students provide plenty of job satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because of the people and environment
Career Services (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 31, 2014
Pros: people and you work for.
Cons: work load.
Typical day as a Career service rep was your daily communications with students, as well as your always on your toes with different things to do on a daily bases. Work never stops but the great thing about working here was building relationships with students as they go on there journey in college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team environments
Instructor (Current Employee), Victoria, BCFebruary 6, 2014
Very friendly staff, great work environment.
Best job I've ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as VCC
Instructor for MOA Program (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 25, 2013
CDI and VCC have now amalgamated. They are the same governing body so the same comments that I have for VCC would also be listed here as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position.
Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 4, 2013
Pros: they help a lot of students.
Cons: one of the cdi's burnt down.
I liked teaching the students.
Interviewing students was fun, helping them plan for the future gave me feeling of satisfaction.
Management was good.
We worked as a team.
The hardest part was when a student did not quality for a loan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDI
Business and Accounting Instructor (Current Employee), CalgaryAugust 14, 2013
Its a private college, operates like a business, overall good company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Expectations, low standards
Career Services (Current Employee), Calgary. ABAugust 12, 2013
Very minimal training. Thrown into a position or expected to know what you are doing with very little to work with. After almost a year of working I was finally given a "welcome package" to the position I was in. Not only do you have a campus director to answer too but you also have an education manager, regional manager of your deparment and VP director – more... of your department. Never in my years as a working professional, have I ever felt that my co-workers were more against than anything. This company lacks unity and trust. A foundation to build a strong business. What CDI stands for is to help people through education. I obtain my education through CDI, but after a year of working for them, they are only looking at numbers. Their beliefs are false. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Haad fun with staff and student functions
Networking Instructor (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 20, 2013
Pros: fun
Cons: was only it tech on staff
Many times staff would have outings for students
was a good time all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Instructor (Current Employee), CalgaryJanuary 28, 2013
Not enough things to do in a day so if you like to be board 4 hours a day great job to have
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Moderately Stressful, Very Rewarding
Student Services Coordinator/Bookhub Administrator (Current Employee), Edmonton ABJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: consistent schedule. 8-4:30
Cons: over worked and under paid
Days are generally consistent.
I've learned more here than I did in college.
Co workers are great.
The lack of freedom to grow.
Helping students and changing lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun to teach student
Mediacl instructor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 20, 2013
Working with CDI College is really great, I love teaching and I am able to fullfill my desire, as I feel I have got the capacity to change life of some people. As a company Eminata puts a huge effort to give opportunity to their employees to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was always interesting and versitile
Adminstration (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 20, 2012
Pros: busy working atmosphere
Reception duties
Administration to CEO and other office personnel
Testing students for application qualification
filing
Scheduling Recruiters appts.
Orientation of new students
Copying, Mailing of financial documents, scheduling appts. for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Past-paced and challenging but friendly environment
Office Administrator / Bookkeeper (Current Employee), Surrey, BCDecember 6, 2012
At work, I spend most of my time on creating and issuing diplomas and transcripts for students, closing student files, covering reception during lunch and evening hours, assist in accounts payable, and most importantly, providing exceptional customer service to our students.