Find companies:
C.H. Robinson
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

C.H. Robinson Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace for sales and logistics experts
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCApril 3, 2012
Pros: people
Cons: stressfull at times.
Great company, great benefits, perks, competitive workforce and excellent training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual atmosphere but very hectic and frustrating
sales rep (Current Employee), Portland, ORJuly 30, 2014
Pros: casual, good $, decent amount of freedom
Cons: hectic, inefficient, stressful
You can make some good money and the benefits are great (insurance, 401K matching, etc). The day to day job is very stressful, taxing, and frustrating. Many things are out of your control and many problems arise so it's difficult to really focus on getting things done. The people in general are all very nice and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice envorinment
Clerk (Current Employee), Laredo, TXJuly 30, 2014
To work with an organization where I can continuously learn in the pursuit of achieving functional excellence, thus getting maximum job satisfaction and optimum career growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry-level place to start work after graduating from college.
Sales Executive (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2014
Pros: exposure to sales, good place to start out of school, lots of opportunity to grow
Cons: industry is now diluted with large number of companies that do the same business, unsexy sell, large number of people i deal with are not college educated
I have learned a great deal about the supply chain industry from my work at CH Robinson over the past few years. It has given me an opportunity to oversee and manage accounts within the office, help identify opportunities where potential clients have inefficiencies in their supply-chain model, and present new ideas and solutions to these clients in – more... order to outsource their transportation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and fast paced
Transportation Sales Representative (Current Employee), USAJuly 16, 2014
Great entry level position but that is about it. Work hours are long. You are on the phone all day and it is very much like a stock market. Get experience here and move on!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work place, Creative Culture....LOVED IT
Operations Representative/Trainer (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, MNJuly 8, 2014
Pros: flexible and freedom to be creative
Cons: no operations division in memphis tn
I love CH Robinson, I was a place to learn and grow. Management was very support and your career is driven by your personal goals. LOVED IT....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Accounts Receivable Representative (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, MNJuly 7, 2014
Pros: nice facilities
Cons: a lot of turnover
Not the most interesting work in the world, but a solid company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviorment and benefits.
Operations Support (Current Employee), Eden Prairie, MNJuly 7, 2014
Pros: insentive program
Cons: no room for advancement
The people here are nice. There is not a lot of room for growing with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Dupe (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, MNJune 25, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: just about everything else.
Most of the reviews of CHR seem to be either it is horrible, or heaven. It is neither. Some good, some bad:

Good:
Pay is good for the work for the most part.

Will train new employees, although often the trainers are not good enough to do their own jobs, much less train others.

Bad:
Management from the least (team lead) to the most (corporate) is – more... lousy. Most at the low least end do nothing constructive. All they really "manage" is making themselves look good, and doing little if anything more than their team members. I did not have a single team lead in over 10 years at CHR whose knowledge or intellect was superior to mine. In fact, I my team leads often referred troublesome questions, sometimes even their own(!), to me. One team lead promised weekly team meetings to update members on new procedures, etc., resolve any conflicts, etc. These meetings lasted about three weeks, and then the team lead decided she was too busy, so out the window the meetings went. How she was too busy is anyone's guess, as I was responsible WHOLLY for all classifications for her major client, and she never came in early or left late. Several corporate managers have retired at an early age with golden parachutes, but their positive effects on the company are hard to define. If CHR could shake up its management at all levels, it could become what is once was, namely, the King of the Hill. Don't hold your breath, though, as the most commonly heard comment in the department I was in, especially when helpful changes were proposed, was, "Well, we've always done things that way..." even if the "way" they did the "things" was failing miserably. Stay away, unless you want to be a drudge with no hope of advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours to work
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 24, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: turned the lights down to save energy at night
Answered phone calls over night and dispatched drivers to be able to pick up a load and then also to empty a load. Learned about the trucking business and how much the drivers do in order to have product to a place quickly. Mangement made it a fun place to work for and co- workers were nice. Hardest part of the job was getting used to being up all night. – more... Enjoyed being able to work and also be at home during the day for my children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive environment with people willing to help each other achieve goals.
Logistics Client Relations Specialist (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIJune 23, 2014
Pros: paid vacation, health insurance, 401k
Cons: limited resources
A typical day at work would mean developing and maintain positive relationships while exceeding goals on a daily basis. I want to maintain my own vision and control my own destiny - while helping others do the same along the way.

The most enjoyable part of the day is the positive feedback you receive when a client confirms their goals have been attained. – more... That is perhaps most rewarding when its done with planning, collaboration, and creativity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company good pay
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), oklahoma city,okJune 23, 2014
Pros: ability to have a flex shift or bid every 6 months
Cons: not being able to help drivers after hours due to no supervisors working
8 hours of talking to drivers taking load info and updating the system. I learned that I was able to multi task between calls and updates. good coworkers. management was to many chiefs with no real set chain of command. I worked early mornings but my direct supervisor was on the night shift. hardest part of job was the communication with management. – more... helping drivers get home or loads and helping co workers with mad drivers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential for better but progress is inhibited by poor management
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Hebron, KYJune 9, 2014
Pros: global oppurtunities
Cons: poor management, dictatorship, poor company culture, lack of confidence in leadership
My first few months with Phoenix were delightful, and I truly felt the excitement and had confidence in my leadership. Unfortunately, this all declined with the buyout by CH Robinson. The culture shift was felt immediately, and management did not seem to have strong direction. I was often given conflicting information and found many discrepancies between – more... corporate and satellite office. Ultimately it was decided in both our best interests to part ways. I do not recommend CH Robinson to anyone seeking new or advancement opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviornment
RECRUITER (Current Employee), Eden Prairie, MNJune 4, 2014
Constant change, fast paced, and customer focused.
Positions are goal oriented as is compensation.

Can often be a stressful environment and internal communication can be a big gap.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a game room.
Credit and Collections Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 27, 2014
Managed a high volume workload within a deadline-driven environment. I've learned a lot at C.H. Robinson. We strived on integrity and working under pressure. The management was very cool and down to earth and offered training when needed. My peers were very helpful with any situation that occurred and will assist on your workload when needed. The hardest – more... part of the job was dealing with irate customers even though it was handled with no problem. I enjoyed receiving incentives when we win in any game that will improve your collection numbers for that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy, face paced, extremely productive work enviroment
Transportation Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee), Bellevue, WAMay 13, 2014
Pros: great workspace, healthcare, 401k
Cons: very long days (10 hour)
C.H. Robinson is a great company to work for. I don't even know where to start in regards to what I learned there. Management was very informative and kept everyone in the loop on the pulse of business from the day to day operations to the quarterly P&L and everything in between, it didn't matter if you were an intern, ops rep, or a senior sales representative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Account Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 12, 2014
Get ready to be on the phone and email all day. It can be rewarding because you are given the independence to grow and secure business. Fun co workers. Decent management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place wasnt fun at all, young kids right out of College
External Sales Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 12, 2014
Pros: no dress code, good benifits, ok 1st job out of college.
Cons: long hrs, low pay, same thing day after day. no room for advancement.
The worst salary ever, I made more waiting tables. They make everyone learn the same exact skills and by doing that, everyone is totally replaceable. I was let go the day they hired someone from another country at a lower salary. Good Benifits, but all you do is call on trucks and beat them up on price. The truckers hate CHR and call them Cheap and – more... Heavy. There was no goals to hit and you work in a cube in a room full of people just like you. Also no comission on landing a new customer, so you get a big fat thank you when you land a $30,000 per month profitable customer. Also you work long hours to get the job done, then to make it worse every year on halloween weekend you have to go on a work camp out and pay your own way on meals and drinks and your own time away from family and friends. I almost for got the 1 Saturday morning you were required to work once every month 7am to 12 noon, fun! I was there when Co-worker got her 5 year gift from CHR and I kid you not it was a pair of walkie talkies. And I gurantee she wasnt making $50,000 per year after 5 years of service. Just no motivation to work hard, everyone I worked with got there right on time, couldnt wait for a 1 hr lunch and as soon as 5pm hit they ran for the door. Team events were very lame and everyone had their clicks and if your not a brown noser you days will be numbered. In my office 30 of us worked pay check to pay check with no real pay increase for any reason and only the office manager made $300,000 per year. Yeah real fair. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great atmosphere with learning opportunity
Capacity Account Manager (Current Employee), Jackson, MSMay 5, 2014
Pros: lassez faire
Cons: very little opportunity to grow.
A laid back environment where success is based on personal drive. This was a great experience where I learned a lot, and added skills/tools to take with me for my next job. There is very little opportunity to growth without relocation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work place
Capacity Account Manager (Current Employee), Detroit, MIMay 4, 2014
-Self-motivated employees
-Open communication between employees/management
-Learned to multi task, negotiate, problem solve

1 2 3 4 5

About C.H. Robinson

C.H. Robinson—accelerating careers with immense opportunities and professional growth within the global supply chain industry. – Read more

C.H. Robinson Photos