BURNCO Rock Products Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 46 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burnco landscape center calgary
Burnco landscape center (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 September 2017
Was great starting out but over time they only hire school kids so they dont have to pay as much going into the fall is the worst becuase they think they can run the place with 3-5 guys you are nothing but an expense to burnco you are not a person to burnco you are just money if your not making burnco money you are not apart of burnco the management system for the area is never around they allow bullying by management 40-50 year old men holding their waists to a bunch of 15-19 year olds pre sad place to work once you get the experience sart pay is 14 hourly good luck getting a raise youll have to sell your soul b4 you get a cent from burnco landscape center Toxic toxic place
Pros
Some of the staff are awsome but also get treated poorly
Cons
Good luck getting your breaks when you want if you take your lunch its frowned upon toxic enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and terrible management
Ready Mix Driver/Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC18 August 2017
When I first started working here it was a decent job but we were paid by the run at the beginning which sucked because you didn't make much money. The management was horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment
Pant assistant (Former Employee) –  Alberta18 August 2017
When hired, was told they like to hire within and help employees learn and advance, after 7 years I've seen nothing but outside hires and layoff of long term employees. If you're hired to do a job, that's the job you will be doing forever if you choose to stay. No advancement.

Good pay, but not above average by much.

Long hours depending on position, some don't get enough hours.

Hard to balance work and life

Great employees

Too much micro management and old school "management buddy system"
Pros
Okay pay, Good employees
Cons
Managment, moral is extremely low. You're nothing but an expense
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic place to work!
Receptionist (temporary) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta12 July 2017
The company has a very toxic atmosphere due to one of the upper management staff and their need to bully employees. I was glad when my contract with them ended.
Pros
Nice location
Cons
The culture supports dysfunctional and intimidating behaviour by upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work, Driving Operating cement Mixer
Mixer Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta26 June 2017
Truck Maintenance oil, Tires, Scheduling, Detailing
Care & delivery of ready-mix Concrete
often in summer months, 16 hour days 6 days / week with very little opportunity for time off.
Pros
perks, such as X-mas Party & gifts, Safety Bonus
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 May 2017
The job itself was great, and maybe even amazing. I just found no joy in the work and that is my problem, not anything to do with Burnco. If a job as a materials tester is what you want this is the job for you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tight Knit Group (Young Men Though)
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 April 2017
I was satisfied working here, for the most part coworkers were polite, kind, and hard-working. Some of the guys were mean though - probably thought it was just banter. If you can take some chirps, or generally fit in with that culture, it's a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Class 3 Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 March 2017
I enjoyed working at Burnco for 2 seasons. The biggest problem was there was not enough work during winter months so I was laid off during those times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 March 2017
Dealed with accounts payable. Calling the customers who hadn't payed their bills. Management was helpful and positive.
Enjoyed doing the accounts payable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 March 2017
Hard work cold dirty pays good day shift night shift odd hours send you wherever they like without notice dangerous not managed overly well very hard to balance work and life this job is not for a family man
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pased invirnment
Yard Hand (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 February 2017
was a yard hand loading and un loading trucks helping customers putting away of stock and keeping the ground clean load bags of product help customers in designing of there landscaping projects help contractors load and unload
Pros
easy mangment to get a hold of
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced workplace. Enjoyed the challenge.
Plant Foreman (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB17 January 2017
Excellent company to work for! Challenging , learning environment, where I was supported by management in all aspects of my different positions over the years.
Pros
They invest time and education to make the employee the best he can be.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great summer job with friends.
Cashier/Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 January 2017
In all honesty, this was a hard job in the beginning. I had no previous knowledge of landscaping or anything to do with rock products. However, with the help of management and co-workers, I caught on quickly. This job helped me see that even though I had no previous knowledge I was smart and could learn things quickly with the help of others.
Pros
Great co -workers, group environment, a learning opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working environment at HO
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary HO15 December 2016
One awful senior person at HO, very poor working environment and yes treated as a number. Such a shame it could be a great place to work but one senior person is a nightmare and affects the whole office environment
Pros
reasonable pay
Cons
staff NOT treated with respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Plant Helper/Equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 November 2016
Its a good place to work, make good money, learn alot from the more experienced people. Always something different going on, There is always room for advancement if you show the ambition to do so
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team to work with
QA Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2016
It's a good company lots of hours I feel sorry I left to get job overseas in Dubai
Good managers and co worker I lenjoyed working for Burnco
Pros
Free transportation and free gas as well
Cons
Lot of over time during summer time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay Pathetic management operations
Mixer driver operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2016
I worked on it for 6 months to get this Job as a driver it was demanding with good pay and I did revere working for this company until i had a severe head traumatic brain injury on a vacation that i am registered with disabilities from, once i returned to work in just over 6 months of rehab it was a constant uphill battle to get management to accept and respect medical documents from local medical professionals in regard to my ability to perform without affecting cognition , I took it upon myself to disclose directly to supervisors ALL my medical information that pertained to my abilities for daily working hours , I was cleared for 10 hr days 50 hrs pr week and up to 12 hrs days based on my level of mental fatigue and cognition . The company was very busy at that time and I was forced to work 13-15 hr days less that 1 year after my return , then I discovered that management would not relay and of my medical document info to dispatch or to any other management in the company so i did it myself including the owner. During my last year there during which time my fiance at the time was expecting to go into labor and I communicated that I was told i was being sent to another plant and I said no i need to stay at my assigned plant incase my fiance goes into labour so i was reprimanded and given 2 days off . Then a notice went around the plants that the owner was looking for insights from employee's to make improvements in the company so i participated and had a private meeting with the owner of Burnco Rock Products and I had taken 30 pictures around the plant to display safety concerns  more... and the majority of my insights were applied and it was nice to see , During my last months there i was kept off the call in list even thought up on the seniority list had a new family member now and was healing from my sever head TBI were i had nerve damage had to develop a new personality and had brain damage in the short term memory of my brain , it was not easy and no one will understand unless they experience it . Even though i did a good job kept my commercial truck clean provided ALL medical documents as i was instructed to their company when required they were very deceptive in thier operations now 10 years later after my DTC was accepted by Rev Can I decide to file a H.R complaint because I realized I do have disabilities from the injury H.R would not accept it because I filed my complaint to late which is unjust and unfair due to the nature of my injury .

In ending my overall expereince before my injury was good because i just did my job well and went home but after my severe head TBI it made me realize management can talk the talk but they cannot walk the walk ! and I do not respect or forget that fact !, it would have been different if i did a bad job and had a bad attitude but in reality I did a very good job and had a very good attitude , the only person you should trust is yourself you are the only one that has your back , I stuck it out for a year after my return and then got fed up frustrated after illegally held off work for 3 weeks with no reprimand for example and was forced to move on out of need to have income during the birth of our child and recovery from my severe head TBI . It was a very well known injury it was on the news and papers and fully disclosed to the employer .
  less
Pros
Work
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok good money not professional work environment
Heavy Equipment Operator & Maintenance Lead (Current Employee) –  Genesee, AB15 September 2016
Young kids run shift .They have no respect and it creates a big turnover . Long layoff in winter . Mandatory weekends when running.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
12 hours and lay off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible by all means
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 September 2016
I worked at HO for almost 3 years...the worst years of my entire career. There won't be any kind of appreciation for your hardwork, the workload is unreal and you will be treated like a number. There is not grow, your voice is not gonna be heard, old school with very dump ways to work, no open to new perspectives or or opinions. People is saturated and unhappy there.' Leaders' lack of leadership basics. Sad.
Pros
Decent compensation
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burnaby shop is good
Journeyman Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC31 August 2016
I worked for the Burnaby shop for two years before leaving for travel. Pay was good, and the work was diverse and intersting. Now that the one mechanic was fired there is no more shop drama. Good group of mechanics.
Pros
Wage, brnifits and monthly safety bonus.
Cons
Day/ afternoon shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BURNCO Rock Products Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 49 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.5
Culture
2.8

BURNCO Rock Products Ltd Reviews by Location