Bulk Barn Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job itself was good, but the management is horrendous.
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 August 2017
The job itself is good, but they fired me without warning four days after my probation was over, when I asked why they said they "had to lay someone off and they chose (me)" when asked why to that they cited some obscure event from two months previous which they never even bothered to mention to me until the day they fired me!
Pros
Easy.
Cons
They make it very clear you're worthless and temporary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but you gain lots of product knowledge
supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 August 2017
Throughout the day we would refill product, serve customers and wash every single scoop. By closing time we would have to undersweep, mop and wash the surface of every bin. If you worked full time it would become exhausting, at the location I was at we only ever had two on a shift so one person would stay on cash and undersweep while the other washed all the scoops and lids.
Pros
Learning about different product
Cons
It was awful to do all the cleaning with only two people on a shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone seened nice was friendly enviorment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB29 August 2017
got along well with others, loved greeting customers. had to remember a lot of codes, did lots of cleaning which I love. always put a smile on customers faces,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loooove it
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Swift Current, SK23 August 2017
I loved working there,
I went from Cashier to supervisor quick
& I loved the group of people I worked with ,
I would definitely go back there in a heart beat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  collingwood, on owen sound, on23 August 2017
Very fast paced environment. Physically demanding. Very team orientated. Staff are friendly and always there to help. You can learn a lot about different foods and their health benefits
Pros
everything
Cons
very very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job, physically demanding with low pay
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC23 August 2017
Very clear that corporate office doesn't care about their employees. Took away employee and customer discounts that were previously offered by the owner.
The job mainly consists of cleaning, most of which is very hard on your back. The rest of the time, you are running around trying to stock items while fielding questions from customers and watching for shoplifters. All while running back and forth from the cash register.
They definitely do not pay well enough for the amount of work they expect. Working at McD's is probably less stressful
Cons
No breakroom/breakroom facilities, poor pay, physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life at work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON22 August 2017
As I mentioned in my other review for Bulk Barn. The Burlington Location was the best. The two franchisees knew what they were doing and how to run their business properly. Also, how to respect their employees with respect.
Pros
Christmas gift, cared about their employees
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
CUSTOMER SERVICE/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON21 August 2017
This was my first job at 15 and it was great. They treated me as an adult, my managers were wonderful and I learned a lot about foods and customer service.
Pros
Made Great Connections
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and motivating place to work
Store clerk (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB20 August 2017
Your typical day involves: filling up and cleaning the various food bins, tubs and trays; cleaning floors and dusting shelves; and unloading and storing the new stocks.
Pros
tasting the various food available
Cons
learning all the different food codes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly enjoyable colleagues, fun environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON19 August 2017
I worked with countless employees and diligently worked through tasks.
I learned that gossip makes a work environment toxic and unpleasant, and those who supervise tend to exaggerate the jobs that they do in order to shift work onto your shoulders. (This does not apply to all supervisors)
The environment is fun and lighthearted, and the most enjoyable part of the job is the people you meet and interact with on a daily or weekly basis.
Pros
food, friendly staff
Cons
no benefits/discounts, no room to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customers
CASHIER/STOCK CLERK (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON18 August 2017
Repeat customers makes it a family atmosphere
Great selection of items
Owner is great and personable
Small team but we work together
Enjoy helping people find new recipes
Pros
Great Owner and Customers
Cons
Not full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON18 August 2017
Bulk Barn is a great place to work when you are in between jobs. Working after school or for extra money. Not stressful, only during the holidays. However not much to go up from being a supervisor
Pros
Great choices of bulk foods
Cons
Nowhere to move up from
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC13 August 2017
I work for the new westminster store. It's a nice part time job. The head office management is great will often buy Tim Horton's for the staff. The manager and assistant manager and all other staff are great. The pay is decent for part time work. No stress.
Pros
Really good coworkers
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees make the job at my store.
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2017
Working stock at Bulk Barn is pretty much your standard, mundane stock shift. The company is Franchised so I imagine each store offers a variable experience. I am lucky enough to work at a busier store which means more coworkers and customers to help keep the day rolling by. Undersweeping the bins will kill your back.
Pros
Flexible Break Schedule
Cons
Physical Exertion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bulk Barn Supervisor position
Supervisor, Full Time (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON6 August 2017
Job entitles too much work for random hours, even as full time, for too little pay. Cooperation is advised but never truly shown. All in all its a job for teenagers or those not looking for anything serious.
Pros
Management
Cons
No consistancy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandiser
Keyholder/Merchandiser/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 August 2017
Great company to work for. Low stress and great people and staff. I worked for over 4 years and the job was not stressful. I look forward to move up the ranks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to see Management go
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON1 August 2017
This was one of my favorite places to work. But sadly all the owners have been taken over by corporate. Our owner was the best boss ive ever had. I'm sure bulk barn is still decent to work for, but won't ever be the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job if you're not looking for anything too serious
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bracebridge, ON24 July 2017
The management where I worked was horrible. There was a lot of gossip and drama among the employees and the boss/management. Horrible hours given, given maximum 10 hours a week. Not accommodating of illnesses/time off requests (no matter how far in advance).
Pros
it was easy
Cons
awful management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for people that like to help others
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2017
Great job for people that like to help others and are strict with cleanliness. Should have some knowledge of baking and cooking. Good memory is an asset.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with fun staff
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON20 July 2017
Lots of cleaning, dusting and customer service. I've really learned patience and memorization skills. The management was always helpful and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bulk Barn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 286 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4