Find companies:
Bulk Barn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

Bulk Barn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviorment
Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 15, 2013
Pros: great people, great enviorment
Cons: hard to understand co-workers
With Target being so new to Canada is was a great way to see how Target was going to show how multi-cultural it can be. While working at Target I worked in the Electronic department, as well as all over the store when a guest was in need of assistants. The management of the store was one of the best i have seen. As target was new i was hired to before – more... start up which ment we needed to build up the store, from putting up shelves to setting up product. The first couple weeks as we were doing set up the managment team made sure there was drinks in the fridge and as well bought lunch about 75% of the time. The best part of the job was how everyone got along, well most of the time. the harest part was because of how cultural Target was, some co-workers was hard to understand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Supervisor and Cashier (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBAugust 7, 2013
A typical day at the Bulk Barn involved cleaning the store in order to ensure its cleanliness and sanitary. Some days the morning would be spent on cash, carrying out debit, credit and cash transactions while carrying out a friendly conversation with the customer.
I learned that the impression you leave with a customer is very valuable and reflects – more... on the store itself. I pride myself on my relationships with customers throughout the day and regular basis customers.
Management new what they were doing and had a very effective system in place. Co-workers were easy to get along with and all helped add to the friendly environment that Bulk Barn has created.
Hardest part of the job for myself would be trying to get nightly tasks done to perfection on a busy night, without having to make the staff stay later to ensure the job was done properly.
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with customers and seeing them leave with a smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scare Tactics Used
Customer Service (Former Employee), OntarioJune 25, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: obscure hours and management with mood swings
If you are able to keep your head down and out of sight from management, you can build some good co-worker relationships in the corporate environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Friendly environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 1, 2013
A typical day at work was organizing the store, stocking the shelves, cleaning, and serving customers. I learned to deal with many different people, and how a store is properly ran. Management was well organized and trained. Coworkers were very friendly, I got along with everyone there. Hardest part of the job was the occasional heavy lifting, but great – more... coworkers were there to help. Most enjoyable part of the job was the gratitude shown by appreciative customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people and exciting workplace
Stock Person (Current Employee), Saskatoon SkMay 31, 2013
Pros: the sales
Cons: evening shifts are bad
great and will continue to work there as long as possible and
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place staff are like a big family
Supervisor (Former Employee), Thunder BayMay 30, 2013
Pros: the people i work with and customer
best place to work, great staff, good hours, great managment, learned many new things every day, including cash, team building skills ect. the managment was amazing treats every staff the same down to earth, understanding. co workers are like family fun to work with reliable, the hardest part of the job was not snacking on to many goodies, the most – more... enjoyible part was working with lots of people and customers and putting a smile on someones face everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good owners and bosses
Supervisor/ Key Holder (Former Employee), alliston and orangevilleMay 2, 2013
Pros: happy go lucky place
Cons: not willing to save hard working employees
very clean and happy people, served customers and handled cash, filled up bins with product and solved customer problems, opened store and closed store did final cash closing for shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bulk Barn
Cashier/ Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Vernon, BcApril 27, 2013
Uniform on, going up an down the aisle flipping scoops and making sure the top of the bin are clean , as its a bulk foods store. I was always first cashier , handling money an speaking with the customers as i was checking an weighing there items of purchase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, lousy managment
Cashier (Former Employee), Burlington, ONMarch 15, 2013
Cons: new managment /owner was not so great.
Overall the experience with the owners at the Burlington Mall were great. as was the first manager at the cumberland store. When new management took over, this went down under she was not so great. Her husband was better than her.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well-managed,diligent, and friendly workplace.
Stock Clerk and Cashier (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONFebruary 12, 2013
This job was a great experience to have as a young, working adult. It allowed for a flexible schedule, yet I always knew there was hours to work when I needed them. It was a diverse and friendly environment, thanks to excellent managing and ownership. The staff were friendly and loyal, and through my seven years there I never once encountered any real – more... conflict.
Although the day-to-day work was somewhat stagnant and repetitive (cleaning, filling stock), that is to expected of a retail job, and I was happy just to be working and staying busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: heavy boxes
A typical day at work included doing cash, cleaning the store, stocking the bins with food and dealing with customers. I learned how to deal with I-rate customers properly in order to make everyone happy. The management at Bulk Barn was amazing, our manager was very supportive in what I did and could talk to her about anything. My co-workers were also – more... very supportive and friendly. The hardest part of the job was lifting heavy boxes when food needed to be restocked and the most enjoyable part was working with many fun and supportive people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you busy, good exercise, fast-paced and fun
Inventory Associate (Former Employee), Collingwood, ONJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: 10% discount
Cons: lack of hours
Unloading trucks on Mondays and Thursdays. Fun staff, learned about different foods, learned various product codes. Co-workers were very friendly, but busy environment makes it near impossible to socialize. Hardest part of the job is lifting massive bags or dealing with peanut butter/syrups. The most enjoyable part of the job is the smell of delicious – more... candy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: multi tasking
Great store
multitasking is a must(cashier,cleaner,stock) all at once
great customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/cleaner
Cashier/Cleaner (Former Employee), sault ste marie ONJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: discount
safe
clean
fun
enjoyable
nice staff
discount
learned good cleaning and customer service sklills
hardest part was working with candy all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Supervisor (Former Employee), Brantford, OntarioJanuary 6, 2013
lots of fun, good atmosphere and great management. Can't say since the ownership has been changed, but it was good when I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bulk Barn Review
Volunteer (Former Employee), West Kelowna British Columbia CanadaDecember 28, 2012
The typical day at work is having to deal with cleaning and stocking shelves every single shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 27, 2012
Cleaned bins and stocked shelves, Helped customers with finding products. Co-workers nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work when in school
Cash and Stock Clerk (Former Employee), YarmouthNovember 21, 2012
Pros: free food at times and a 10% discount
Cons: low pay and hours
A typical day at Bulk Barn I would stock and clean shelves

I learned good work ethics.

Managed alright.

My co-workers were nice people

The hardest part of the job was stocking bins.

The most enjoyable past of the job would have to be working out back organizing the stock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced work place
Part-time - Store clerk (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 30, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Bulk Barn was a ok work place because I didn't really learn anything helpful but the flexibility was good and the manger was understanding. The people that worked there were kind and easy to get along with. There was no part of the job I really enjoyed or disliked and it wasn't hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
honest and productive
SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONOctober 26, 2012
Pros: 1 hour lunch break
Cons: work days
Everyday I am dealing with people and merchandising. I learned how to deal with people and handle customers complaints. the management was okay. I can work with other people all the time. The hardest part of the job was dealing with a mean customers and most enjoyable part was learning more new products.