Find companies:
Build a Bear Workshop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

Build a Bear Workshop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun energetic workplace working with kids
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: close to food and shopping
Cons: random hours all over the place
Assisted customers through the process of the store, helped parents and children with making bears and choosing clothes for them, processed sales, kept the store clean and stocked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced retail environment working with children and families
Retail (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONNovember 1, 2012
Pros: positive environment
Cons: limited hours
I enjoy Build a Bear very much because of the day to day interaction with children and their families. It can be challenging as I often have large groups of children with multiple demands. The look on their faces is my reward. My co-workers are great. We have a lot of fun and great teamwork. The management at Build a Bear is very supportive and helpful – more... when I have questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderfull Workplace
Bear Builder (Former Employee), Frisco, TXAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment with fun daily responsibilities.
Cons: sitting next to the bear stuffer for hours. it did tend to get very hot.
I absolutely loved working a Build-A-Bear Workshop. It was like my inner child's fun zone. I'm an adult and I still believe that the world is a play ground and that was an arcade to me. I was hired on temporarily for seasonal. With Christmas coming right around the corner, I was most defiantly needed at that time. When I started working there, I was – more... a bear stuffer. I sat at the stuffing machines and walked the kids through the hear ceremony, which is when they pick out a fabric heart and we had them do things such as rubbing the heart on their nose so their bear knows them and rubbing it on their knee so their bear needs them. We then had them place the heart inside their bear and we would stuff it for them and seal the bear up. I always wanted to be a teacher and I loved working with kids on a daily basis, so when birthday parties came through I was anxious to have my chance as the partier leader. Unfortunately, I did only work there for a few months. I left the day before Christmas to move to a different state. I did most definitely enjoy my time there though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is like going to playland each day
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Attleboro, MAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: helping the parents bond with the caildren
Cons: very long hours, but that was ok
making the children laugh. the adults laugh just as much . management is there to guild you to your fun place. coworkers are caring and there for you. leaving at the end of the day. being there for all =the old and the young.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun retail job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Telford and Kingston Upon HullJuly 8, 2014
Pros: fun, capacity to progress through ranks
Cons: difficult during holidays such as christmas
This job was not like any other retail employment, as the fun had from making and selling bears as well as hosting parties would make work enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Bear Builder (Former Employee), Waldorf, MDMarch 30, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: not much to move up the ladder
I love working here. I never went to work without a smile. My managers were amazing. Not only were they there for work reasons but personal reasons as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun place to work
Retail sales associate (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COMarch 5, 2014
Pros: great work environment, super fun place to work
Cons: not enough hours, easily burnt out by all the parties i had to host
I loved how laid back Build a Bear could be. It could also be ruthlessly busy.
In the mornings I would enter the store, make sure all the merchandise bins were stocked, and if not I would stock them.
I would clean whatever needed to be cleaned and make sure the displays were up to date.
I would help customers choose their item, stuff it, sew it up and – more... ring them out. I loved all of my co-workers and everyone got along great.

The hardest part of the job was being a party hostess. On the weekends, we would be booked full with parties coming in every hour. It at least made the day go by fast.

The most enjoyable part of the job was having a good time in the company of my co-workers and personalizing the merchandise displays for season, or sports, or whatever else we felt needed to be represented in the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Bear Builder (Former Employee), Milton KeynesFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day is helping the children/adult choose a skin and help them to bring the bear to life by stuffing it,given it a heart,sewing it and dressing it.
I learned how to book parties using the computer in store,hosting birthday parties and to be more outgoing.
Management were fab and i got on really well and had a good understanding. I got on well – more... with my co workers and we all worked well as a team.
The hardest part of the job was probably staying cheery at Christmas time when you had a long queue waiting to make their bear.
The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the faces of the children after they had stuffed their bear and dressed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun and happy workplace
Associate (Former Employee), Fresno, CAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: free shirts
Some times became very busy but that is what excites me cause i love a challenge every once in a while. I brought in customers and also set goals that i would have to hit did inventory and fix displays for that season, they were able to place me were ever they needed me. Hardest part of the job was, trying to sew up 15 bears all by yourself... lol i – more... truly loved this job... I was even offered management position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I absolutle love going to work all the time
Bear Builder/ Cashier (Current Employee), Laredo, TXJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: friendly work place
Cons: cutting hours after holidays
This was my very first job and I fell in love with it. I love going to work and making all the little kids smile and seeing them have fun. Our managers are very helpful as well as my co workers. we are a family an are there for each other. the hard thing was just organizing the parties but other than that it was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Bear Builder/ Cashier (Former Employee), san francisco, CaJanuary 16, 2014
I worked there for the giants stadium one season and my boss was great. the people i worked with were also awsome. great part time to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job
Sales Representative (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: no con except i had to leave.
I loved this job, it was an ongoing busy store all the time. You meet new people, especially the kids. I loved working the birthday parties with the kids, it made me feel good about myself, knowing that I was giving the kids a great time at the store. And helping all the other customers was a great opportunity as well. And my best part was being responsible – more... for all the inventory that came in I was inventory Manager. I was great at it, and I enjoyed it a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience in the Working World
Bear Builder/Cashier (Current Employee), Braintree, MAJanuary 12, 2014
I LOVE my job at Build a Bear Workshop. Typically it is very fast paced and upbeat. I have to be friendly and smiling at all times. The Management is great, they truly care about their employees and make working fun. All of my co-workers have different personalities. Sometimes it can be very easy to work with them and other days it is what some would – more... consider "difficult". We all get along and work as a team. The hardest part of my job is keeping the stock full AND interacting with customers at the same time. The most enjoyable part of my job is watching the children enjoy the magic of making a new friend, it is always entertaining and fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that makes you smile
Chief Workshop Manager/ BTC (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: healthcare, vacation days
What a thrill it is to be one of the few in the world that actually look forward to going to work. This is how it is at Build A Bear Workshop. The experience that you get to sell to the guests is what makes the job so great and to be able to now that the company is going to take care of you if anything happens makes this a wonderful place to work. You – more... are not a number, but a name, a name that people know and a name that at the end of the day you can feel proud of. On the job training is great and management is always willing to teach you new things to get you better at your job. Never looked down upon and no wrong answers or questions, just learning experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very happy place to work
Bear Builder (Former Employee), Torrance, CADecember 15, 2013
A typical day at work is very fun and bright. Its so many smells and colors it makes you like working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with a purpose
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee), Lithonia, GADecember 11, 2013
Working at Build A Bear Workshop was a very rewarding experience. The work environment was filled with pleasant smiles and great people including employees as well as customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and energetic work place
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Independence, MONovember 21, 2013
truly a great place to work. there is nothing better than the fun you get to have with someone, celebrating an occasion to make a new furry best friend
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly working environment, genuinely nice people
Bear Builder (Current Employee), Lancaster, PANovember 19, 2013
Working at Build A Bear is a wonderful experience. Everyone is extremely friendly, hard working and passionate. I learned many skills from my co-workers and simply through experiencing things myself. I felt very welcomed when I began working for the company, too. The difference between employees at Build A Bear and elsewhere is that Build A Bear's employees – more... are genuinely nice people. They do not sit in the back room and complain about customers over breaks, they are never rude to anybody and they always put the guests' needs before theirs. Our priority is making every single guests' experience enjoyable and special. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 16, 2013
Pros: great friendly place
The staff was very friendly and the management believed in supporting all of their employees. I prepared schedules, payroll, inventory, deliveries as well as running the day to operations of the store. this was a very friendly and happy environment to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work!
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 4, 2013
I love being able to come to work and meet new people every day. Being able to work with children makes my day better. We are always having a good time and getting work done while we do it. I would suggest this job to anyone that has patience and love children.

1 2 3