BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here with caution
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2017
This company has great benefits and has a fantastic office to work in with many extras. BUT: You will be overworked and under appreciated. They preach work life balance but do not practice it. Management is horrible and very inexperienced just a big boys club.
Pros
Excellent office and office location, great benefits
Cons
Staff overworked and under appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL
28 July 2017

Dear Brookfield Alumni,

I'm sorry to hear that you feel this way. As you know we put a lot effort into creating a good work environment for our team members to do great work. That said, no workplace is perfect and we appreciate all feedback on how we can do better, especially from people who know us best. Send me a note at thankyou@brookfieldrp.com and let's talk through this more.

Thanks for your feedback,

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great
Admin. (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 December 2016
I loved this company at first.. then it went down hill. Management too busy handing out new titles to each other while the hard working "grunt" employees go un noticed and under appreciated. They constantly ask you to "improve process" but if you share your opinion it's ignored or looked down on or you are over stepping... Unless of course you have one of those fancy titles.
Overtime encouraged but not paid.
Cost of living goes up..your pay doesn't!
Pros
Nice office. Support staff nice to work with.
Cons
Management, Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly gone down hill
Office Administration (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 November 2016
New Management has ruined this company as a great place to work. Non management staff are overworked and very under appreciated. High stress work loads, unpaid overtime, quite a few disgruntled employees and a lack of respect for the opinions of the staff that are actually doing the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its all downhill from the point you're hired
Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON24 November 2016
They promise the world but do not deliver. New mngmt has been detrimental to company culture. Overall employees are miserable over worked and under paid. Used to be a premier builder but has now digressed to lowest common denominator of new homes. "Value engineered" construction but at least there's good after sales service because you are going to need it. Very corporate and impersonal, employees are not appreciated and treated as commodities aka disposable. Do not work here
Pros
decent office
Cons
expect not to have a life as they will own you
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Official response from BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL
12 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We do regularly review and research to ensure our compensation is competitive to the market. We value our employees' feedback and hope you had the opportunity to express your views when you were with us. We would also encourage you to contact us at hr.ontario@brookfieldrp.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture has Diminished
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 November 2016
The culture at brookfield used to be very positive, however has declined to to new management. They have promoted from within but not promoting managers who are experienced enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Official response from BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL
12 December 2016

While we are disappointed to hear about your experience, we appreciate your feedback. We strive to promote from within wherever possible, and set up new leaders and managers for success. We are addressing the issue you have highlighted by broadening and deepening the support we provide to newly promoted (and future) leaders, effective January 2017. We wish you the best in the next step of your career!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Busy New Home Construction Business
Sales Administrator - Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 September 2016
Working with the Management and Staff of Brookfield Residential has been another great opportunity to see how a large 'machine' works. The majority of our homes were entry level / first time homeowners or downsizers - our product was clean, well built and offered the customer a very good value for their dollar. The Sales Administration Department was a very busy spot - dealing with 8 different Sales Centres and Sales Teams. We processed between 5 - 8 agreements per week making sure of the accuracy of the agreement and paperwork required. 2015 we closed 400+ Units in Calgary with an overall acceptance rating of 89%. Great People to work with and learn from.
Pros
Breakfast Club on every floor
Cons
Very Busy in Sales Admin
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Official response from BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL
12 December 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience and for your contributions to Brookfield Residential! We do have incredibly talented team members, who are generous with their time and expertise. We had over 50 mentors in our formal mentorship program last year! We wish you the best in the next step of your career!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and people
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 August 2016
Great company and people room for advancement great perks some un expected turn over lately overall still a good place to work
Pros
Lots of perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 June 2016
-A typical day at work for me is greeting customers, handling a lot of administrative work, filing, creating marketing materials.
-From this company I learnt a lot about professionalism. I also learnt how to work with people who are higher up than me and how to communicate with a wide spectrum of people as well.
-The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with all kinds of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2015
Brookfield Residential is a good place to work. The people are nice, the location is easy to commute to, just not enough parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Property Administrator / Relief Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2014
Worked for over 60 different sites managed by the company, had a variety of different work in each office, Enjoyed working there but had to leave as I started my own business.

Great people to work for.
Pros
Big Company lots of chance of advancement.
Cons
Not that I recall
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Site Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto7 April 2014
It was a very busy condo in downtown Toronto with little time to breath
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviorment
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 March 2014
Very community driven, when the southern Alberta floods happened June 2013, donated the time of 5 work crews to go in and start the demolition of flooded basements.

The People are great to work with, made going to work an enjoyable task every morning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy place
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 July 2013
Good residents, good management, good team with superintendents
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with inspiring executives who are the best in the industry.
Market Research Coordinator, Land Division (Former Employee) –  Calgary15 November 2011
Working for Brookfield Residential was a remarkable experience. I truly believe there is a lot of potential to grow with the company since they have three different divisions and are in several cities in North America. The compensation and benefits are somewhat comparable to the oil and gas sector and the emphasis to work and life balance is outstanding.
Highly recommend this company.
Pros
one friday off a month plus two extra flex days, total of 14 flex days a year, great benefits, work hard and play hard phylosophy
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 13Report

See more BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL Reviews by Location