Brock University Employee Reviews

Showing all 94 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Networking
Exam Proctor (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON30 March 2017
Working for the University gives you an awesome chance to meet other students and Professors that are in the industry you are pursuing. Would advise all students to Proctor at least once.
Pros
networking
Cons
Slow at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON23 March 2017
Great group of people to work with. Good job with a variety of hours and job tasks. Enjoyed having a different area to work in on different shifts. Learned how to manage my time and get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide client individual and group fitness exercise
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON7 March 2017
Give client more space and time for individual or group member to have range of motion exercise provide to client the fun and work out time. Special showing the client to left different weight exercise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Annual Fund Alumni Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON6 March 2017
- great team culture and atmosphere
- friendly and supportive team leaders
- more weekly hours would have been preferred
- staff rewarded associates upon meeting targeted objectives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Service-Learning Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON6 March 2017
Good learning atmosphere for Service- Learning work/study opportunity.

Ability to engage in physical challenges by maintaining contact with company's executive team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Registrar Office Asst (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON26 February 2017
Excellent work environment
Challenging, but rewarding
Friendly staff
Room for advancement
Student-centered
Excellent management
Good benefit package available for full-time staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Union, ON17 January 2017
It was a very good experience. I learnt to serve customers and also to have patience when dealing with customers. It's all about what makes the customers happy and being able to create great customer satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Alumni Relations Ambassador (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 January 2017
Working as an ambassador for Brock University allowed me to show others why choose Brock University. The work environment was very relaxed and talking to Alumni yield a couple of very interesting conversations.
Cons
only night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun volunteer program
Best Buddies Accosiate Volunteer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON20 October 2016
volunteer friendship program for individuals with intellectual disabilities to help them experience every day experiences they may not be able to experience on their own.
Pros
builds relationships
Cons
unpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student led organization
Student Ombudsperson (Former Employee) –  Union, ON21 September 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Brock University Student Union. The salary was below average but the work environment was above average.
I was the Student Ombudsperson so worked in an independent role. I learned on the job, which was okay. The environment was student led and it was fun. Because the job was contract it had limits in what could be done. However, overall it was a great experience.
Pros
co workers
Cons
Poor Executive Director
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON9 September 2016
A typical day at work includes seminar preparation, leadership, and evaluation, extensive grading of term assignments and papers, and consultations with students.
Such duties have proven to be both challenging and rewarding. Most colleagues and co-workers have enhanced and enriched this working experience over the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with school
Student Supervisor, Union Station (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 September 2016
on campus job with your peers, as well as making several more peers in different programs at the university. great and friendly management. all worked as a family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 August 2016
I enjoyed my time at Brock University. Handled the assessments of transcripts for applicants applying to Masters and PHd Programs. The atmosphere at Brock is wonderful and the staff are excellent as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work in
Teaching & Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON21 July 2016
Working at Brock University largely improved my communication and prioritizing skills. The salary was good, and the professors were easy to get along with. It was busy around the exam time, and I had to marked the exams within the weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an event
Building Monitor (Former Employee) –  Ontario11 July 2016
It was only a week long so cannot judge. It just involved managing a lot of volunteers, telling directions and customer service.
Pros
Very engaging
Cons
too short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized but fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 July 2016
Inexperienced managers led to some confusion. All managers and coworkers are friendly and easy to talk to. Lots of responsibilities. Sporadic hours. Lots of potential for growth and upward movement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Oriented
Special Needs Activity Program Volunteer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON25 May 2016
Brock University is very student oriented and I had a great experience while volunteering for the SNAP program there! Great environment and very rewarding!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Student Trainer (Athletic Therapist) (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON25 May 2016
A typical day at work was to come into the trainers room and fill the water bottles and jugs for the team. I would stay in the room for about an hour before practices started to tape any ankles that needed support. Every practice my co-trainer and I would stay on the field in case any injuries occur. On game days, I had to attend to injuries that occurred on the field and refer the player to further help if need be. I have learned how to take care of acute injuries as well as knowing when a player may be injured but does not want to tell the trainers. I have also learned how hard it is to keep an injured player from returning to the field until they are well again. With this job, I have furthered my knowledge about injuries, care for injuries and athletes return to play. I worked under the amazing staff of the Brock University Athletic Therapy Clinic. They were very helpful with anything we may have needed with the soccer team as well as taught me many valuable lessons I can take with me in the future. I loved working with this team as they trusted in us as the student trainers to know what to do about their injuries or any problems that they had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Research Assistant and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON17 May 2016
working for professors with a SSHRC funded project was fun and flexible. As the project was very similar to my own research interest, I learned a lot. The work was interesting and productive. The work required too much work on a table with the computer.
Pros
coolest professors
Cons
too table/computer based
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great
Referee (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 May 2016
i love sports so this was a great job for me. i dont know why i need to do this. one two three four five six seven this is the biggest wast of time ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brock University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 94 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2