British Columbia Institute of Technology Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned a lot of knowledge at BCIT
Student (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCOctober 2, 2015
Techers are nice and knowledgeable. The campus is very beautiful.
Classmates are very nice and we leaned each other.Also, BCIT is a fun place to study and the management is efficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving and passionate instructors with as much knowledge as good stories.
STEAM LAB STUDENT (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCApril 14, 2015
-Performed water testing of feedwater and steam drum
-Performed routine start up and shut down of a A-Type steam boiler and a Cleaver
Brooks watertube boiler
-Troubleshooting of A-Type steam boiler
-Wrote technical reports for recommended maintenance and work orders
-Hands on experience operating Delta V DCS System
-Assisted instructors with training and guidance of students through classwork and
practical labs
-Experience operating running refrigeration simulators
-Extensive experience drawing and mapping steam, condensate, feedwater, fuel and
chemical lines
Pros
Avid discussions in Plant Theory and Training
Cons
Scheduling can be a little hectic
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immediate increase in hands-on training needed
Entry Level Trades Training (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCFebruary 2, 2015
Ratings is purely based on the ratio of in-class material to real world shop work involving hands-on work.

More time should be spent on improving the confidence in hands-on work for new future electrical apprentices.
Pros
reputable institute, good teachers, quality and quantity of materials for shop installations for met
Cons
not enough time spent on hands-on training, but more on in-class calculations involving math in circuits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job for starter
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, CanadaNovember 26, 2014
My tasks were not difficult, mostly checking the computers to make sure all students log out and update software sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, good communication and spirit
Administrative support for Document Services (Current Employee) –  BurnabyOctober 8, 2014
Great opportunities for advancement and opportunities for learning. Close to home and family friendly work options.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Technology School in the world
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCSeptember 17, 2014
Very intensive courses but worth going.
Learnt pretty much what I am doing in the current job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment and very educational place
AME Training Student (F/T) (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BCSeptember 5, 2014
one particular day of my daily training procedure would be : 3 hours of academic learning activity which have been hosted by the instructor in the morning and 3 hours of practical activity which have been supervised by the instructor in the afternoon. We have been taught a lot of knowledge and practical skills about the aircraft maintenance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning enviroment
Student (Former Employee) –  burnabyAugust 8, 2014
have well equipped labs to get good hands on experience.
every one get individual equipment to work on
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and people. Loved working with the public and making a difference.
Aviation Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCJuly 11, 2013
Dealt with lots of different people every day and was able to help them with their learning goals, Interacting with students, teaching and support staff to ensure a smooth running environment, Ensured all safety rules and standards were enforced to make a safe learning and working place. Learnt and became proficient in purchasing and contract methods, Learned time management and planning skills, Learnt people skills, Learnt too many skills to list all of them, Loved the very fast paced and changing environment, Tight dead lines, Great Management team and co-workers. Hardest part of the job was seeing some people go and leaving when I did.
Pros
great place to contribute, great people, steady rewarding work
Cons
seeing some people leave
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Institute' s working environment was great.
Environmental Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCDecember 21, 2012
The Institute' s is famine as one of the greatest technical schools in across Canada. My job was great and I learned about vermicomposting as a great environmental waste management tools. My manager was a great woman and I learned a lots of humaniterian things from her to affect on my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace the day went by fast
Digital Reproduction Technician (Former Employee) –  Burnaby BcMay 22, 2012
I enjoyed all my years at BCIT from the staff to the clients.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up with dead lines.
the most enjoyable part we always did something different.
Pros
holidays
Cons
slow periods
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part-time work experience
Lab Proctor (Former Employee) –  burnabyJanuary 15, 2012
help classmates with lab problems is good for both my knowledge and personality.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture