Boys & Girls Clubs of America Employee Reviews

Found 155 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun to work with the kids.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 January 2017
The kids will practice soccer and they would exercise. What I would be to make sure all the kids are outside and are geared. I would help out the coordinator for the sports club. I would sometimes play with the kids and make them feel good about themselves. The co-workers were nice and friendly to the kids and myself. The part I enjoyed was witnessing the kids happiness. The volunteer work was a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 January 2017
Typical day would be coming up for activities to place with the children and go on fun trips and do a lot of exciting things.The manger was very bad she would always get involved with peoples lifes and talk about peoples personally matters with the staff members especially her favorites . she always treated her favorites better than everyone .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and Accountable Leadership
Head Counselor @ Camp Adventure (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB, Canada28 January 2017
Working in afterschool care was a pleasure. I was provided with many opportunities to be flexible and creative. Typically, the transition from contract to contract is smooth and simple, and working with children is very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Be
Intermediate Staff Member (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 October 2016
An incredibly fulfilling experience that i will keep with me for all my days. The hours weren't the best but the job was worth it regardless and though it wasn't making me rich i did enjoy my job everyday.
Pros
easy going enviroment
Cons
unprofessional at times
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding Workplace
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2016
This was a rewarding position and I was able to develop professional and personally from this experience. I appreciated being able to form relationships with youth and create individualized programs to help them reach their goals.
Pros
Good Schedule and good relationships
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON6 January 2017
It was mostly fun. I learned how to prepare fun activities for the children. The hardest part of the job was that some kids didnt know how to behave. The most enjoyable part was putting the inflatables up.
Pros
Free candy
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Leader in Training (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 December 2016
I was a productive member of the employees, by allowing kids to thrive in a nonjudgemental environment. I improved my communication skills and hope to apply this too new jobs.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, laid back environment
OFFICE ADMIN (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 October 2016
Working for boys and girls club has to be one of my most enjoyable jobs. Such a relaxing place to work with great people. Although I was an office admin I was included in trips with the kids.
Pros
Free things, trips
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you like wokring with kids
After School Arts and Crafts Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 October 2016
Typical day consisted of doing art projects wiht students on a small budget.

Hardest Part of the job: Working with the school principle. I felt like she was in the career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 November 2016
Organizing games and activities for the kids to play and bond with each other. Great coworkers who communicates excellently with others so everyone is on the same page.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 December 2016
Helping children , playing games with them. A fun work place! Especially the staff there are all fun people. Plus great programs you can partake in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Hope Intern (Former Employee) –  Hope30 January 2017
learned how to be ready for the workforce
prepared resume
great people
different people from different cultures
management was great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys and Girls Club
Program Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB16 October 2016
Program is great, kids are wonderful! So sad to leave this place!

Management is okay, more organization is needed.

Its hard to manage so many kids with not enough staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and well rounded enviroment
Full- Time Inclusion Camp Counselor (Current Employee) –  London, ON16 May 2016
• Offered parents detailed daily reports that outlined their child’s day.
• Regular interactions with support workers
• Identified early warning signs of emotional and developmental problems in children.
• Engaged with children individually to meet their emotional and physical needs.
• Responsible for supervising program areas.
• Trained new staff on quality control procedures.
• Established a safe play environment for the children.
• Communicated openly with children's parents about daily activities and behaviors.
• Supervise and lead programs in various activities
• Supervision of volunteers
• Conducting tours for visitors
• Documenting incidents and filling out injury forms
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
un organized
Child care supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB12 July 2016
Typically the part time hires were inexperienced so difficult to work with as day care rules are quite stringent.
I really enjoyed the crafting with the kids, however I found it not to have as much structure as I believe works with children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Programmer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2016
programming activities for boys and girls of all ages, minimum of 60 children per day in my care with four other staff. Planing daily activities as well as snack.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy painting this is a great job.
PAINTER (Former Employee) –  Peel, ON30 April 2016
Management was great and the work was generally straightforward. Setting up the room/hallway then painting walls and doors, and then cleaning up equipment and setting consisted of a regular day. The only issue was that sometimes the customers are not clear about what they want and if you accidentally drop paint it is very difficult to clean up.
Pros
good lunch periods
Cons
A decent amount of labour
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork
Camp Councillor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2016
providing new games and tasks for children is very fun and creative..To watch them learn and progress in these new activities keeps me going ..i have learned to improvise and understand what people prefer by giving them an option and a choice . Doing so shows me to understand peoples preferences and how to help them make better choices.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Program Leader, Stampede Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 August 2016
I loved it there working with kids were awesome and new opportunity's
could not advance with out a degree
but i had all kinds of awesome experiences
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and knowledgeable workshops
Intern (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON22 August 2016
set up and worked through workshops focused on basic life skills and beneficial advice to achieve your goals in the workplace
Pros
great community
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 3,472 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Reviews by Location