Boys & Girls Clubs of America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 February 2018
was a nice place to work. A lot of activities for children of all races. Very friendly place to work. Pay was not that great with no benefits. good management
Pros
kind people
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
PR intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 February 2018
As one could expect from working for a non-profit that's been around for years and years, they've got a great environment that has framework put in place for your work day to flow with ease.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer-Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC22 January 2018
Great place to volunteer and make a difference in the lives of children. Did volunteer hours here so that i could go back to college for child and youth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun job with plenty of learning opportunities
Program Activity Leader (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON20 January 2018
A normal day of work consists of organizing your your menu and activity plan for the kids that day followed by attendance, a brief activity and whatever you have planned for that day. I learned a lot about teamwork and child care whilst doing this job and found the work and relationships I was forming very useful. You work with one other person but eventually meet the others on your team while doing training and attending work functions. The most difficult part of the job is gaining control of the kids but it comes in time. Overall the good outweighs the the bad and I'm certain anyone applying there will enjoy their duties and coworkers.
Pros
Paid training days
Cons
frequent commuting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer/ fall and winter camp leader with children
Club Leader (Former Employee) –  Peel, ON16 January 2018
Boys and Girls Club of Peel was a positive and uplifting place to be. Its a non profit organization that looks out for the better of children in tough neighbourhoods. Here my co-workers and myself would plan arts and crafts and games to do with the children for four days of the week in the summer. It was an accepting place and a place for children to have fun and get out of the house for the summer. The most enjoyable part was seeing the children and knowing they had fun and enjoyed their day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer-Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC14 January 2018
It is a great place to volunteer. I learned how to be a team leader and work with children while having fun. I was able to gain volunteer hours for school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Intermediate Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 January 2018
Fun place to work with youth and gain experience in working with various socio-economic and cultural backgrounds. Flexible hours and friendly staff make a great work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bgckl
Lindsay - Leader (Current Employee) –  Leader, SK3 January 2018
All staff are kind and caring towards all children who are amazing individuals. Every child has something special about hem and it's amazing to connect with those kids and get to know them. Supervisors are ALWAYS supportive to staff and youth as well.
Pros
Enjoyable shifts no matter the day
Cons
You don't get many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place
Camp Counselor And Senior Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB30 December 2017
unfair treatment, favoritism, horrible management, they were never accommodating, and they never followed their rules and protocols, this was in the city of Airdrie location in Alberta Canada.
Pros
good pay
Cons
bad leadership, unfair treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great memories of working here
Leadership Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB29 December 2017
The days were sometimes long and intense, but overall, working with the kids and the organization was a great experience where I was able to learn a great deal.
Pros
fun activities
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Leader, SK19 December 2017
was able to play and have the kids follow program well and interact well with eachother. The management were great and easy to get along with it was fun to get along with the kids and get to experience their growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it seems
After School Program Counselor (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON18 December 2017
If you get along with your co-workers makes the job easier. Very strict environment for the kids, who are forced to do things they might not enjoy. Commercials make it seem like the kids have freedom to do certain things, as they please; they don't mainly because of under staffing and under funded.
Pros
Awesome Kids
Cons
to few hours, long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK14 November 2017
Personally this job was very fun and interesting.I got used to the rotations of the activities right away. The job was rewarding at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to be
Junior Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 November 2017
Working at the Boys and Girls Club, and also growing up there have it's pros and it's cons. Helping children grew a sense of character is definitely something to be proud of.
Cons
No Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and I really enjoyed making a difference in a young persons life.
Recreation Director (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 November 2017
It was a drop-in type of facility which posed many problems with regard to programming. The swimming pool was the most enjoyable part of my job. To staff and program for under privileged youth was very satisfying. I got to interact with many youth on a personal level and it did not seem like going to work. The staff training was excellent but the salary was not very good so it was difficult to leave the job that I enjoyed so much.
Pros
Play with kids
Cons
low Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to know kids
Child Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 November 2017
-meeting all different kinds of kids in your neighbourhood
-getting to connection with the children
-play gym games with kids
-help the kitchen prepare foods and line kids up for food
-crafts and math games
Pros
making food, gym games, getting to know kids
Cons
crying kids, tantrums, germs, sad stories from the children(family mistreatment )
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great supporting environment
Senior Camp Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Eganville, ON2 November 2017
The work I am loyal to provides me the opportunity to grow and learn surrounded by supporting people. It provides a positive way to impact youth and hone my programming and behavior management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB20 October 2017
The kids were always fun
The staff were always open
It was a clean working environment
The staff were always cheerful
Dances were always fun
Children were always happy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i DONT know why this is reqired
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC18 October 2017
why u guys put it in america i live in canada lolol dummies i even said that geez if i have to change it i will be mad cus this was stoopid lol thats how my cousin spells stupid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and freindly atmosphere
Child and Youth Counselor (Former Employee) –  Peel, ON5 October 2017
The staff as well as the youth get to connect as one and bring a great enlightenment on the community. Helping children and youth in their community to reach the goals and needs for them and their families was fulfilling and a reward in itself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boys & Girls Clubs of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,833 reviews
52.5K
41.4K
3698
2160
1104

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture