Boys & Girls Clubs of America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to be
Junior Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 November 2017
Working at the Boys and Girls Club, and also growing up there have it's pros and it's cons. Helping children grew a sense of character is definitely something to be proud of.
Cons
No Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and I really enjoyed making a difference in a young persons life.
Recreation Director (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 November 2017
It was a drop-in type of facility which posed many problems with regard to programming. The swimming pool was the most enjoyable part of my job. To staff and program for under privileged youth was very satisfying. I got to interact with many youth on a personal level and it did not seem like going to work. The staff training was excellent but the salary was not very good so it was difficult to leave the job that I enjoyed so much.
Pros
Play with kids
Cons
low Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to know kids
Child Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 November 2017
-meeting all different kinds of kids in your neighbourhood
-getting to connection with the children
-play gym games with kids
-help the kitchen prepare foods and line kids up for food
-crafts and math games
Pros
making food, gym games, getting to know kids
Cons
crying kids, tantrums, germs, sad stories from the children(family mistreatment )
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great supporting environment
Senior Camp Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Eganville, ON2 November 2017
The work I am loyal to provides me the opportunity to grow and learn surrounded by supporting people. It provides a positive way to impact youth and hone my programming and behavior management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB20 October 2017
The kids were always fun
The staff were always open
It was a clean working environment
The staff were always cheerful
Dances were always fun
Children were always happy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i DONT know why this is reqired
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC18 October 2017
why u guys put it in america i live in canada lolol dummies i even said that geez if i have to change it i will be mad cus this was stoopid lol thats how my cousin spells stupid
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and freindly atmosphere
Child and Youth Counselor (Former Employee) –  Peel, ON5 October 2017
The staff as well as the youth get to connect as one and bring a great enlightenment on the community. Helping children and youth in their community to reach the goals and needs for them and their families was fulfilling and a reward in itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and make friends
Activity Leader (Current Employee) –  Squamish, BC27 September 2017
Very great place and with an even better view. The staff are great to work with and they are very understanding of the amazing job and things that they are doing for kids by offering them this oppurtunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON15 September 2017
I love the boys and girls club, its a good place to be, and an awesome place to work! The only thing I would want more from them is full time work instead of part time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Brampton Administrator (Former Employee) –  Peel, ON14 September 2017
I had such an amzing experience with the people i worked with and the work load as well. The people make you feel so welcome and are always willing to help. They are excellent at training and making you feel comfortable.
Pros
Amazing people and training as well.
Cons
non-profit organization and cannot unfortunately hire people whenever they want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job yet.. can I say that?
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 August 2017
This was the best job yet in my life. The fast pace environment, friendly staff and volunteers made everyday something new and special. If you can volunteer or work with the organisation you will be better for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace/Volunteer
Program Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 August 2017
To provide a safe, supportive place where children and youth can experience new opportunities, overcome barriers, build positive relationships and develop confidence and skills for life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, experienced, productive and accommodating
Parks and Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 August 2017
The workers are professional and experienced. Task management is good at communicating to employees about the task at hand. The supervisors are educated and thorough.
Pros
Accommodating
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Senior Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 August 2017
I have absolutely no idea as to why I have to fill this part out given that I have never worked for this organization and at a loss as to why this is even on there.
Pros
great organization
Cons
not working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
City maintanence (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 July 2017
Great environment
Helping the community
Great people, that were fun to be around
Working outdoors

This was my first job so I feel like I learned a lot and gained that work knowledge that I really needed from a young age.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To be able to help a family have a successful visit.
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB18 July 2017
Receive service request for social workers to coordinate family support workers to assist the family through a variety of interventions to achieve family goals such as; parenting, problem solving, and life, as well as connecting with appropriate community resources.
Pros
Great co-workers - medical time off
Cons
Communiting to Camrose to help my Father with his health
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Leadership is needed for future projects
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 July 2017
The Boys and Girls club has the right ideas, but fails to organize and deliver on multiple platforms. It is an open court-house to a multitude of ideas that ultimately has high hopes and promises but nothing truly progressive gets done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing supervisors
MAP Assistant to Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 July 2017
Great supervisors provided for CYC students at the Boys and Girls Club, who were very supportive and understanding. The clients that I was able to work with were amazing and energetic during my weeks working for the camp.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Little engagement with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys & Girls Clubs
PRESCHOOL TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 July 2017
I love my job, and the people that I work with. Boys & Girls Clubs Canada is progressive, inclusive, and really try to take good care of their staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Activity Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON30 June 2017
Working at the BGC was an amazing experience, full of interaction with clients, positive days and the feeling that you're making life better for the individuals you work with.

Issues however occur with the placement of hours; after-school programming, creating difficulties in working an additional position in order to meet bills.

Salary is satisfactory, however coupled with short hours it can present an issue.

Advancement does not readily seem available at most locations.
Pros
Working with children, physical activity, free snacks
Cons
Short shifts, awkward scheduling, less job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boys & Girls Clubs of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,489 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2