Boston Pizza Employee Reviews

Found 642 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun energetic with discounted food
Bus Boy/Host (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 October 2016
Very fun place to work at with energetic employees who really set the tone for the workplace, left a good impression on me however the management team could not communicate when meetings were and had a lot of communication failures.
Pros
Nice people cheap dinners
Cons
Communication was horrid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB19 October 2016
perfect friendly atmosphere to work. does feel like working for some owners, its just like a family..
good benefits like paid break and insurance.....
Pros
paid break with discount lunches
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, AB17 October 2016
Worked evenings and nights. Enjoyed working with my coworkers, overall a great place for a second job. Management could have been a bit better, but I loved working there anyways.
Pros
50% off meals when on shift
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun
Host (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT17 October 2016
Loved the staff and the work was always entertaining. Was a great work enviroment. Fast pased as well as intresting shifts. Best job ive had so far
Pros
Discounts, staff
Cons
Drunks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning experience
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC15 October 2016
I personally enjoy the cooking and cleaning that goes on daily at this workplace
Coworkers make it a lot more fun to be at work
The management makes us hard at work
The hardest part about working in the kitchen is keeping it clean but the whole kitchen staff works as a team to get it all done so at the end of the day everyone goes home happy
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 October 2016
if your a student this is your place to work friendly place great people and you even get a work out well working i learned the value of working and the best part is you get the hours you want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment with friendly co-workers
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 October 2016
Back of house is a face paced job with friendly people working along with you.
I've learned how to make exceptional pizza and have learned how to become a better cook.
Co-workers are very friendly and outgoing.
Pros
you get a certain percentage of the tips
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun times
Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 October 2016
working at Boston pizza wasnt too bad! Everyone is very friendly and willing to help a lot. It does get crazy busy in the back which when you are short staff it sucked !
Pros
free food on orders that were messed up!
Cons
dish washer water way too hot !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management, great coworkers and customers
Server (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 September 2016
A typical day at Boston Pizza would be not as busy as other restaurants. However, the customers were always a joy to serve. You got mainly laid back customers, who would leisurely enjoy their meals.

Management never listened to your schedule needs. I was scheduled during my class times.

Management never resolved issues well either and so in the end customers AND the staff left unhappy.

Coworkers were the greatest of all time. Training online was cool to see all employees (nationwide) comments.

The organization rewards employees for training or competing online on the training website, even after training is complete there is access to this portal.
They use this to reward you for reaching certain targets, like selling promotional items, so that's good.

Hardest part of the job was dealing with management who would always be gossiping or yelling at you. My coworker was told she's stupid by a manager, and the manager continued to say to everyone behind here back that "Why are pretty girls always so stupid". Manager would always discuss personal issues with the whole staff as well.

Boston Pizza is well connected with local charities and I really respect that and the morals of the company. Just certain locations ruin the reputation of such a great company.
Pros
discount on staff meals
Cons
Schedule was never made correctly, and i was scheduled while I had school
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot/cold working environment.
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 September 2016
Some days were enjoyable.

Some days were miserable.

Some management/employees are wonderful!

Some management/employees can't perform the most basic tasks.

Horrible communication problems between HOH and BOH.
Pros
Free coffee and soft drinks.
Cons
Communication, expectations and lack of personal re-pour with employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Workplace Environment So Far.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 September 2016
Boston Pizza was a giant family. Everyone got along for the most part and managers were always looking out for us in any way they could. I truly felt supported and accepted into their team, something I had yet experienced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff
Hostess/Server (Current Employee) –  Walnut Grove, BC28 September 2016
Everyone is so friendly and welcoming at Boston pizza. Definitely a fun atmosphere. As far as the hours; I only get scheduled about 3 days a week (I am full-time).
Pros
Upbeat environment
Cons
Poor hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Fun, Enjoyable
HOSTESS (Current Employee) –  Bracebridge, ON28 September 2016
Working at Boston Pizza keeps you on your toes. It is a great place to work at and the people who work there are great as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON27 September 2016
was a decent place to work while in school
staff was friendly the work hours were typical for what it is
pay sucked
and work load seemed unbalanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible experience
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Fernie, BC23 September 2016
Worked at bps in fernie BC, they spent an hour training me and expected me to know the whole menu and all the computer stuff after a couple days. The gm was using drugs at work and every server there got over loaded tables and it was hotinlel. After working here I decided the restraint busines was not for me. Not to mention they still owe me a pay cheque.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 September 2016
Shifts go by fast, I learned to make plenty of dishes from scratch.
Management is great and the co workers make the job much more fun. In my opinion the hardest part of the job is when someone calls off and leaves you with more task then your typical day, and finally the best part of the job was the discounts.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long Distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but under paid
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB21 September 2016
Employees were not given good advancement or.livable wages almost every full time employee was not making enough money. Also job was very immature and did not take punishment or complaints seriously
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun environment
server/waitress (Current Employee) –  Okotoks, AB21 September 2016
I love working here and the hours are very flexible. A typical day at work for me is taking tables and working for about five hours in the evening. I have learned excellent customer service skills and interacting with all different types of people.
Pros
Great friends
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat fun place to work lots of good bonds with other workers
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 September 2016
I loved working at Boston Pizza, i love the people I worked with and the environment, I got along well with everyone and i was very good and respectful. I left boston pizza because of the bad pay and because where I was just starting high school I was overwhelmed with all my school work but now that I am use to the heavy loads and I can mange my time better I am ready to start my new experiences in other work fields
Pros
rewarded after a long stressful day
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress at a busy restaurant
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 September 2016
-Waiting tables and very large parties, catering to tables needs(foods/drinks)

- Seating customers that come in

-suggesting food to order
Cons
Long busy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 705 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6