Boston Pizza Employee Reviews

Found 873 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with awesome people
Cook (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON30 June 2017
Would make various pasta dishes as required.
Learned a lot about how a kitchen works.
Managers were okay, workplace culture was great overall.
Some nights are very stressful with a lot of orders, and sometimes the servers can be a bit annoying by standing around instead of getting boxes and containers that we need them to get.
Overall enjoyable as a cook
Pros
Meeting cool new people
Cons
Managers or servers can be picky or rude/sarcastic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice staff
LINE COOK (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON29 June 2017
the staff are nice people, the job is what it is. a typical day at work could be fun or could be tense. That's what you get in a kitchen. Everyone works together to make good coordination throughout the kitchen and servers
Pros
good staff
Cons
lots of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and difficult
Dishwasher / Scullery (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 June 2017
Was not a fan of working in this restaurant. Work was far too busy and no one really cared about their co-workers unless it was directly affecting their own work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace
Assistant Kitchen Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 June 2017
-Had an amazing management team working hard everyday.
- Work 6-7 days a week to show commitment and dedication all supervisors/managers had for the company.
-Everyone feels at home, very friendly and energetic staff
-Hardest part: stress and the workload when the kitchen is understaffed.
-Most enjoyable part: when customers compliment the chef or wants to show their appreciation in person in the dining room.
Pros
Discounts, flexible hours, job security
Cons
Long hours, 7 day work-weeks sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON26 June 2017
I worked here as a high school student and loved it. the staff was very welcoming, although still professional and got the job done. there were very minimal issues at this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a productive and okay to place to work at.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, AB25 June 2017
putting on your name tag and uniform, being excitably happy about the free pop and helping my waitresses.
seating guests to waiting list and helping if needed with trays or drinks.
management was quick and expected to adhere to costumer service expectations.
hardest part would be trying to get ahead, when there's no getting ahead. because there's always something to do and its always different.
enjoyable part would be seating guests and feeling accomplished at the end of every day.
Pros
free pop, metting different people.
Cons
dealing with stressful costumers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place where you can learn lots of things
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC23 June 2017
a fast pace working environment with lots of fun while working, friendly co workers, highly competitive salary and the management is always there to help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Line Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 June 2017
I started as a dishwasher which was kinda boring work. However it was not much fun, not due to the company just the dutys of dishwashing wasnt all that fun. Luckily I was promoted to line cook. Being a line cook was fun most co-workers were pretty chill and fun to work with. The hours were pretty good too. Nothing outrageous other than the odd closing shift. They were also very flexible with time off for school, vacation, ect. Overall not a bad job if you are looking to get into the work force.
Pros
Fun co-workers, flexible hours, employee discount.
Cons
Closing shifts until 2 am, busy during the rush.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here!!
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC22 June 2017
Boston Pizza was my first real restaurant job. It had just opened up new in my hometown! it was a ton of fun and i learned all of the valuable serving skills I know now from their training program!!
Pros
Ran well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied work pace with consistent tasks
Scullery Technician (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB21 June 2017
Some days were slow, others you're scrambling to keep up cause there was typically only 1 worker on dishes. Solo nights on higher turnout was difficult, though the employees do their best to coordinate shifts for busier nights.
Pros
free non-alcoholic drinks, discount on food
Cons
often need to stay later than scheduled hours as kitchen clears out before dish pit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishwasher
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON21 June 2017
I would work in the back of the kitchen and make sure the kitchen area was clean and when dishes came to the back, I would wash them and put them away for the chefs to use.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very fun place to work
Hostess (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL21 June 2017
checked into work, went to the host stand, if there was even just two hosts standing at the host stand they make someone go do "laps" meaning walk around the restaurant and look busy. manager was not very nice or understanding. they workers were fun to work with but thats about it
Pros
discount
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Hostess, Customer Service, Cash (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 June 2017
Great Team Oriented Workplace, A lot of help learning new things, very positive and uplifting work environment. Everyone helps each other and its always fun interacting with new people
Pros
Good tips
Cons
Unpredictable Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Medicine hat20 June 2017
Boston pizza was a very flexible work environment that taught me a lot of communication skills and people skills . Working here gave me the advantage amongst my peers as I was emersed in human interaction and time management everyday.
Pros
Excellent discounts on food
Cons
They cut my hours down after awhile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Upper Centennial cook /dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 June 2017
i loved working here would still work here if confliction in hours didn't happen . people are awesome hours were good if your a night owl like me or like the industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like Boston Pizza
Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 June 2017
It just depends on the people you work for at the restaurant, if you can get along with them, Boston Pizza is a great place to work and get experience in various fields of work. Benefits are really good and work hours can be flexible (closing till 2 am can really affect your sleep schedual tho)
Pros
Free Lunches, good benefits
Cons
closing the restaurant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Cook, Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 June 2017
I started as a cook and ended up being weekend manager. I was 18 and working parttime at Boston Pizza. I learnt a lot there about handling food, customers and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic atmosphere
Cook (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE17 June 2017
I did not enjoy being harassed while working here. The hours were awful and the amount of work required was just too much. The way certain situations were handled here were terrible.
Pros
Fun work at times
Cons
Stressful, cranky employees, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace with great attitude from everyone.
Cook/Server (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB15 June 2017
Typical day at work for me is to come in and start making nacho chips for the day and then cooking 60-90 pieces of chicken for the day. Then I would take the deposit to the bank and then the rest of the day I'd help out with orders and keeping up with dishes
Pros
Working with friends
Cons
Nothing bad about it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy during rush hours every day
Hostess/Busser (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 June 2017
Set tables, clean and clear, clear dishes, other cleaning duties and tend to customers waiting to be seated, I learned that I work very well in a very busy environment, workplace culture was good i always loved the people I would work with and never had an issue. Hardest part of the job is accommodating all of the customers when not enough tables were available and most enjoyable was working with the people that were so nice to work with and the regulars were always something i looked forward to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boston Pizza. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 939 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6