Boston Pizza Employee Reviews

Found 717 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS31 January 2017
I enjoyed being a hostess, the employee's were nice and fun. The customers were nice and I got trained really well, I always had an answer for everything every customer asked me.

However, sometimes management isn't the best and understanding...
Pros
Nice Customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB26 January 2017
the typical day at work is making pizza. everyday i am learning different things thru my co-workers and the management is great. the work place is a safety first policy. the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with co-workers.
Pros
50% discount during work
Cons
8 hour shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning experience
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC15 October 2016
I personally enjoy the cooking and cleaning that goes on daily at this workplace
Coworkers make it a lot more fun to be at work
The management makes us hard at work
The hardest part about working in the kitchen is keeping it clean but the whole kitchen staff works as a team to get it all done so at the end of the day everyone goes home happy
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Fun
Pizza Maker (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB10 March 2017
Fast and Fun,
We do have team work when it coms to work.
The new management was so strict.
No hassle,all good
When your stuffs are out and you need to prep in the middle of busy hours.
When your done at work and its time to go home.
Pros
50% for food
Cons
No free meal just half the price
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and detail oriented.
PREP COOK SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Drumheller, AB25 November 2016
For the most part Boston Pizza is a good place to work but in many instances there was and is a gross abuse of power by some of the managers. The days were jam packed with ordering product prepping product to be used on the line and cleaning.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Abuse of power by managers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and very busy restaurant
Server (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON13 March 2017
Busiest restaurant in town, very consistent tips with great team members. Hard to know when your shift will end though -always understaffed and hard to get a break.
Pros
Great team members, flexible hours
Cons
Long hours, low wages, infrequent breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job. Anyone can do it as long as they anticipate tasks and be smart.
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON25 January 2017
-learned to work under pressure
-usually work at relaxed speed
-must prepare in advance for a rush
-all employees respect each other
-hardest part of the job is when tasks build up and hit you at the same time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB17 February 2017
I loved working here. The Staff is super friendly, everybody helps out one another and doesn't leave someone hanging, the food is super good, the service is great. A great place if anyone wants to start a career off in Culinary.
Pros
Good Tips
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere
Server (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC5 March 2017
taking orders, cleaning duties done every night, fun atmosphere to work in, friendly staff, hardest part of the job well it can be overwhelming but theirs always help around you to make you comfortable and the most fun is probably working with a great crew
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB8 March 2017
Management are not very good and don't understand that you have a life outside work. May have to work long hours with maybe a 30 minute break. Most of the employee that you work with work well and it makes up for the management.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team, ran by different owners everywhere
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 January 2017
it is a good job that pays well if you stay with it but, benefits are tight, and sometimes management can be rough. they treat everybody well at first but they will get rid of you like nothing.
Pros
different everywhere
Cons
random shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just all around amazing.
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB23 February 2017
my time working with the BP family was amazing. we had time to play but time to work as well. we came together when there was a big rush helped out everywhere never got into eachothers feet all went smooth
Pros
free meals
Cons
energy draining
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat fun place to work lots of good bonds with other workers
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 September 2016
I loved working at Boston Pizza, i love the people I worked with and the environment, I got along well with everyone and i was very good and respectful. I left boston pizza because of the bad pay and because where I was just starting high school I was overwhelmed with all my school work but now that I am use to the heavy loads and I can mange my time better I am ready to start my new experiences in other work fields
Pros
rewarded after a long stressful day
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Detail orientated Environment
Host & Waiter (Former Employee) –  Vermilion, AB18 November 2016
Start the day by going around giving my co-workers a hello. I learnt how to take orders, which improved my ability to retain information longer and in detail. The hardest part of the job is trying to meet everyone's very specific requests in a very timely manor but was doable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON3 March 2017
Was one of my favorite jobs as a kid, the team was great the flow of the establishment was incredible and we were successful as a team, definitely recommend the opportunity to anybody its offered to.
Pros
free food; great people and fair pay
Cons
late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, limited room for advancement
Server (Current Employee) –  Keswick, ON6 February 2017
Fun workplace, limited room for advancement. I've had a chance to fulfill many roles at Boston Pizza, from working in the kitchen, doing food prep, expo, and serving.
Pros
Fun workplace
Cons
Limited room for advancement, limited hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistant
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  North York, ON1 February 2017
While I have been there for many years, it is the regular clientele and the core group of co-workers that make this place enjoyable. The schedule gets posted very last minute and is inconsistent, making it difficult to keep a regular routine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with friendly atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC18 February 2017
It was a great place to work for. Learned alot about the restaurant aspect. Also it was fun to work with others who had many experience. Great place great people
Pros
Great part time employment
Cons
No advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable at first
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  17th Ave SW Calgary AB19 March 2017
You will seem to enjoy the restaurant life at first but it gets harder with a really bad management style imposing by the manager for most times. You are given bad hours and most of the times, almost none at all.
Pros
Food discounts
Cons
Grumpy Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My longest time employed
Waitress / Hostess (Former Employee) –  Lacombe, AB10 March 2017
This was when I was in school and needed to start gaining some experience. This helped me gain customer service skills, and serving skills, for future jobs to come. I have used these experiences today and still am improving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boston Pizza. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 780 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6