Find companies:
Boston Pizza
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
196 reviews

Boston Pizza Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Line Cook (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 27, 2013
Greetings of the Day !
.
I am an experienced cook ,presently working on work permit with BOSTON PIZZA ALBERTA (CANADA) worked with Diana Hotels, Best Western and Costa Cruises (ITALY). With over 9 years of experience working in professional kitchens, able to adept at all aspects of food preparation and cooking. I hold a Food Handlers Certificate and – more... pride myself on maintaining the highest standards of food hygiene.
I have been passionate about food and cooking my whole life. My strengths as a cook are in Indian cooking, Modern Continental cooking and Italian cooking. I strongly believe that I have the abilities, experience and qualifications that you are looking for.
I have attached my CV for your consideration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely enjoyable, wonderful co-workers, easy to get along with everyone
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee), Campbell River, BCNovember 22, 2013
Pros: amazing staff, fun, easy to get along with everyone
Cons: short hours
Work always depends on the amount of customers we get and how busy we are, there are always things to do, apart from cooking.

Co-workers here are extremely easy to get along, despite often being the youngest, and the only female on shift. It's easy to go from work to home life and vise versa. Staff are very friendly and so is management. We are often – more... called, by owners and sometimes management, a family.

It is sometimes difficult to get more than the regular stuff done on a shift due to them being usually only about 3-4 hours, and depending on how busy it is, but the staff definitely make it worth while to be there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could of been better
Dishwasher, Line Cook, Prep cook (Former Employee), Richmond, BCNovember 19, 2013
Cons: different hours, no free food, they played music in the kitchen and it was to loud.
a typical day would be doing prep making food for the guest. I learned that cooking you need to love cooking for being in a restaurant and it does get very busy which sometimes its best for the shift to be busy.. my co-workers were alright most of them were in the same age as me..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, great hours, great management
Front Desk Hostess (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 18, 2013
this overall was a great place to work, i had lost of fun working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced restaurant with menu changes quarterly.
Assistant Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), Fort Frances, ONNovember 17, 2013
Pros: excellent co-workers and the pace made time go by quickly.
Cons: long hours if a lot of prep was needed for the day.
Come in and help set up kitchen by putting in exhaust vents, turning on equipment (deep fryers, grill, oven). Then start to prep the produce for the day while cooking orders as they come in. After produce is complete we would start a batch of dough, mixing water and yeast with a 20 kg mix of dry ingredients. Spending the afternoon cutting, rolling and – more... pressing dough into select sizes for our pizzas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers!!!
Line-cook (Current Employee), Woodstock, ONNovember 12, 2013
Pros: straight days monday -friday
Cons: never given a raise
Great people to work with in the kitchen. We always have a good day together! I learned to do line set-ups and how to make pizza the boston pizza way. For the most part management is friendly and my co-workers are great.I would say the hardest part of my job is emptying the pasta pots (they are heavy). I enjoy everyday at my job with my fellow co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot about food
chef (pizza) (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, ONNovember 9, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: long hours
very hard, very stressful.

people are nice to me.

very busy, no rest.

wash a lot of dishes.

always keep yourself busy.

didn't enjoy this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace to work
kitchen staff (Former Employee), Brockville, OnNovember 8, 2013
Pros: employee discount on the food
A typical day at this job was going in early having something to eat and setting up my station, prepping for lunch and supper. I have learned how to make different kinds of food. The management was good they took care of their staff anytime they needed something whether it be switching a shift or having time off the managers always gave them what they – more... wanted. The co-workers were always happy and fun to be around. Working in a restaurant i didn't really find anything all that hard in the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was cooking up great meals for the costumers and working with the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, energy, enjoyable
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCNovember 5, 2013
coworkers are good, management is good, I learned many things in the past 5 years, management, keeping up with the kitchen, learning front end duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Restaurant Manager FOH (Current Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 3, 2013
Pros: great staff to work with.
Cons: lacking in proper leadership.
Over all a good place to work, however there are alot of inconsistencies when setting policy and procedure. There have been numerous times upper management have changed these in order to suit their needs without informing their team, this is a day to day concurrence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all right place
Kitchen Supervisor (Current Employee), Thunder Bay, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: lots of hours
i cook and clean train deal with management i supervise i keep a clean orgeised kitchen i work hard everday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've ever had
Hostess (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, ONOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free water & soft drinks
Cons: long hours, short breaks, unpleasant co-workers, unsanitary conditions
The owner is unaccommodating and picky. I was not trained, and had to get by on my own. I was laid off without notice, I wasn't informed formally, I had just stopped getting shifts until my general manager called me. The co-workers talk behind your back, and the pay is low. The kitchen staff however, is very friendly. The turnover of staff is EXTREMELY – more... high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston Pizza Review
Waitress (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONOctober 17, 2013
Pros: time fly's by, and 50% off food.
Cons: short hours.
A typical day at work at Boston Pizza. I would arrive, clock in, check my section and say hello to everyone. I would complete any tasks needed or help on expo while waiting for tables. Once I start receiving tables I would serve them to the best of my ability. Once I was cut from my shift, I would complete any side duties that were my responsibility, – more... print out sales of the night and clock out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and new
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABOctober 15, 2013
Pros: learning experience
first time working for a fast food franchise , was a learning experience . had fun and keep working in my field after i left to move furture otr west
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston Pizza
Host, Busser (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONTOctober 10, 2013
Pros: free luches, great people
Cons: long hours
A typical day at Boston Pizza was full with excitement and tasks. Working in a tourist area in Niagara Falls pushes and teaches you how to multitask and communicate with people under pressure. I learned how to deal with high intensity situations under pressure, with respect. I learned how to work extremely well with my co-workers. My co-workers and – more... I all treated each other as family. The most difficult part of the job was working until 2 am. Although I enjoyed working at Boston Pizza working a 12-15 hour shift was difficult. The most enjoyable part of being able to work at Boston Pizza was planning and decorating the restaurant for special events such as: Corona Night, Christmas, Beach Day, and New Year’s. Boston Pizza has definitely helped me grow as a person and has improved my work ethic, and abilities. I started as a busser and worked my way up to hosting which was a nice transition. In the beginning I was the one who was asking all the questions to those who had more experience, until eventually I became the main leader of the restaurant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, friendly enviroment
Line Cook (Former Employee), Penticton, BCOctober 7, 2013
I enjoyed working there for the time that I did. Every day was an adventure at Boston Pizza, some days when I would come to open I would find some very interesting things. The managers and supervisors were extremely nice and I even built good friendships with most of them. the hardest part of my job, however, was when I would have to clean up after – more... someone who decided not to do their job the shift before. Opening was usually the hardest, because if the close wasn't done properly then I would have to finish the close and then start my open, but I was usually pretty quick at getting things organized. The most enjoyable part of my job was the experience though. I love working hard and I don't like being bored. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
night time supervisor
Night time Supervisor (Former Employee), NewfoundlandOctober 4, 2013
Pros: good starting establishment
Cons: hard to move up, and money
In charge of night-time staff, had the oppurtunity to gain knowledge and experience training new colleagues

got a chance to run every station in this franchise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't really recommend working here.
Hostess (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 3, 2013
I learned a lot about customer service here, but that was really all. I would have had a much better time if my managers were more friendly and if the co-workers weren't as rude half of the time. Also, wages were low with no benefits and working here was very stressful. It made my anxiety a lot worse actually. It seemed there was little room to advance – more... and it also seemed as if raise was a word that was un-heard of. Also all breaks were un-paid for even if it was a 15 minute break on a 6 hour+ shift which I thought was quite unfair.
I just don't recommend working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive/ fun work place
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Terrace, BCOctober 2, 2013
everyone in our work crew always got alone, getting all our daily prep done
I learned how to make a large amount of pizza dough and quality of daily foods and proper portions for each items being prep.
favorite part of day was starting a great work shift with great co-workers
and the hardest was rush hour with not all working crew there, which never – more... happened very often – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad
Food Prep/Fryer (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONOctober 1, 2013
Pros: half off on days you work/ 15% off days you dont work
Cons: no set endtime, if its busy you could end up staying twice as long as you were supposed to
Friendly people, with a semi enjoyable environment. Discovered it was not for me to work in a kitchen.