Boston Pizza Employee Reviews

Found 569 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot/cold working environment.
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 29, 2016
Some days were enjoyable.

Some days were miserable.

Some management/employees are wonderful!

Some management/employees can't perform the most basic tasks.

Horrible communication problems between HOH and BOH.
Pros
Free coffee and soft drinks.
Cons
Communication, expectations and lack of personal re-pour with employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Workplace Environment So Far.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 29, 2016
Boston Pizza was a giant family. Everyone got along for the most part and managers were always looking out for us in any way they could. I truly felt supported and accepted into their team, something I had yet experienced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Fun, Enjoyable
HOSTESS (Current Employee) –  Bracebridge, ONSeptember 28, 2016
Working at Boston Pizza keeps you on your toes. It is a great place to work at and the people who work there are great as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONSeptember 27, 2016
was a decent place to work while in school
staff was friendly the work hours were typical for what it is
pay sucked
and work load seemed unbalanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible experience
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Fernie, BCSeptember 23, 2016
Worked at bps in fernie BC, they spent an hour training me and expected me to know the whole menu and all the computer stuff after a couple days. The gm was using drugs at work and every server there got over loaded tables and it was hotinlel. After working here I decided the restraint busines was not for me. Not to mention they still owe me a pay cheque.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2016
Shifts go by fast, I learned to make plenty of dishes from scratch.
Management is great and the co workers make the job much more fun. In my opinion the hardest part of the job is when someone calls off and leaves you with more task then your typical day, and finally the best part of the job was the discounts.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long Distance from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but under paid
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, ABSeptember 21, 2016
Employees were not given good advancement or.livable wages almost every full time employee was not making enough money. Also job was very immature and did not take punishment or complaints seriously
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun environment
server/waitress (Current Employee) –  Okotoks, ABSeptember 21, 2016
I love working here and the hours are very flexible. A typical day at work for me is taking tables and working for about five hours in the evening. I have learned excellent customer service skills and interacting with all different types of people.
Pros
Great friends
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat fun place to work lots of good bonds with other workers
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 20, 2016
I loved working at Boston Pizza, i love the people I worked with and the environment, I got along well with everyone and i was very good and respectful. I left boston pizza because of the bad pay and because where I was just starting high school I was overwhelmed with all my school work but now that I am use to the heavy loads and I can mange my time better I am ready to start my new experiences in other work fields
Pros
rewarded after a long stressful day
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitress at a busy restaurant
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCSeptember 17, 2016
-Waiting tables and very large parties, catering to tables needs(foods/drinks)

- Seating customers that come in

-suggesting food to order
Cons
Long busy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for anyone in the hospitality industry.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONSeptember 15, 2016
I worked as a manager where I oversaw the duties of 20-40 staff per shift. I learned many skills relating to the hospitality industry that can be applied to many business jobs. The job required long hours and extra shifts when needed. The team was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management/supervisor/co-workers fun!
Mobile Server (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ONSeptember 14, 2016
We are a team at Boston Pizza. Everybody wants to know you. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Best place to work at least once in a lifetime, if not for the rest of your life. You meet great customers. Even though you might work part time, they can train you on other positions that makes up for missing hours.
Pros
Tips, training in different positions, discount on meals
Cons
Long hours, meals should be free for every staff members if you show up on time everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and fresh
AKM (Current Employee) –  Beddington, ABSeptember 14, 2016
i would go in and put away the order, start the equipment, check dates on product, start prep, lunch rush, make fresh dough, preshift, dinner rush, clean and close if need be
Pros
shift meal
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 13, 2016
I remember I liked working at Boston Pizza, but the manager expected a lot from her employees. I didn't have any problems meeting her expectations, but I was hired with 4 other cooks and out of 5 of us I was the only one who did not get fired in the end.
Job is very physically demanding at times, but if you like the high energy and fast pace jobs that keeps you occupied it is the job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My extended family
Server and Hostess (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, ABSeptember 12, 2016
My co workers are like my extended family. If I ever leave this location I will remember everyone they helped shape me into who I am. The hosts, the other servers, the supervisors and my general manager are all amazing people who listen to me even if it's not work related.
Pros
Working with friends, staff discount, having fun
Cons
When the kitchen is slow
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Vermilion, ABSeptember 12, 2016
Worst place to work
Management is worthless
Co workers are terrible
They lie to get what they want
I can't believe I ever tried to go back to that awful place.
I advise anyone wanting to work here to not to.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 12, 2016
Boston Pizza was a very hands and on customer oriented workplace. It was a fast paced restaurant and very customer service based.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work environment that will keep you on your toes
Dining Room Manager/ Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 12, 2016
I loved working for this company! One of my favorite jobs by far! I started here with no serving experience and quickly moved my way into management and then into upper management. I loved the crew I worked with, along with the job itself. Management was very easy to get along with as well as eager to teach me new things that I wanted to learn. The hours were long, and sometime took away from family time, but was a great sacrifice to be able to learn the things that I have and further my resume.
Pros
Regular guests, fun atmosphere
Cons
Long hours, mostly evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for.
Front of House Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, ABSeptember 4, 2016
I did not enjoy working for this company. The training they give you minimul training before pushing you on the floor. Boston Pizza has put me off of working for large chain restaurants.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good family to work for.
Waitress server (Former Employee) –  Medicine hatSeptember 2, 2016
I worked at Boston pizza as a waitress and as a cook over the years. The restaurant was very busy and I had to be able to work
In a fast filled environment so organization was key. I did well because I always had made sure I was looking two steps ahead. The family who owned the business were very good to work for.
Pros
Good food, meet lots of people and developed relationships as they were regular customers.
Cons
Nothing negative to say
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 630 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6