Borden Ladner Gervais LLP Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2017
legal environment; lots of computer work; staying late to get the documents done is not uncommon
Maintain and co-ordinate calendars for national securities group; co-ordinate travel arrangement
Pros
good boss
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Senior Help Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 July 2017
Good employer. Taking calls and answering email. Hardware modifications etc. Culture is good. Love working with the people. Tough economy though. Hopefully more job stability moving forward.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Job Stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management of new employees
Parajuriste Droit des Affaires (Former Employee) –  Monyreal17 July 2017
lawyers are kings and staff (anyone else than lawyer) is treated poorly
Pros
not much compared to other Montreal National law firms
Cons
outdated management of business, clients and employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced learning environment
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 April 2017
It is a great place to dive into various areas of law and learn. My days consists of document production and review, drafting pleadings and affidavits, assist lawyers for examinations and trials, prepare comprehensive reports for clients, and correspondence to various parties, clients, and experts. You are constantly learning. The individuals who work at the firm are the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
learning, growth, and the people
Cons
challenging at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement of staff
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 March 2017
Wouldn't recommend- managers get away with anything. No room for growth for staff. The managers are insecure so they will do anything to put people with talent down. The pay is poor and not even close to market value.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Executive Caterer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 December 2016
Monday to Friday work weeks are hard to find in the hospitality industry, working as an in house caterer is rewarding when you are able to see the benefits of your work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is great
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2016
The staff are all good people. The company is going through a tough transition right now and it will take a lot of time to bounce back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but rewarding environment
Articling student, Law student (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 August 2016
Borden Ladner Gervais is a good law firm where people work extremely hard to offer value to clients. At most times, the work environment is stressful, but the firm takes pride in its work product and rewards its people well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ideal workplace for a experienced legal assistant
Legal Assistant (Practicum) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2016
Through my practicum in the resource team of Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, I am familiar with legal assistant’s routines and skilled in using all professional software. The practicum significantly taught me how to communicate professionally, prioritized successfully, work independently and efficiently, adapt to different situations quickly, and also how to be a perfect team member to support others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BLG is a great law firm to work at
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Troronto Ontario22 June 2016
Never a dull moment Great place to worked at . A very friendly environment . Learned few office skills . Coworkers were good and so as lawyers and other departments. Management was great.Salary was good . Used to love being there everyday . Contract expired so we were let go.
Pros
Always lots of activities
Cons
N a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winter and summer hours, regular 9-5 for winter hours, but summer hours you got to leave 2 hours early on a Friday. only if you were able to leave...
Litigation Support Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 January 2015
● Document Preparation & Slip Sheeting
● Scanning Documents in Ipro and eDiscovery
● Quality Control
● Regulatory Library
● Bookmark and Linking
● Unitization & Coding
● Data Entry, Electronic Filing
● Print Jobs
● Closing Books
● Reassembly of Documents received by clients
● Travel
Pros
Staff, and busy
Cons
end of 10 month contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Réceptionniste et commis à la messagerie (Former Employee) –  Montreal20 November 2014
We were like a big family. Everybody would get along well and co-workers were nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work environment
Executive Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa12 November 2014
Manage lawyer's calendar, schedule meetings, general admin duties, correspondence, agendas, liaise with lawyers and executives, any additional tasks related to position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding,high stress
Intellectual Property Patent Law Clerk (Former Employee) –  ottawa,on7 October 2014
Large volume of work under very tight deadlines. liked the nature of the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Borden Ladner Gervais
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2014
I loved working at Borden Ladner Gervais! It was very a very busy position and I loved it. I had to leave my job when my husband got a job overseas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to advance career
LEGAL ASSISTANT (Litigation) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2014
• Transcribe and type legal documents
• Compile affidavit of documents, compendiums and other legal productions
• Organize and expedite flow of work
• Route or answer correspondence
• Initiate follow-up as required
• Organize and maintain client files
• Communicate with clients
• Schedule meetings
• Perform clerical, administrative and general office duties
• Perform administrative duties with respect to accounting, opening and closing files, docketing, billing, etc.
• Assisting other group professionals as required
• Other duties as assigned
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blg
Senior Technical Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2014
Our approach to professional and service excellence is based upon personal standards of absolute integrity, unfailing mutual respect and dedication in all that we do for our clients. Maintaining a diverse team is a core value at BLG and we draw upon the strengths of knowledgeable and skilled individuals who represent a variety of viewpoints, experiences, and backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Firm
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 February 2014
BLG is an integrated national firm that provides a broad range of legal solutions to their clients with over 750 lawyers, intellectual property agents and other professionals in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Waterloo Region, Ottawa and Montreal.

• Created letters, documents, general typing, scanning, billing and processing the mail.
• General office duties while working with a senior paralegal and a partner of the Commercial Conveyance Division.
• Demonstrated strong team work and work ethic while starting in the mandatory rotational Legal Assistant pool and earning a permanent placement with a senior partner in just six months.
• Trained on CMS and DM.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great firm to work for
IP assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 November 2013
It was a great place to work. I had many great experiences at this firm, I learned new computer programs, management was superior, I loved my co-workers, my co-workers
Pros
Pension plan
Cons
None to speak of
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great company to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 November 2013
My job covered patent prosecution work. I learned different computer programs while I was there. Managemnt was good. I enjoyed my co-workers very much. It was the inconsistent flow of work. Learning and keeping on top of new procedures.

I enjoyed my time at BLG very much and was sorry to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP Reviews by Location